We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 20% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #17 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great choice and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Distrikt to celebrate my 40th. The hotel staff could not have been more cheerful or helpful. They really look like they enjoy interracting with their guests. Lovely touches like a birthday dessert, chocolates, weather report for the next day. Our room was on the 24th floor and was south facing giving a view of the Empire State and the Hudson River. Room was VERY comfortable - especially the bed which was extremely comfy. Shower door needed pushing completely closed by my partner to stop leaks and needed wiping before opening. Bit of a design flaw. Location is busy but quite a good spot to be based. Room quiet on the south side and high up. Five Napkin Burger Co on 9th Avenue and about 45th street (not far round the corner) is defintely worth a visit. Westway Diner on 9th Ave was ok for breakfast. Check out wasn't until 12pm on last day and they held our bags safely until we left for the airport. 40th street was fine too and no problems despite the parole office and private shop. Loved the fairy lights lighting up the parole office exterior at night!! There are less hectic and more cool locations but we were very pleased with our stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: South side rooms as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel for your special trip to New York City! We are so glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We do pride ourselves on our very friendly staff, who is truly eager and happy to celebrate such occasions with our guests. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the shower door. We've spoken to our engineering team to take a look at the issue to avoid this in the future. Our very central location allows for an efficient trip to anywhere in the City, with all major subway lines just down the street. We are surrounded by fantastic restaurants and bars, allowing for a great dining experience any time you wish. Our immediate neighborhood has improved and flourished dramatically in the last several years and continues to do. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our very convenient location! Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    753
    119
    16
    5
See reviews for
579
1629
148
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

very good hotel!!! the service is good and the city is fantastic!!!
i love new york!!!! She is the big apple and if you have a possibility came in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to New York City. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Distrikt! Our convenient location provides a very comfortable stay and an easy home base in exploring the Big Apple. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Selected based on TA reviews, which proved accurate. A pleasant room, modern, comfortable, decent size, everything worked. I was on the 16th floor which was quiet. Front desk staff were consistently enthusiastic, helpful and a pleasure to interact with. Printing pages from the modern Macs in the lobby was painless. The restaurant/bar started to grow on me and I was happy with the $10 continental buffet breakfast. I very much appreciated the free passes to the excellent Mid-City Gym, a few minutes walk away. Not a lot of other facilities, but who needs them? Access to the Times Square madness and theaters is easy, but not too close. Many, many food options nearby. Will go back if the prices stay this reasonable (by Manhattan standards).

Room Tip: Go high if you want quiet, the streets are busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We're happy to hear you found us through our Trip Advisor reviews and were able to fully live up to your expectations! Also for our other Trip Advisor guests' benefit, our rooms are designed for both comfort and modernity; our triple-pane window and because there are only five rooms per floor this allows for the utmost privacy and quiet during your stay. Our front desk staff is always eager to assist in making your stay as pleasant as possible. We're happy to see you were able to take advantage of our many amenities such as the Mac computers available in our lobby at all times, and our complimentary pass to Mid City Gym just two blocks away. Our Collage Bar & Bistro is a fantastic option for guests who seek a quick and light bite on their way out to explore the Big Apple. Thank you again, and please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay as enjoyable as possible. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The staff was unbelievably nice and I'm a Southerner so that's saying quite a bit! The rooms were clean and very comfortable. It was a pleasant, short walk to the center of Times Square. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel during your New York City visit! We're so happy to hear that you were able to get to know our very friendly staff and they were able to assist in making your stay an enjoyable one. Our rooms are popular for how comfortable they are, and our unbeatable location is a great element as well. Thank you again and we very much hope to see you again for your next trip to the Big Apple! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I've stayed in dozens and dozens of Manhatten hotels over the years and for the life of me I can't understand how others can rate the Distrikt so highly. I found it hugely disappointing.We reserved and paid extra for a larger room with two beds and a city view on an upper floor.Upon our arrival the room had not been cleaned so we told the front desk person we would return at 4:00pm. When we returned at 4:30 the room still had not been cleaned and there appeared to be much confusion and whispering behind the desk. Ultimately, we were told that the hotel would "try" to find someone to make up the room but they could not be certain when this would occur.Becoming suspicious, I asked the person to confirm the larger, upper room details etc. This only caused more confusion, whispering,and panicked looks. Finally someone whispered to another authorization to change our room. We ended up in a small room on the 19th floor (out of 32) with a view of the parking lot atop the bus terminal.The room had almost no place to hang anything up, two small draws and no shelves or counter space in the tiny bathroom. So, most of our clothing stayed in the suitcase for 3 days and all of the toiletries etc ended up on the desk in the bedroom.No sooner had we arrived in the room but housekeeping was at the door wanting to turn down the bed! This was not unique-the next day we returned to the room at 4:00pm only to find it unmade. After complaining, someone arrived to remedy the situation and less than 15 minutes later a knock on the door announced the bed turndown crew once again.The hotel is not very good at cleaning but they're great at turning down!
On the brighter side, the room was quiet, the beds were good and firm, the air conditioner worked and the staff generally was friendly. However, for the same money you can do much better in nicer neighborhoods and get what you actually pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, and also for bringing our attention to your overall disappointing checkin experience. In discussing with our team, our lack of communication to you at check in caused us to appear unprofessional and unorganized and for you to feel you did not get the room you paid for. When you came to check in at 4:00, the staff received a warning that although the room you had reserved (a Deluxe Double Double located on floors 2 - 18) was clean, the guest prior had not removed their luggage. We do make every effort to not physically remove items from rooms, so the staff - instead of explaining - spoke amongst themselves and checked you into an Accessible Deluxe Double Double on the 19th floor. What is most disappointing to me is that had they explained the situation, you would have been given a choice to be in a lower floor room, vs. the higher floor room without the counterspace due to necessity of wheelchair accessibility. Finally, even though we do continue to clean rooms until 5pm, there is simply no explanation for us attempting to turn down a room that had not been cleaned yet. I can only imagine this mishap solidifying our lack of professionalism in your mind.
Though we understand your reluctance to do so, we would ask that you give us another chance to show why we truly deserve our placement on Trip Advisor and would be most appreciative if you would contact me at jrota@distrikthotel.com so we may attempt to repair our reputation in your eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Based on the reviews of TA, my daughter and I stayed at the Distrikt hotel during a recent college touring visit. We chose the hotel based on the location as well as the ease of access to public transport. We were pleasantly surprised to find it comfortable, clean, well staffed, and pleasant all the way around. My daughter in particular found it much more personable and welcoming than the larger brand name hotels that we've stayed in around Times Sq in the past. Appreciated small details like the morning coffee, afternoon iced tea, access to breakfast or snacks in the hotel bar, and the proximity to the subway and Port Authority. Staff will put you to ease at once, and are helpful in almost every way a traveler can hope for. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt during your New York City visit. We are so happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your stay! Just as you mentioned, we have many major subway lines and transportation options at your fingertips, which hopefully made for a very efficient college touring visit for you and your daughter. We do believe that attention to detail makes a big difference which reflect in our many complimentary amenities, and absolutely love chatting with our guests, so it is fantastic to hear these elements made a positive impact on your stay. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next New York City visit. Please feel free to contact us directly next time so we can make your stay as enjoyable as possible! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We loved the Distrikt - we picked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor and we certainly weren't dissappointed. the staff are really friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable which really was lovely.
We felt the room size was more than adequate especially for NYC.
The hotel is so close to Times Sq, restaurants and the subway so it is perfectly located. A lot of reviewers have commented on the area however we always felt safe and as there are a number of hotels in close proximity there's lots of people walking around.
I understand some of the higher level rooms have spectacular views - we had a lower level room with limited view but really we weren't dissappointed - there is so much to do in NYC it would seem silly to want to spend too much time in your room admiring the view when you can be out there amongst it!! ;o) Yes we did hear the buses in the bus terminal from time to time, but hey it's NYC - there's bound to be a little bit of noise.
Thoroughly recommend the Distrikt - the rooms are clean, modern and well equipped, the staff are awesome and the location is ideal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit. We are so happy to hear you found us based on our Trip Advisor reviews and lived up to your expectations. We are very proud of our friendly and dedicated staff, and are pleased to see they were able to thoroughly assist you throughout your stay. Our central and convenient location offers Times Square just minutes away, all major subway lines also minutes away (and one right around the corner), and you can efficiently experience the Big Apple. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your room and found it a comfortable environment, as the guest rooms are designed for both comfort and modernity. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you during your future trip to New York City. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.