We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great wedding anniversary.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #165 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United States
1 review
“What a great wedding anniversary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful experience. I went to NYC for my one year wedding anniversary and the staff could not have been more helpful with not only all my hotel needs but also with my NYC visit. Every suggestion the concierge made was incredible and the rest of the hotel staff cold not have made our stay any better. I would and have recommended this hotel to many. Thank you Thank you thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review. We always appreciate such kind words. We hope to see you back soon. Until then, we wish you many more lovely years of marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    577
    166
    47
    31
See reviews for
510
352
79
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for seven nights in a standard double room in October.

Location: If you're looking for a central Midtown location that is close to Times Square, then this is it. You are a 5-8 minute walk from Times Square and close to 42nd St Port Authority Bus Terminal subway station and 42nd St Times Square subway station. Between the two, you have good access to most places in Manhattan.

Room: The room was small, but clean. The hotel advertises that they wash and replace the duvet every day, but ours clearly wasn't for multiple days as there was a stain in the same spot every day. This is barely an issue though.

Service: Reception was friendly, informative and greeted you when you came back to the hotel. No complaints. The hotel provides freshly baked cookies between 4-7pm which is a nice little afternoon treat.

Other: The reception area is small and often gets crowded, especially for those waiting for the elevator. Breakfast was included in the price and was adequate, however it can get busy, especially on the weekend. Lastly, the wifi is terrible. Ours only worked if you were standing next to the door. This isn't good enough. Hotels need to understand that wifi is no longer a luxury, it is a necessity. It should be quick and reliable. No excuses, especially for the room price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your honest feedback and thank you for your suggestions. We are actively working on getting stronger signals throughout the hotel so that all of our guests can use the free WiFi comfortably. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future! Thanks again for choosing us during your visit to NYC!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

there were constant tour groups, long waits for elevator, printer to get boarding passes did not work, staff did not advise fix would not occur, could not get into room and had to wait for elevators to get to front desk to fix

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear sanmarinotraveler,

We apologize if our serve was not up to par. We definitely strive to give every guest exceptional service and our lack of service during your stay is not permissible. Within the next few weeks, we will be updating our business center to better serve our guests with their printing and copying needs. We hope these incidents do not deter you from staying with us again. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We (two adults and two kids) arrived in the middle of the night in 'emergency circumstances'. The staff member on duty was brilliant and really went out of her way to make things as easy for us as possible. To me, this means a lot. The room was clean and well appointed this made out previous stressful experience elsewhere fade into a memory. While smallish (but this is usual in NYC) the room was clean and surprisingly luxurious and well appointed. The lobby and common areas were clean and we were warmly greeted by every staff member we met. Really wish we'd known about this hotel sooner and I feel it is a great find and one we'll consider on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! We are glad to see that you had a pleasurable stay with us despite your troubling circumstances. We hope you come back to stay with us on a more positive note. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location, Free Breakfast, Wifi, Hot Drinks AND Cookies included what more could you want.:-):-):-)

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for 4 nights and we were REALLY pleased with this hotel, the staff were lovely,behind the desk, the breakfast staff, the porters, couriers, etc. Anything that you needed help with was no problem. I had read that breakfast time was hectic but to be fair it wasnt too bad, we always found somewhere to sit and there was a good variety of food available like yogurts, cereal, fruit, muffins and hot food and drinks which was more than id expected, i loved it as alot of the hotels id looked into didn't provide breakfast at all let alone the free wifi and cookies, they go down a treat after a good days walking around New York and its just great that you can download all of your days pictures whilst you're there relaxing in your room.
The room size was average but i dont think iv ever had a big spacious room in any hotel anyway unless your willing to pay for it. They were cleaned daily, tidy and had a ironing board, iron, coffee machine, and some complimentary soaps and face cleanser and cream in the bathroom which i also thought was a nice touch.
Location wise it was 5-10 mins walk away from times square (depending on how fast you walk) and theres plenty of bus tours that start near by.
Overall would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Wow! What a wonderful review! We are very grateful that you were pleased with our hotel and are happy to see that you really enjoyed yourself. It seems like you also did your research of the area hotels and picked us either way! We hope to see you soon! Enjoy the rest of your holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a great place to stay. It was inexpensive by New York standards and in an excellent location. Clean rooms and common areas. Complimentary breakfast was definitely a cost saver. Small rooms but that is typical of New York. Great service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We truly appreciate such kind words and were glad to see we were able to fit your budget. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday! Come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A friend and I had never been to New York before and were greeted with smiles and much help in how to get around New York, how to use the subway, where to eat, etc. The room as small but clean and quiet with comfortable beds and pillows. The complimentary breakfast was great. It had a lot of different choices from breakfast cereal to waffles to omelets. We were very impressed and would definitely stay there again. This hotel was within walking distance of the theater district, restaurants, Times Square. We never had to take a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a great review of our hotel! We appreciate such kind words. It's good to see that you enjoyed our on the house breakfast and the plentiful items we serve! We hope to see you back soon. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.