We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable New York city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 449 hotels in New York City
Biddeford, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and affordable New York city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not much to add to the majority of the reviews on this location. Traveled with family of 4, although small rooms as described, our room was adequate for a two night stay. Parking garage located on same street. Utilized the garage vs valet parking. Cost for 3 days avg $27 per day. Garage attendants were very helpful, and I felt my vechicle was very safe in their hands. Allowed us to ride elevator to our vechicle a couple of times to get items. You get the same quality service and breakfast you except from a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Request a low level floor do to the issues of only 2 elevators as described in other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to Hampton Inn and, even more, to our great city to stay with us! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    476
    116
    32
    21
See reviews for
372
266
61
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was so small they could not fit a roll away be. My teenage boys were crowded in the double size bed. the hair dryer was not working and was not repaired/replaced until after we had left for dinner. Too late for me to dry my hair. The room had an odor which we reported. We were told they would send someone up with air freshener. they never came and we just fell asleep. Okay for an over nighter but not worth 60,000 points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to Hampton Inn and, even more, to our great city to stay with us! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only complaint we had was the frustrating wait for the lift. The hotel has two small lifts that were always busy. We waited for it for 15 minutes. However this is a small complaint as the rooms are clean, staff friendly and the complimentary breakfast was very good. For the price, its a an affordable option for a decent hotel in the middle of New York. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to Hampton Inn and, even more, to our great city to stay with us! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel is located so close to Times Square, subway, Broadway shows yet the street is quiet enough. My room was on the 7th floor and street noise was minimal. Hotel staff extremely friendly, attentive to your needs.

Continental breakfast was good, with hot items and waffle maker. Room was small, expected for NYC, modern decor and very clean. Bed a little too springy, but I slept well nonetheless.3 kinds of pillows on the bed, loved that!

Would definitely return and recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to Hampton Inn and, even more, to our great city to stay with us! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wow! What a great hotel. Breakfast free with every room. Unbelievable what is served and a wonderful staff to make certain everything is ready and replenished. Everything I would want for a hot breakfast or the oatmeal/ fresh fruit that I love.
The coverlet and linens are washed everyday. The room is immaculate and tastefully decorated.
I cannot say enough about ow accommodating the staff is to meet every need.
Wow! Can't believe I found this place and at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to Hampton Inn and, even more, to our great city to stay with us! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

clean, convenient to theaters, restaurants, and transportation. The breakfast was fair, the coffee very good. The rooms are extremely small and the bathrooms are tiny. OK for sleeping but not to hang our in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to Hampton Inn and, even more, to our great city to stay with us! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Convenient to Penn Station and Times Square, but on a quiet street along with two other very narrow hotels. I like the iced water in the lobby, the cookie treats, good coffee all day long, the friendly and efficient staff, and the breakfast! The rooms are on the small side, of course, but updated and very clean. Best of all, however, was the bed. Super comfy and clean, crisp sheets and bedding. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate the honesty in your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hampton Inn's are known for having clean sheets and comfortable beds and for offering amenities that go a long way such as 24-hour coffee and free breakfast. That and more is what keeps our guests coming back! We would love to see you back soon but until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.