We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #165 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Rooms are small, but this IS NYC. Location is convenient, ample breakfast (eggs, ham, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, juice, coffee, etc.), cookies in afternoon. Friendly staff. Only downside, 2 elevators for 32 floors. Room was ready sooner than check-in. Very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Front Office Supervisor/Auditor at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
sandyadamscpa ,

Thank you very much for the awesome scores and the great review. We hope that our elevator situation will not keep you from another great stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay despite our lack of elevator service. We hope to see you soon and we'll book a low floor for you next time so there's no need for elevators in hopes of getting a perfect score. Thank you for your time, effort and business as they are all very much appreciated.


Luis. Santiago

Front Office Supervisor/Auditor

Hampton Inn Time Square South

337 W 39 Street

New York l NY l 10018



o. 212.967.2344

Luis.Santiago@Hershahotels.com

hershahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    577
    165
    47
    31
See reviews for
510
351
79
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hampton Inn Times Square south was clean and a relatively easy walk to Times Square, subway station, and Empire State Building. The breakfast was nice with daily eggs, sausage/bacon, waffles, muffins, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juice. As in other reviews, very small elevators and in fact one was out of order so we waited 30 minutes for an elevator., gave up and walked down 18 flights. Very slow check in as rooms were not ready at 3 because cleaning staff were unable to get to all of the rooms with the elevators out of order. We also stood at front desk with our bags for 20 minutes waiting for bellman to put them in storage as our room was not ready. We asked again and found out the desk staff had forgot to call the bellman. We left and came back 4 hours later and our bags were still sitting at the front desk(they never were put in storage) which made us a little nervous about the security of our bags. Once the elevators were up and running, things were better. Not sure if I would stay there again, adequate hotel but enough hassles that it didn't make it "5" stay for us.

Room Tip: Beware that it sounds like the elevators have frequent problems. If you have any type of disability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us at our hotel. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that our location was convenient for your activities in the city. I’ll be sure to share your comments on our front desk service with the team to serve as a reminder of how important a fast friendly check-in is to our guests. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience our technical difficulties surrounding our elevator being out of service during your visit. We informed our maintenance team as soon as it was made apparent and they quickly began working to correct the issue, however we are very sorry for the hassle it caused. Should your travels bring you back to the city we hope you will be our guest again so we can show you the high quality service and staff you expect and deserve from us.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I believe it is very hard for the average person to rate a Hotel when paying over $350.00 a night. I know NYC hotels bring this rate all the time, it's just we do not stay in NYC that often. Let me start by saying we were there this past Wed. Night, and thank goodness we were only on the 3 rd floor, because only one elevator was working, so we walked to our room most of the time. The room was small, but very clean, and had everything we needed. The " best " part of our stay was the staff. From the bell persons, the front desk personnel, to Bob the man at the concierge desk, everyone was very friendly and very helpful. We parked our car with the hotel, checked our baggage in early, and out late the night we left. All were very prompt and courteous every time we asked a question or advice, not something you see to often in NYC. The hotel was centrally located for all f the things we wanted to see, so bottom line, I would return, mainly because of how friendly the staff treated us ! Breakfast was included also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are super happy to hear that under those grim circumstances, you have found our staff and service to be enough to come back and enjoy another stay with us. We will be sure to have the elevators up and running next time.

Thank you for your time, effort and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I m currently staying at the Hampton inn hotel and I can say we are not satisfied. The (only) two elevators that this hotel has are not working. And we are stuck in our room for a long time during the day cause we re staying in a high floor and my wife has mobility issues. The stuff isn't helping either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macda_Cooke, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:


Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I truly hope we were able to catch you while you were still with us! We really tried to mitigate the impact on our guests during the time of the outage by having our management team and engineers running the operable elevator in hopes to increase efficiency and have an opportunity to talk to you- our guests, during this time. Unfortunately, we knew we would not be able to reach everyone and make amends but we are grateful for the opportunity at any point and hope to speak with you shortly, if we haven't already!

Please feel free to contact me directly at your convenience!

Best Wishes,

Macda Cooke
(212) 967-2344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Friendly staff greet you upon arrival. Late in the afternoon, warm cookies are individually wrapped for guests at the Front Desk. House Staff are pleasant and rooms are fresh and clean.
Morning coffee and a light selection are available .... No charge.
There was an elevator issue during my stay, and the staff worked diligently to meet the needs of the guests, including operation of an elevator to move things along so guests were not held up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great score and rating. We are happy to see that you enjoyed all the aspects of our staff and service and can't wait to have you back in hopes of repeating everything minus the elevator outage. Thank you for your time, effort and business and they are all appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiazaDG
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a girls trip to NYC for a 4 night stay. From the moment we checked in to the time we left, we were amazed at the customer service we experienced. Louis? was amazing and coordinated our photo sessions we had every night before we headed out for the night! They were very accommodating from putting a mini fridge in the room to bringing us extra towels to the room. The room had everything you would need and most importantly was clean! Bathroom wasn't the biggest but uses space efficiently. Location was convenient to Times Square. Even serves warm cookies at night to guests! Love that they go the extra mile!! Compared to other hotels in the area, this is a great value! Would definately stay here again next time I'm in town!

Room Tip: If you are a man, would go with a room with a bathroom with a tub with the rod that curves out...not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so very much. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again soon. We will keep the "studio" open for another shoot. Thank you for your kind words, time, effort and business. We will keep the smiles big and the service friendly for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I really enjoy staying at this hotel. It is always clean and the service is excellent. The hot breakfast's are alway delicious too. We used room service and it was on point. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you soooo much for submitting a review of our hotel. Here at the Hampton Inn, we try our best to provide our guests with the best service! We hope to see you stay at our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.