We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful deal in downtown NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #165 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful deal in downtown NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We have nothing but good things to say about our recent experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the hotel is modern and very clean. The stay included breakfast which was wonderful and a bonus of its own. Hot eggs, potatoes, fresh waffles, fruit, oatmeal, baked goods, etc. The topper was also the freshly baked cookies they bring out to the lobby at 4:00 p.m. We were a 5 minute walk from the main part of Times Square and close to our Megabus departure site.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
To Our Wonderful Reviewer:

We are very grateful for the fantastic review! We are happy to see you that you said nothing BUT good things about us! We try our best to make every one of our guests happy while staying at our hotel. We believe that an easy way of making our guests comfortable is through our usual ammenties such as, the comfy beds or the free breakfast, and mainly through our warm baked cookies. We hope your experience during this stay will bring you back to stay with us soon. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    577
    166
    47
    31
See reviews for
510
352
79
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
197 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Since I've stayed here the last two years and based on where my conference is at the Javits Convention Center, this hotel is a prime location.

Located at W 39th St at 8th Avenue, it's a mere 5 minute walk to Times Square, the subway (A,C,E) train station is a mere block up the street...

Rooms are small, however the staff is what made the whole experience that much better..

They were very good at helping with recommendations, numbers and with getting our 3 rooms on the same floor..

Granted there are 6 rooms to a floor and we had half of them on the 23rd floor...

My view from my room 2306 was nice and rarely did we hear any noise in the hallway, the cleaning staff were very friendly and the bed always comfortable..

Next time in New York we will stay here again...

Thanks again...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Return Guest:

We have to thank you for first, staying loyal to our brand and returning to our hotel, and second for this GREAT review! After two years of staying at our hotel and going to the Javits Center for conventions, you have our area down packed! It apparent, we definitely try to make every guest feel welcome and if your a return guest, your practically family! We also try to accomodate our guests as much as possible and if any requests, such as multiple reservations asking to be placed on the same floor are made, we will fulfill them! It's only fair, if your a return guest, and we have the accomodations available, there is no reason for us not to fulfill your request! Thank you again for the review, and we will see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Fabulous hotel! The staff were so pleasant, we were always greeted with a smile not just from desk staff but maintenance and breakfast staff as well. The rooms are small as others have posted but that is NYC. They were clean and the beds were very comfortable. It was so quiet too, we never heard anyone in the halls and no traffic outside. Elevators do take a while during peak times - we found the weekday mornings a little less crowded than weekends. The breakfast had an excellent variety and the warm cookies at night and coffee, hot chocolate, and fruit available all day was wonderful. Young woman at concierge was very helpful. A couple minor issues in the room and maintenance was there immediately. Free wi-fi and business center. Only a few blocks from times square and one block to nearest subway station. Overall, we could not believe the courteous staff, quietness, and little extras this hotel offerred! Without a doubt, we would stay again! A huge thanks to the staff at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
To Our Fabulous Reviewer:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We here at the Hampton Inn, try our best to greet every guest with a smile and I'm sure you knew that before you even arrived to the hotel (stated in previous reviewers as well). I'm sure you did find it strange that there would exist a quiet hotel in New York City with all the hustle and bustle going on, but we do try to maintain some peace in quiet so that our guests can rest while inside the hotel. We are very happy to see, our staff was able to fix the minor maintenance issues that occurred in you room and that it did not ruin your stay with us. But if your even in New York City again, we would love to have you back with us again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We loved our stay here. The staff is top notch--very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to store our bags before check in and after check out and to get us a cab back to the airport, always with a smile. Our room was the perfect size for two people with plenty of storage space, and was very comfortable and immaculately clean. The showers are great-LOTS of water pressure. The elevators were busy on Sunday morning, but the front desk staff warned us of this, and it was never a really long wait. The hotel is also conveniently located close to Times Square and the subway. This is now our first choice for an NYC stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
To our "First Choice" Guest:

We are happy to see that we are your first choice out of all the hotels in NYC! It's great to see that everyone you encountered while staying with us, greeted you with a smile. Our staff are experts in customer service and figuring out how to either make you smile or laugh! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the size of our rooms and the great showers! I agree, our showers have some power to them! Well, if your ever in New York again, we would love to have you back again! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this property and were very pleased. This was our first time to NYC so we really didn't know what to expect. We were able to check in early in a matter of minutes and our room was just as I asked for. We had a nice view from the 25th floor, very clean and the staff was VERY nice. The hotel is in a great location to many of the shows and Times Square. We were able to walk to most everything we did while we were there. Also, the breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. I also wanted to comment about the elevators. WE DID NOT HAVE TO WAIT ON AN ELEVATOR OUR ENTIRE STAY!!! I was so impressed and relieved. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear First Time Visitor's,

We hope your trip to NYC was an enjoyable one with all the hustle and bustle of the city. We are happy to see that we were able to accomodate you with a clean & comfortable room and even an early check-in! It's great to see you were also able to enjoy our free breakfast and ECSTATIC that you didn't have to wait for an elevator!! That's a big milestone here at the Hampton Inn :) Either way, thank you for the wonderful review and if we didn't tell you at check-in, I'll say it now, WELCOME TO NEW YORK! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Free breakfast buffet was hearty and delicious. Perfect location for walking to theaters and Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
To Our Fashion Saavy Guest:

Thank you for the great review! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and all of what NYC has to offer! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

They have a top level staff, friendly, helpful and professional. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The place is located in a very convenient place. You can walk to several famous destinations in the city, it is close to the Port Authority terminal, the Penn Station and several subway lines. Grand central is just a few more steps away, and to catch a cab you just have to turn the corner on the 8th ave. Ther are also good restaurants nearby, if you do not fell like going far for dinner or lunch.
The business center is small, just a little room, but well equipped. And you can use their excellent free WiFi service everywere in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Wow! On behalf of our entire team: THANK YOU for the wonderful review! We are very appreciative of your comments and of our staff here at the Hampton Inn. We really do try our best to attend to every guest's needs while staying with us. Your review is spot on as far as the description of our area and all of the "famous destinations" nearby. A hotel that is in a prime location, can be a hot commodity! Again, thank you for the positive review. Buon viaggio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.