We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and spotless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Village Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Village Apartments to your Saves list
East Village Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spacious and spotless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

A great location! Well-appointed apartment with lots of space (by NY standards!).
Walking distance to subway, Wholefoods, Russ and Daughters and other LES attractions.
We used the taxi driver suggested by EVA management and she was excellent. Reliable and super-helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    33
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
103
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Too bad it's beside a homeless shelter, a little scared walking alone at night. Doorbell didn't work so I was outside for half an hour without a phone when I first arrived. No one came to clean up mid week as stated. But overall, good area to walk around for food, shopping and bars. Comfy beds. Stocked kitchen supplies and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East_Village_Apts, Manager at East Village Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry your experience was not up to your expectations and you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at East Village Apartments. When we met your group several times and upon check out, we were told that everyone had enjoyed their stay and were very pleased with the apartment and its location.

Since this is an apartment rental and not a hotel, once the first guests have checked into the apartment, they are responsible for the rest of the groups entry into the apartment, and it was reconfirmed by the manager with the first guest who checked in and who was expecting your arrival.
Our entry system is a state of the art video and audio buzzer, which is functioning perfectly as evidenced by other guests use. We apologize if it was unheard by the occupant for a reason beyond our control and for the wait you experienced. Thank you for bringing it to our attention we will look into it and see if the settings can be changed to insure the volume is loud enough to be heard by everyone in any situation ( TV on, outside in the garden, ...).

We provide a midstay cleaning service (at an extra charge) for stays more than a week, unless specifically requested by the guests. As the person who arranged and booked the stay for your group did not request this, there was no cleaning scheduled on the third day. If you personally had felt the need for a cleaning, we would gladly have arranged it for an extra charge, had you asked us.

You have rated us for our service, but this is an apartment rental with no housekeeping or concierge service. Our guests complement us on our outstanding service in the booking, handling, check in, and check out process, all of which were handled by another guest and you were not involved in any of these procedures.
I sincerely hope this answers your concerns and we look forward to welcoming you all in the near future.

Kind Regards,
East Village Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We rented the garden level apartment for about a week for our group of 6 who were in town for a graduation. What a great decision! Flights and baggage were a headache but since we arranged with Mali's taxi service for pick up, the driver patiently waited until all was sorted out. The minute we stepped out of the car on 3rd Street, our bags were whisked away to the apartment by a couple of the local guys who provide services for East Village Apartments. They are very colorful fellows and always around (along with numerous regulars from the shelter next door). Sarah met us and gave us all the details on the place. With the exception of one clearly lost (and rather large) cockroach, the place was clean and otherwise bug free, which is pretty good considering there is access to the garden area and this is New York. There was plenty of spread out space, and since we had the AC on creating white noise it was very quiet at night. We didn't do any cooking but did use the coffee maker, dishwasher, microwave and washer/dryer all of which worked perfectly. The apartments are very close to groceries (Whole Foods and mini-marts), several subways and fabulous restaurants. The wifi in the apartment deserves mention as it was awesome. I get so tired of the spotty reception in hotel rooms (and having to pay extra for it often!) so I really appreciated the speed and consistency of service.

I've stayed in a variety of neighborhoods in NYC and always in hotels and after this I will look for availability at EVA first for future trips. We felt completely safe in the neighborhood at all times; the guys outside the shelter were unfailingly polite and the apartment itself backs onto the New York Marble Cemetery which is a locked little treasure which is only open to the public on occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I rented the penthouse in order to take three of my best friends to NYC to celebrate my 40th birthday SATC style!
It was the perfect choice! So nice to be in an apartment rather than two hotel rooms! I visit NYC often & was determined to rent an apartment so we could experience the "New York City girl" lifestyle! The penthouse was spot on! Plenty of space, two bathrooms & three bedrooms between four of us & a great living/dining area upstairs, not to mention the amazing roof terrace where we spent many an hour quaffing fizz!
The decor is beautiful with lots of attention to detail. Very comfy beds & every amenity you could ask for. We loved the fact that we could pop to whole foods just a couple of blocks away to stock up for breakfast & thus really feel like a manhattanite!
The area is great. Perfect location for Soho where we spent lots of our time & easy enough to get anywhere in manhattan by subway though we tended to hail a cab at night due to ludicrously high heels! Nowhere was more than $15 including tip! As for the homeless people that past reviewers have mentioned, well we had no problem with them despite being four girls! Each morning we were greeted with a "hello, enjoy your day in the city" & when we went out at night we received many compliments & never once felt threatened. Truly some of the most charming men four dollies have encountered, & they just added to our experience of the big apple! It is a city after all, not the Home Counties of England!
The area is not quite as nice as Soho but it is up & coming with plenty of lovely little bars & restaurants/cafes. It certainly has more character than mid town Manhattan & the street where the apartments are based was classic NYC. We also didn't experience any noise.
We used Mali for transport which was great as she checked on our flights (which were late due to a fuel leak!) & knew where she was going! That meant that she was in touch with Sarah the manager who was there to meet us on arrival. As was a lovely man who helped take our considerable baggage up the stairs. He even made sure that the case of champagne went up first so that it could go straight in the fridge! Sarah was lovely, very helpful pre & during our stay & even left a bottle of wine in the fridge for my birthday!
Whilst the minimum stay was five nights & we could only stay for three this actually worked in our favour as it meant that the last day we could mooch around Soho & enjoy a last glass of fizz on the roof terrace before leaving for our flight back to London at 2100. Even paying for the five nights made it a more economical choice than a hotel due to the amount of space we got, not to mention the roof terrace! It meant that nobody got on top of each other & could get up & make a coffee without disturbing the others. We made quite a lot of use of the apartment as we weren't out all day sightseeing, rather mooching about & enjoying a girly weekend a la Carrie Bradshaw!
We all loved it! It was the perfect choice for the ultimate girl's weekend & we'd most definitely return! One request from future visitors.....please treat it with the respect that such a fabulous place deserves! It would be tragic if batchorlarette/ hen parties ruined it for other groups of girls wishing to rent it for an SATC weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Six of us stayed in the garden apartment and had a great stay. The apartment comfortably accommodated all of us and had all of the amenities one could possibly need. We loved exploring the East Village and sampling the outrageous number of great restaurants nearby. Good access to subways and within walking distance of many of NYC's other great neighborhoods. Apartment management was extremely gracious and accommodating. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboure
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had 4 people staying in the “Sol” at The East Village apartments. Overall we had a fantastic time in NYC, loved the East Village area and surrounds, and would recommend others to stay here while in town… but… there is one large omission from the website which some people may have an issue with. It should be known that there is a YMCA type homeless shelter two doors down, so throughout the day there is often many drunk/drugged out vagrants wandering one end of the street. They tend to clear out by nightfall, and we didn't have any issues per say.. but still worth noting.

The apartment itself is well equipped and comfortable for 4 people, although we were really only there to sleep at night. One of the bedrooms is of adequate size while the other is very small. so many places to eat drink nearby, and subway is very close too.. All in all 4.5/5.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Excellent location and fab apartment. Close to subway and whole foods plus excellent local restaurants. Highly recommended xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Apartments

Address: East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Village Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Village Apartments are in a historic 1830's New York brownstone, in the hip East Village, a charming neighborhood in downtown Manhattan. Situated in the center of New York's artistic and intellectual life, it is within walking distance to bustling downtown with its myriad of restaurants, lively bars and great shopping. The four apartments have been exquisitely renovated to blend the comforts of a modern home in a historic atmosphere. The Penthouse sleeps 6-7, the Garden Duplex sleeps 8-9, Apartment Sol sleeps 5-6 and the Terrace Apartment sleeps 4. Together, they can accommodate up to 26 people in the same beautiful apartment house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your East Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.