We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment rental superior to hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Village Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Village Apartments to your Saves list
East Village Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Apartment rental superior to hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Duplex last week with our two older children (15 and 22). The apartment was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable, with all the amenities you could need for a week's stay. Most appreciated of which were: seriously comfortable beds (our youngest tried them all!), air- conditioning, Wi-Fi, two Tvs, I-pod docking station, laptop, coffee-maker, washer, dryer, two hairdryers, plentiful towels. There really isn't anything that the owners haven't thought of and supplied. This is a far superior and cheaper option than staying in a mid-range hotel. For us it was a real 'home away from home' and I would highly recommend it. Laura was especially friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We felt thoroughly supported during our stay, especially on arrival and departure. The recommended taxi service offered through Mali is exceptional.
The location of the apartment in East Village is ideal. We had easy access to all the main up town and downtown attractions via subway or walking during the day, but then had the East Village and surrounding areas to explore in the evening. Greenwich village/SoHo/Little Italy/ Chinatown are all within easy walking distance. There is a very handy convenience store opposite the apartment and the impressive Whole Foods a 5 minute walk away. If you prefer to eat in, this place offers a great alternative in tasty eats and pre-cooked dinners.
I really can't say anything but a massive thumbs up about EVA. But like anyone else, before we went I read a few of the negative reviews from other contributors. Without disrespect to their comments, I'd like to offer my opinion based on our experience:
1) 'Rehab facility next door'. The blokes that are moving from the centre to the outside space next door probably do look a bit intimidating. If you walk a few more blocks you'll find homeless people begging on the streets, old ladies might ask you for your leftovers, heaven forbid you might even see a fight. But you have to take it all in with the NY experience. This is a major city! If you can't handle this, take your kids to Disneyland. These guys were never threatening or anything but courteous towards us during our stay. I would suggest that they are probably too busy re-building their lives to be bothered hassling tourists.
2) 'Toilet paper'. There is a huge amount supplied by owners on arrival. We didn't exhaust our supply during our week's stay. If we had, I would have thought it perfectly reasonable to just go and buy some ourselves (and not phone the owners to go and buy it for us). At no point were we expected by the owners to replenish what we had used
3) 'Check-out time'. Is at 10 a.m. Seems a bit early. But given it's not a hotel room, but basically a house that has to be got ready for next occupants, it seems fair. Of course luggage storage in meantime to flight is then a bit of a problem. We used Mali (Eva's recommended taxi service to airport) who came and picked up our luggage from the apartment at 10 a.m. She then came and picked us up from the restaurant we had wandered to at 4pm and delivered us to the airport ($10 a bag and $50 dollars for airport fare)
In summary, we had the best family holiday ever in New York! A large part of it due to EVA apartments. Me and my husband have visited previously, independently and together but we both think this is by far the best visit we've had. It was also perfect for our kids first time visit. We will never go to a hotel in NYC again. Thanks EVA xxx

Room Tip: Duplex apartment ideal for 4+
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    33
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
103
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday in fabulous New York! 5 girl friends all celebrating a very special birthday - the garden duplex apartment was perfect for us! Would definitely recommend! Spacious, tastefully furnished, much needed air con and such a sociable feeling to the whole apartment - just what we wanted

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great family experience, spending a week at East Village Appartment (Garden Duplex) roomy and comfortable duplex, fully equiped with a very nice taste, making you to feel at home. At the same time you are in the very heart of the city and you feel like being a true new-yorker: We could find a grocery across the street, a convenience store at 2 mn walking distance and a Whole Food Market 2 blocks away. Very easy to fill the huge fridge!
From there we could easily enjoy Soho by foot or the whole city with 2 convenient subway stations: 2nd Av (F Line) direct to Midtown, Central Park or Coney Island for the beach, Bleeker st. (6th Line) for Grand Central, the Museum Mile or the Financial District and Brooklyn Bridge.
Very helpful team too at check-in and check-out.
We'll definetely come back, perhaps without the children next time!

Room Tip: Garden Duplex appartment allows kids to be "independant" in the lower level, underground a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Firstly, I would like to thank Sudah for allowing us to stay in her beautiful apartments. We stayed for six nights in the Terrace apartment which comfortably slept four including our two boys aged 8 and 10. All the furnishings and fittings were of high quality and the apartment had a wonderful "New York" feeling to it. We have stayed in hotels in New York prior to this trip and realise the value in these apartments especially having the services of washing machine/dryer/ kitchen even a computer for guests to use. Although compact, the bathroom was more than sufficient for our needs.
The other family we travelled with stayed in the Sol Apartment which was just as tastefully decorated. When entering this apartment, the feeling of light and modern comes to mind. This family consisted of five which included three adult children. They accommodated easily as the fold out sofa in this apartment was a king size. I would also like to say that at no time did we feel frightened by the inhabitants of the soup kitchen, which is several houses down the street. In fact, we found them very friendly and helpful with directions. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at these apartments again as we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hopefully we will again soon.
Lastly, a big thank you to Laura (manager) who was so friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A tastefully furnished apartment in an amazing location. Where else in Manhattan can you sit outside, not facing the street, and actually look onto trees in a garden? (We stayed in the Terrace apartment, not sure if the others have this too). The management is very professional and extremely helpful - the owner was able to provide us her own long-serving trusted nanny to babysit for us. The conditions might appear a bit restrictive at first, especially if one has stayed in similiar accomodations across the world, particularly in Asia, but then one must realize that the market for this type of accomodation is still evolving in the US - and besides there is really nothing in the conditions that is unreasonable.
We were not bothered at all by the rehab center next door - in fact if not for having read other reviews we would not even have noticed it! There was no street noise whatsoever once inside the apartment - you can hear people moving up upstairs but it is quit muffled.
We look forward to another stay very soon!

Room Tip: The Terrace apartment is beautiful and ideal for a couple or a couple with upto 2 older kids. Note t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from staying in the Penthouse for 8 nights (June 2013).

The apartment itself was great, and had everything we needed. It was a very comfortable size for our group of 6. The outdoor terrace was lovely. My husband and I had bedroom on street side and being a very light sleeper I was worried about noise. Wearing earplugs (which I often do anyway) I had no problem sleeping. My husband was fine with ear plugs in - but did notice sirens etc. without. Being so exhausted from sightseeing & shopping we generally slept very well. We were on the top floor - but did not notice any noise between the apartments.

Our friends stayed in the Terrace Apartment and it looked great too. If I was travelling as a couple, or a small family I would stay here. If you want to avoid stairs - this is probably the best apartment also.

The apartment location is excellent. Just a short walk to plenty of great restaurants and bars, the metro and Whole Foods for groceries. Soho is walking distance.

I think WorldTraveller's review is slightly misleading. East Village Apartments are in East Village (not Greenwich Village). The Men's Shelter is not immediately next door to the apartment - there is one building in between - but I agree it is close and not as depicted in the artist impression. There were a lot of men in the street but at no time, day or night did any of our group get harassed or even looked at sideways. We walked past them alone, a group of girls and with husbands and they were always very respectful. We would have attracted more attention from a group of men in the average suburban street at home. And toilet paper was in plentiful supply during our stay - it was restocked during the midweek clean.

All the staff we dealt with were professional and pleasant to deal with.

I have stayed in a very small NYC hotel room which cost much the same price as sharing this apartment. These apartments much better value. If visiting New York again, I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room with Twin beds has private ensuite & walk in robe. May be slightly noisier than other two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights very comfortable place and great location. Sudah was so nice and helpful. I would highly recommend the Sol for 4-5 people. Has a washer/dryer which was a nice option to have while traveling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Apartments

Address: East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Village Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Village Apartments are in a historic 1830's New York brownstone, in the hip East Village, a charming neighborhood in downtown Manhattan. Situated in the center of New York's artistic and intellectual life, it is within walking distance to bustling downtown with its myriad of restaurants, lively bars and great shopping. The four apartments have been exquisitely renovated to blend the comforts of a modern home in a historic atmosphere. The Penthouse sleeps 6-7, the Garden Duplex sleeps 8-9, Apartment Sol sleeps 5-6 and the Terrace Apartment sleeps 4. Together, they can accommodate up to 26 people in the same beautiful apartment house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your East Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.