We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming appartment in a key location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Village Apartments

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 3 more sites!
East Village Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
1 review
“Charming appartment in a key location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great family experience, spending a week at East Village Appartment (Garden Duplex) roomy and comfortable duplex, fully equiped with a very nice taste, making you to feel at home. At the same time you are in the very heart of the city and you feel like being a true new-yorker: We could find a grocery across the street, a convenience store at 2 mn walking distance and a Whole Food Market 2 blocks away. Very easy to fill the huge fridge!
From there we could easily enjoy Soho by foot or the whole city with 2 convenient subway stations: 2nd Av (F Line) direct to Midtown, Central Park or Coney Island for the beach, Bleeker st. (6th Line) for Grand Central, the Museum Mile or the Financial District and Brooklyn Bridge.
Very helpful team too at check-in and check-out.
We'll definetely come back, perhaps without the children next time!

Room Tip: Garden Duplex appartment allows kids to be "independant" in the lower level, underground a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    28
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
93
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Firstly, I would like to thank Sudah for allowing us to stay in her beautiful apartments. We stayed for six nights in the Terrace apartment which comfortably slept four including our two boys aged 8 and 10. All the furnishings and fittings were of high quality and the apartment had a wonderful "New York" feeling to it. We have stayed in hotels in New York prior to this trip and realise the value in these apartments especially having the services of washing machine/dryer/ kitchen even a computer for guests to use. Although compact, the bathroom was more than sufficient for our needs.
The other family we travelled with stayed in the Sol Apartment which was just as tastefully decorated. When entering this apartment, the feeling of light and modern comes to mind. This family consisted of five which included three adult children. They accommodated easily as the fold out sofa in this apartment was a king size. I would also like to say that at no time did we feel frightened by the inhabitants of the soup kitchen, which is several houses down the street. In fact, we found them very friendly and helpful with directions. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at these apartments again as we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hopefully we will again soon.
Lastly, a big thank you to Laura (manager) who was so friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A tastefully furnished apartment in an amazing location. Where else in Manhattan can you sit outside, not facing the street, and actually look onto trees in a garden? (We stayed in the Terrace apartment, not sure if the others have this too). The management is very professional and extremely helpful - the owner was able to provide us her own long-serving trusted nanny to babysit for us. The conditions might appear a bit restrictive at first, especially if one has stayed in similiar accomodations across the world, particularly in Asia, but then one must realize that the market for this type of accomodation is still evolving in the US - and besides there is really nothing in the conditions that is unreasonable.
We were not bothered at all by the rehab center next door - in fact if not for having read other reviews we would not even have noticed it! There was no street noise whatsoever once inside the apartment - you can hear people moving up upstairs but it is quit muffled.
We look forward to another stay very soon!

Room Tip: The Terrace apartment is beautiful and ideal for a couple or a couple with upto 2 older kids. Note t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from staying in the Penthouse for 8 nights (June 2013).

The apartment itself was great, and had everything we needed. It was a very comfortable size for our group of 6. The outdoor terrace was lovely. My husband and I had bedroom on street side and being a very light sleeper I was worried about noise. Wearing earplugs (which I often do anyway) I had no problem sleeping. My husband was fine with ear plugs in - but did notice sirens etc. without. Being so exhausted from sightseeing & shopping we generally slept very well. We were on the top floor - but did not notice any noise between the apartments.

Our friends stayed in the Terrace Apartment and it looked great too. If I was travelling as a couple, or a small family I would stay here. If you want to avoid stairs - this is probably the best apartment also.

The apartment location is excellent. Just a short walk to plenty of great restaurants and bars, the metro and Whole Foods for groceries. Soho is walking distance.

I think WorldTraveller's review is slightly misleading. East Village Apartments are in East Village (not Greenwich Village). The Men's Shelter is not immediately next door to the apartment - there is one building in between - but I agree it is close and not as depicted in the artist impression. There were a lot of men in the street but at no time, day or night did any of our group get harassed or even looked at sideways. We walked past them alone, a group of girls and with husbands and they were always very respectful. We would have attracted more attention from a group of men in the average suburban street at home. And toilet paper was in plentiful supply during our stay - it was restocked during the midweek clean.

All the staff we dealt with were professional and pleasant to deal with.

I have stayed in a very small NYC hotel room which cost much the same price as sharing this apartment. These apartments much better value. If visiting New York again, I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room with Twin beds has private ensuite & walk in robe. May be slightly noisier than other two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights very comfortable place and great location. Sudah was so nice and helpful. I would highly recommend the Sol for 4-5 people. Has a washer/dryer which was a nice option to have while traveling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friends and I (a group of 5) stayed for 2 weeks in the Penthouse Apartment and had a fabulous time. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Felt just like home. The location was perfect for us and close to the Metro and some amazing restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Wholefoods supermarket was also 5 minutes away which was very handy. The whole experience of the neighbourhood and the apartment meant we felt like locals. An added bonus for an unbelievable time in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The East Village Apartments at 32 East 3rd Street in Greenwich Village, NYC, are nicely furnished apartments with character in an interesting neighborhood. But I have a few significant problems with them.

First and foremost, they are right next door to a rehab center called Project Renewal which serves mainly addicts and former addicts.

I think many individuals, and especially families with children, would be uncomfortable walking past the tough and wasted-looking guys who are usually standing around outside the rehab center, literally next door to the East Village Apartments. Not only do the owners of East Village Apartments not mention the rehab center in any of their literature, they visually misrepresent it on their website. The colorful and appealing image on their website, showing what looks like the EVA building and neighboring buildings, is very misleading. In reality, to the immediate right of the building is the rehab center's outdoor lounge/exercise area. The pleasant looking buildings pictured to the right of the EVA on the website do not exist in that location. But when you look at the image on the home page of the website you imagine that is what it looks like. I think this is extremely deceptive advertising.

In addition, the East Village Apartments has some very odd rules. Guests are asked to replace any toilet paper they use. Surely not, you say? Yes, that is what they ask, for an apartment that costs four to eight hundred dollars a night. Check-out time is 10AM. I've never stayed anywhere else with a 10AM checkout time. Speaking of checking out, an employee is assigned to be present in the apartment during check-out, presumably to make sure nothing has been stolen or damaged. I think it's disrespectful to the guests. The EVA rules say that there will be a $150.00 charge for each thirty minutes you are late at checkout. A pretty hefty charge in my opinion. By the way, I checked out on time.

These are the reasons I'm giving the East Village Apartments a low rating, and wouldn't consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East_Village_Apts, Owner at East Village Apartments, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
May 29, 2013
I am disappointed to hear that you feel you had a bad experience at our apartments. I would have been happy to address your concerns in person, as our policy of meeting with all departing guests is to ensure we provided the best experience possible. We are also accessible by phone and email throughout our guests' stay, and had I been informed of any problems, I would have resolved them immediately.

Most guests appreciate the great value that our apartments offer, because we charge the same for a 800-1400 sq ft luxury apartment as one would pay for a small hotel room of 300-400 sq ft.

Yes, there is a shelter on our street and while our guests have, on occasion, been visually offended, there has never been any physical altercations with our guests. The location of this facility has never been an issue, but more recently, the yard at the facility had been closed temporarily and therefore, there was a greater street presence by some of the shelter's residents. However, we are in constant contact with the management at the facility and this issue has now been resolved.

In reference to the check out time, guests are informed of the departure time from the first correspondence and repeated several times in various emails prior to arrival. Because we are cleaning an entire apartment and not just one room, we require six hours to prepare the room for our next guests. East Village Apartments take great pride in the cleanliness of the apartments and in order to keep the exceptionally high standard, we try to adhere to these times. We have never charged a guest for a late check out but our policy is in place and, for the most part, has been adhered to by our guests. Of course, if our guests need additional time and we can accomodate special requests, we always do so.

In relation to paper goods, we provide an ample supply of toilet paper, etc., and only ask that in the event that the supplies run out during their stay, that guests replace enough for their own use.

Again, I'm sorry to hear our apartments didn't meet your expectation but we always strive to give the best service possible and are receptive to any suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Apartments

Also Known As:
East Village Apartments Hotel
East Village Apartments Hotel New York City
Address: East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 171 Specialty lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — East Village Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Village Apartments are in a historic 1830's New York brownstone, in the hip East Village, a charming neighborhood in downtown Manhattan. Situated in the center of New York's artistic and intellectual life, it is within walking distance to bustling downtown with its myriad of restaurants, lively bars and great shopping. The four apartments have been exquisitely renovated to blend the comforts of a modern home in a historic atmosphere. The Penthouse sleeps 6-7, the Garden Duplex sleeps 8-9, Apartment Sol sleeps 5-6 and the Terrace Apartment sleeps 4. Together, they can accommodate up to 26 people in the same beautiful apartment house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your East Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added East Village Apartments to your Saves list