We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a real New Yorker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Village Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Village Apartments to your Saves list
East Village Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Feel like a real New Yorker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friends and I (a group of 5) stayed for 2 weeks in the Penthouse Apartment and had a fabulous time. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Felt just like home. The location was perfect for us and close to the Metro and some amazing restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Wholefoods supermarket was also 5 minutes away which was very handy. The whole experience of the neighbourhood and the apartment meant we felt like locals. An added bonus for an unbelievable time in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    33
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
104
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The East Village Apartments at 32 East 3rd Street in Greenwich Village, NYC, are nicely furnished apartments with character in an interesting neighborhood. But I have a few significant problems with them.

First and foremost, they are right next door to a rehab center called Project Renewal which serves mainly addicts and former addicts.

I think many individuals, and especially families with children, would be uncomfortable walking past the tough and wasted-looking guys who are usually standing around outside the rehab center, literally next door to the East Village Apartments. Not only do the owners of East Village Apartments not mention the rehab center in any of their literature, they visually misrepresent it on their website. The colorful and appealing image on their website, showing what looks like the EVA building and neighboring buildings, is very misleading. In reality, to the immediate right of the building is the rehab center's outdoor lounge/exercise area. The pleasant looking buildings pictured to the right of the EVA on the website do not exist in that location. But when you look at the image on the home page of the website you imagine that is what it looks like. I think this is extremely deceptive advertising.

In addition, the East Village Apartments has some very odd rules. Guests are asked to replace any toilet paper they use. Surely not, you say? Yes, that is what they ask, for an apartment that costs four to eight hundred dollars a night. Check-out time is 10AM. I've never stayed anywhere else with a 10AM checkout time. Speaking of checking out, an employee is assigned to be present in the apartment during check-out, presumably to make sure nothing has been stolen or damaged. I think it's disrespectful to the guests. The EVA rules say that there will be a $150.00 charge for each thirty minutes you are late at checkout. A pretty hefty charge in my opinion. By the way, I checked out on time.

These are the reasons I'm giving the East Village Apartments a low rating, and wouldn't consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East_Village_Apts, Owner at East Village Apartments, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
May 29, 2013
I am disappointed to hear that you feel you had a bad experience at our apartments. I would have been happy to address your concerns in person, as our policy of meeting with all departing guests is to ensure we provided the best experience possible. We are also accessible by phone and email throughout our guests' stay, and had I been informed of any problems, I would have resolved them immediately.

Most guests appreciate the great value that our apartments offer, because we charge the same for a 800-1400 sq ft luxury apartment as one would pay for a small hotel room of 300-400 sq ft.

Yes, there is a shelter on our street and while our guests have, on occasion, been visually offended, there has never been any physical altercations with our guests. The location of this facility has never been an issue, but more recently, the yard at the facility had been closed temporarily and therefore, there was a greater street presence by some of the shelter's residents. However, we are in constant contact with the management at the facility and this issue has now been resolved.

In reference to the check out time, guests are informed of the departure time from the first correspondence and repeated several times in various emails prior to arrival. Because we are cleaning an entire apartment and not just one room, we require six hours to prepare the room for our next guests. East Village Apartments take great pride in the cleanliness of the apartments and in order to keep the exceptionally high standard, we try to adhere to these times. We have never charged a guest for a late check out but our policy is in place and, for the most part, has been adhered to by our guests. Of course, if our guests need additional time and we can accomodate special requests, we always do so.

In relation to paper goods, we provide an ample supply of toilet paper, etc., and only ask that in the event that the supplies run out during their stay, that guests replace enough for their own use.

Again, I'm sorry to hear our apartments didn't meet your expectation but we always strive to give the best service possible and are receptive to any suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Six of us stayed in the penthouse apaartment...I cant praise it hightly enough! Great decor comfortable and spacious with all the equipment you would need...including laptop and ipod dock. Sudha was really helpful , meeting us when we arrived and avaialable throughout the week if we needed her.
East Village is amazing ..less hectic than midtown and loads to explore ...we walked for miles but it was never a chore.
If you are planning a trip to NY you couldnt choose a better location ...we will definately be going back....very soon!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for five weeks in the Terrace Apartment within this building and could not fault it. Wonderful location, excellent communication/information from host, gorgeous apartment that was spacious and airy and well-equipped but that also felt very safe. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second time in Manhattan and we returned to the Sol apartment which says it all. Apartment itself was perfect for our family of two adults and two teens: bright and roomy with hassle free wifi. East Village is a great area to be based in with everything you need conveniently located and bus stops and subway are within minutes from the front door. If we go back to NY we'll definitely go back to Sol.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at the terrace apartment, the first with girlfriends and the second with husband and 2 kids. Both times were wonderful, even better the second time as I knew my way around. The proximity to REI, Wholefoods, the subway, Russ and Daughters, Washington Square, SOHO etc just adds to the attraction of this place. Even better now that there is good coffee to be had at BEAN just around the corner. The kids loved it and we really felt at home, so much better then an impersonal hotel room. It was wonderful having Mali (the taxi driver known and trusted by the apartment owner) pick us up at 1.00am from the airport at deliver us straight to the apartment with keys in hand for a very reasonable price. We love this place and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Plenty big enought for two kids and two parents. The pull out sofa is so comfortable and there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Apartments are a great base for exploring New York and this is a great apartment.

We stayed as a group of ten people for ten nights, three families (including four kids) spread over two apartments. The apartments were large enough for us to have our own space and for the kids to have their own play area.

The location was great. In the middle of many, many, many dining options and close by to a Whole Foods for groceries. There are a number of subway lines crossing nearby for transport.

Heed the warnings re security, there's a homeless shelter nearby. It's just something to be aware of, we had no problems at all, just be aware of it.

For coffee hit up "Gasoline Alley", "Think Coffee" and "Bean" - all close by.

We'll recommend this as a base for friends visiting New York for the second or third time and looking for a different New York experience than the usual mid-town NY stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Apartments

Address: East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Village Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Village Apartments are in a historic 1830's New York brownstone, in the hip East Village, a charming neighborhood in downtown Manhattan. Situated in the center of New York's artistic and intellectual life, it is within walking distance to bustling downtown with its myriad of restaurants, lively bars and great shopping. The four apartments have been exquisitely renovated to blend the comforts of a modern home in a historic atmosphere. The Penthouse sleeps 6-7, the Garden Duplex sleeps 8-9, Apartment Sol sleeps 5-6 and the Terrace Apartment sleeps 4. Together, they can accommodate up to 26 people in the same beautiful apartment house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your East Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.