We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; room left a bit to be desired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leo House to your Saves list
Leo House
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location; room left a bit to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Leo House based on a recommendation from a friend who said it was reasonable and in a great location. True on both counts. You walk out the door right into the action of lower Manhattan; close to subways and restaurants. Initial reaction was good, with a well-maintained, clean lobby and friendly and accommodating staff. It's an old building, like many in NY, and had its quirks. Our room was small with two twin beds (I had requested a single bed, so our breakfasts were comped for the mistake). However, there was a lot to be desired about the room. The paint and plaster were chipped. In fact, the entire floor (6th) needed a good painting. The grout in the small bathroom needed cleaning, there were the irritating spring-loaded faucets in the sink that don't stay on and, the weirdest part, there was an old radiator heater mounted high in the shower! The shower head was broken making it difficult to take a shower. The only room amenity was an old tube TV. No frig, micro or coffee maker (though the hotel rules state no food in rooms, the staff allowed us to take some up). Despite those issues we enjoyed our stay, primarily due to the great staff and location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    144
    64
    28
    28
See reviews for
73
92
95
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

So I don't know why I am writing this, except they deserve the accolade and everyone should stay! Our room was perfect, small but who needs a big room if you are there to see the city. Super comfy beds with THREE pillows each and excellent quality bed and bath linens. Even though we were street side we slept well. Breakfast, for an extra 9 dollars was money well spent, with a wide range of good food and plenty of great coffee to start the day. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble, and they clearly genuinely care about their guests and the hotel. Add to that the location... Subway just two minutes away, some excellent restaurants on the doorstep and a delightful garden to relax in. We are already booked to return and looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Leo House is a very basic youth hostel-type place. Location is the best: 23rd St in Chelsea, between 8th/9th Aves, close to everything and everywhere, good subway lines nearby. My room had a quiet and powerful air conditioner and bilious pink walls with spackle remnants, a cross on the wall as big as the mirror, a TV smaller than both, no clock or radio. Decent water pressure. No amenities (shampoo) and the nicest staff you'd ever want to greet you. I paid $99 for a single room, private bath. There is a free breakfast that I didn't try.

So, if you can do the YMCA, Leo House won't let you down!

Room Tip: they give you earplugs but I didn't need them - room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If lowest price is a big criteria, The Leo House delivers. Good neighborhood in the heart of Chelsea, small attractive welcoming lobby, friendly helpful staff and very clean, utilitarian rooms. Mine was a single--extremely comfortable twin bed, desk which has a couple of drawers if needed, a small closet and a small but very adequate bathroom. Also two chairs in the room (but no guests are allowed, per the written policy.)
There was a small, wall-mounted TV, but it didn't work, though several maintenance people tried their best. Quite unexpected but welcomed was the free WIFI in the room, thus allowing me to use my IPAD with Netflix in place of the TV.
Book here with confidence, but the bar is low.

Room Tip: Saturday night noisy in room 311...guitar music and singing well into the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Via tripadvisor we have booked Leo House. And it met up our expectation. Great beds and clean but very basic room. The location of the hotel is perfect; walking distance to almost everything. 20 min Times Square and 30 min Wall Street. If you don't want anything but a good bed and a good location, Leo House is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Catholic or not, the Leo House, a boutique hotel in the Chelsea area is an exceptional value! It is going through a complete renovation so it is a little noisy at 8 am but you should be down in the dining room at that time to partake in the wonderful full breakfast which is around 9 dollars. Great staff, laundry, chapel for those interested, and clean rooms. Few have full bath. Very nice patio and lovely living areas to get away from it all and enjoy a cup of coffee or read a book.
Can't wait to see the full renovation. We will be back.

No bar or full restaurant, but all are near by if needed.

Oh, they supply you with ear buds to let you get some sleep during the noisy periods. Be sure to ask for a completely renovated room or else be ready for blue paint tape waiting for paint. LOL. Worth it!

You will love Sister Kathleen!

Room Tip: Ask for the kind of room you really want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I’ve been to NYC so many times and only found out about this place recently. Its undergoing a renovation at present and I was lucky enough to have one of these newly refurbished rooms. They are spotless clean, small but cozy and very basic. No frills, but in all fairness what do you want in NYC apart from a clean comfortable bed as you are out each day.

The Staff are friendly and efficient, helping you where ever they can, I like the idea of the secure entrance/exit.

The chapel is such a joy and complete solace, I didn’t have breakfast, but it looked lovely and also great value for money. The computer room is a real bonus for all guests to use, it’s a shame they don’t actually have a printer available behind reception for guests to print out tickets and travel documents. It would also add to their revenue as nobody would mind at all paying it’s just so convenient to have it all together.
The location is perfect, with many great restaurants and bars around, public transport close by and more or less everything in walking distance.

I’ll stay here again for sure

Room Tip: I recommend a room at the end of a corridor by the fire escape they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Address: 332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.