We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice a little Find in the big big City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Leo House to your Saves list
Leo House
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice a little Find in the big big City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If lowest price is a big criteria, The Leo House delivers. Good neighborhood in the heart of Chelsea, small attractive welcoming lobby, friendly helpful staff and very clean, utilitarian rooms. Mine was a single--extremely comfortable twin bed, desk which has a couple of drawers if needed, a small closet and a small but very adequate bathroom. Also two chairs in the room (but no guests are allowed, per the written policy.)
There was a small, wall-mounted TV, but it didn't work, though several maintenance people tried their best. Quite unexpected but welcomed was the free WIFI in the room, thus allowing me to use my IPAD with Netflix in place of the TV.
Book here with confidence, but the bar is low.

Room Tip: Saturday night noisy in room 311...guitar music and singing well into the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    135
    59
    26
    27
See reviews for
70
88
90
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Via tripadvisor we have booked Leo House. And it met up our expectation. Great beds and clean but very basic room. The location of the hotel is perfect; walking distance to almost everything. 20 min Times Square and 30 min Wall Street. If you don't want anything but a good bed and a good location, Leo House is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Catholic or not, the Leo House, a boutique hotel in the Chelsea area is an exceptional value! It is going through a complete renovation so it is a little noisy at 8 am but you should be down in the dining room at that time to partake in the wonderful full breakfast which is around 9 dollars. Great staff, laundry, chapel for those interested, and clean rooms. Few have full bath. Very nice patio and lovely living areas to get away from it all and enjoy a cup of coffee or read a book.
Can't wait to see the full renovation. We will be back.

No bar or full restaurant, but all are near by if needed.

Oh, they supply you with ear buds to let you get some sleep during the noisy periods. Be sure to ask for a completely renovated room or else be ready for blue paint tape waiting for paint. LOL. Worth it!

You will love Sister Kathleen!

Room Tip: Ask for the kind of room you really want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I’ve been to NYC so many times and only found out about this place recently. Its undergoing a renovation at present and I was lucky enough to have one of these newly refurbished rooms. They are spotless clean, small but cozy and very basic. No frills, but in all fairness what do you want in NYC apart from a clean comfortable bed as you are out each day.

The Staff are friendly and efficient, helping you where ever they can, I like the idea of the secure entrance/exit.

The chapel is such a joy and complete solace, I didn’t have breakfast, but it looked lovely and also great value for money. The computer room is a real bonus for all guests to use, it’s a shame they don’t actually have a printer available behind reception for guests to print out tickets and travel documents. It would also add to their revenue as nobody would mind at all paying it’s just so convenient to have it all together.
The location is perfect, with many great restaurants and bars around, public transport close by and more or less everything in walking distance.

I’ll stay here again for sure

Room Tip: I recommend a room at the end of a corridor by the fire escape they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I say this with qualifications. But, I went online and and looked for a safe hotel for a woman traveling alone and this came out, for myself, to be a good experience. Unfortunately there really was not a lot of information, but, in my own experience a wonderful staff made this a very good stay. I do not travel afraid, only aware. To feel safe is to also better enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Myself and my Dad stayed for a week just back today. Staff all lovely people. From reception to the cleaners really pleasent. Seriously needs a bit of updating (but they getting there). Our room was small bathroom outdated but very very clean and beds so comfortable and that most important thing. Also felt very safe there. No messers didnt hear any drunk or loud people in hotel. Slept at front so obviously get sirens and cars making noise ear plugs sorted that. Breakfast sausages and bacon not like home and maybe ye could get nicer brand. But eggs fruit coffee cereals all lovely. It did set us up for the day,would recommend this hotel to my friends as a great place to stay. Small things count and they did all the small things well. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a new refurbed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Leo House Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The family room consisted of two rooms with a bathroom, dated but spotless and very comfortable beds. A great safe neighbourhood and convenient to everything. We loved it and hope to get back again sometime. It books out very fast so you need to book it as soon as you know you are going.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front and one in the back. The front was a little noisier but this is newyork an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Address: 332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.