We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet clean simplicity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Leo House to your Saves list
Leo House
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet clean simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its run by the catholic sisters and there was even a note apologizing for the un--ironed bedspread that day. Its very simple and basic but the showers are hot and if you dont mind some small religious gestures a real wonderful nice simple well kept secret in Chelsey. Great breakfast, friendly staff, very basic rooms but clean and homely. Sure it could be renovated but it was not my intention to stay in my room in NYC. Great location

Room Tip: be polite. rooms in back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    144
    66
    29
    28
See reviews for
73
94
96
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a family room here for a long wkend in Sept. Friends had advised us to go and had been a few This was my first time in NY. We loved this hotel because we could park in the street outside and only left the car in a carpark along the street for the next day. The staff helped us a lot with local breakfast places,parking where to visit and we could walk everywhere from this area. I would go again. The room was basic being onto the street was noisier than we are used to and we were 5 in it so the bathroom was used and abused! Great little garden area as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

As of this review, the hotel is scheduled for a renovation. I needs it. During our stay we and our friends shared a "suite" and later, seperate rooms. The suite came with 2 bedrooms (one with 2 twin beds and the other a full size) and a shared full bath which was located in the full size bed's room. During the night our friends had to enter into our bedroom to use the bathroom.
The bathroom was very much in need of repairs and updating - as were the bedrooms.
The full size bed moved like a waterbed. Very difficult to sleep in when you fell every movement of your sleeping partner.
The $9 breakfast buffet was nothing special. Very basic and limited food choices, but more convenient then heading out in the morning while waiting for the others to get up and ready for the day.
The staff was friendly but a bit unemotional. It would hurt to give the guests a smile.
The access to the internet via the common area was a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Don't get a streetside room - the sounds are in no way blocked out by the walls and windows. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

the hotel is under works, so I have the doubt if the new, renovated rooms, are at a normal standard, but I was there in August, having a old room and, I have to say it was clean, but that and the location of the hotel are the only positive comments I can make. very uncomfortable rooms, extremely old and not well taken care. "Funny" things like you have to hold the tap with one hand while you wash the other is something you do not expect to find in a hotel room. Not recommendable, unless, price is paramount or you are getting a renovated room and you have word that they are substantially different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Never again!!!! We made our reservartion in advance, asking for a room with shower but on arriving we did not get it. There is no heating in our room, but the rest of the building is warm, when we complained the manager told us that there were extra blankets!!!!! This is our first day here, I do not know if I will endure the next 6 days, we had to pay in advance, so we have to stay. Do not come here, it is horrible the rooms are old and small, never again

Room Tip: it seems that all the rooms are alike, this will be my first night here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Our 2nd stay at Leo house. This time we had an I renovated room, not good. We could hear the room next to us flush, people talking on the hallway. Buffet is outdated, better options near bye. They're currently renovating so limited rooms available. Great place to stay if you get a renovated room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Some of the criticism we read prior to our visit seems really unjustified. We've just spent two nights at The Leo House and have no hesitation in recommending it as a very low cost, clean but basic option in a **great** location. There was a slight misunderstanding on our first night's booking and we didn't get what we'd originally reserved but they did try hard to rectify it. We run a small B&B so understand how, when trying to maximise room allocation and therefore keep rates competitive, it's sometimes necessary to make last minute changes.

Hotel prices in New York are disproportionately higher than those in London and even with local contacts looking out for deals for us it was impossible to find accommodation that didn't feel like it was really overpriced.

The decor is dated, even grotty (they're currently doing lots of improvements), and the bathrooms are anything but luxurious BUT it is clean and quiet and has a nice outside courtyard, common room with free access to computers, and a low cost breakfast buffet.

We found the staff helpful and friendly and there were always people around to assist.

DON'T book The Leo House if you're visiting New York for a special occasion but if you're looking for basic, functional accommodation at 'bargain-basement' prices you won't find better than this.

Room Tip: We had a twin room with en suite bathroom on 7th floor - spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Address: 332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.