We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, friendly staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leo House to your Saves list
Leo House
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, friendly staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

A quirky reservations process - fax or email only, 3 months in advance, on the 15th - but apparently it works, as reservations filled up QUICK!

Stayed here for a week in September 2011: Two twin beds, shared bath. Rooms were basic, dated, but CLEAN! There is a restroom with toilet/sink in each room, and bath towels are provided. "Shared bath" means just that - only the bathtub/shower is shared. Again, these were dated, but clean. Ours were right next door. There were a total of 2 shower-capable bathrooms and 1 bathtub-only bathroom on our floor. Understand that they are trying to do renovations - upgrading so that each room has an ensuite bathroom.

Housekeeping does a good job. Front desk staff were always friendly, courteous, and helpful. There was no curfew that we experienced. The front desk was always manned, even at 2 or later in the morning, and would buzz you in. A security measure. Breakfast (not included) was alright but the bacon was never crispy.

Location was fine for our purposes - Close to the subway, couple of laundromats and Rite-Aid/CVS nearby. Never tried the restaurants in the vicinity but they looked alright. Neighborhood seemed safe.

Clientele seemed to skew toward the middle-age and up crowd.

To note: There's only 1 key per room - an actual key with a tag that you drop off in the drop box at the front desk every time you leave the hotel, and ask for by room number (and name if they don't recognize you) every time you come back. They don't take American Express.

I'm giving them an "Average" rating for now due to the state of the accommodations, but I'm confident it would improve once their renovations are completed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    144
    64
    28
    28
See reviews for
73
92
95
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Leo House isn't the Four Seasons so don't expect luxury or usual size rooms - just the basics of an old hotel and probably not the same bed for you and your lover. But you can expect cleanliness, friendly and efficient service, a convenient mid-town location in the interesting Chelsea district. The price is right for budget conscious travellers. What more can you want for the price of a comfortable bed or two and a location within a brisk walk to many New York attractions and the subway station a block away? My wife and I have no real complaints. We certainly would return to Leo House. By then they will have completed some of their renovations and be into the modern age.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were a family of 5. Unfortunately, we had to stay in 2 rooms (family, accommodating 4 people and a single room). Both rooms had an ensuite. The price was fantastic - cheap for NY. $195.00 & 105.00. Rooms were clean. Staff was friendly. Would definitely stay there again. Great location, near the High Line, Chelsea Markets & Subway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have stayed at the Leo House on various occasions, first about 15 years ago. Last stay Thanksgiving 2010. Very basic and old fashion rooms (original structure) more like a dorm style, at least the single rooms. I don't need any more. I go there to sleep and then off to enjoy the Big Apple. Very clean. Excellent and safe location. It is a Catholic faith-based establishment. And that is what makes it so special for me. Always felt right at home. God Bless the Leo House and their staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I would like to be able to say something lovely about this place, being that it has operated as a place for inexpensive 'refuge' for travelers associated with a cause, run by a religious organization. This means, of course, if you don't want to see statues of the Virgin Mary in the lobby, and crucifixes above your bed, this place is not for you. It's not a regular hotel, and I'm not sure I completely understand the 'terms' that are needed in order to stay here. They ask a few questions about your stay and your reasons for being here, and if you must fit the requirements. Yes, it's inexpensive, but, you can often get internet rates at regular hotels (that don't have a curfew! and strict moral regulations) that are often priced very low as well. The staff was fine-- not overly friendly-- but fine. However.... the room! OY VEY. Sure, I was expecting an ascetic quality, but not this. TV from the Year One, single bed reminding one of chastity, bare floors, bare furniture that looked like it was pulled from rummage, and walls painted that weird pale color you see in hospitals. I felt like I'd hit bottom staying here. Sorry.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Everything about our stay at the Leo House in Chelsea, New York was perfect. From reservations, to check in, to service, to breakfast, to check out. Leo House is a home away from home. If you're looking for 5-star you need to go elsewhere. But for simple, welcoming, clean accommodations in a great location in New York you cannot beat Leo House. Great to have Sr. Kathryn chat to the guests at breakfast time and she's always ready to give tips and advice to tourists. Free WiFi and computers. Breakfast is $9.00 and it's wonderful. Plenty to eat, great choice and fresh food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with private bath/shower. Leo House is planning renovations so that each room has pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Leo House is basic, but clean and compared to prices for NYC accom, is very reasonable. My room was at the back, so I couldn't hear the majority of traffic from the road and slept quite well. Make sure to request this - my parents room overlooked the road, and they didn't get any sleep the first night we were there. The friendly staff found a room at the back for them to move to luckily.

Buffet breakfast is great and cheap and very convenient.

Free wifi/use of computers and printer in the business centre.

You absolutely can't beat this location. 23rd st station C & E line are a 30 second walk away, and other 23rd st stations - 1 line, F line etc are just a few blocks away, so you can get anywhere in New York reasonably easily.

Check out the great bakeries around - particularly Billy's, on 10th Av.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Address: 332 West 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.