We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Times Square West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Times Square West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Times Square West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   343 W. 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District) (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #155 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and the room was larger than the typical NYC hotel. The beds were very comfortable. With the great location and free full breakfast, we got off to a great and early start each morning. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    301
    68
    14
    12
See reviews for
210
177
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Comfort Inn is perfectly located near the Theater District and Times Square. Everything is within walking distance. Even Rockefeller Plaza and the Empire State Building are easy walks - dangerous at times, but easy. LOL The hotel was quaint and clean and their staff was professional & always helpful. The complimentary breakfast was great and FREE as were the morning newspapers and wifi. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in midtown Manhattan for a reasonable (based on Manhattan pricing) rate. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I spent a week in this gem of a hotel prior to her going to university. It is perfectly located for the theatre district and is a short walk from Times Square and the subway station. There are also loads of restaurants just a stone's throw from the hotel. We always felt perfectly safe in that area which for two women on our own was important. The hotel was run by a team of Indians whose familiar accents made us Brits feel quite at home in the bustle of NYC. They were always courteous and efficient. The breakfast was copious and varied and the room while a far cry from designer boutique decor (rather 50 shades of brown) was clean and quiet with a decent bathroom.
It wasn't cheap but that's central New York for you. But if you want something secure in the theatre district and close to New York's other amenities you could do a lot worse than this hotel. Not a honeymoon hideaway perhaps but definitely to be recommended for other travellers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed on vacation with my family... rooms are too small (most of NYC rooms are) and there is almost no room for even the luggage if you travel with small kids... the rest of the hotel is fine. Good breakfast with all you need to start the day, quiet clean rooms and toilettes. The crew offers good answers to the guest;s needs. And the location is simply perfect: one block from the Phantom of the Opera theatre.

Room Tip: Don't choose high floors because there is only one elevator and it takes a lot of time.... you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My family and I (wife and 6 and 3 year old) had a great stay here a few weeks ago. Right in the thick of things - super clean. Breakfast is great wih a bit of variety and fruit, which was a lovely surprise. Staff all excellent. Rooms are small but very comfy.

Only complaint - real milk for my afternoon tea, please. Not creamer!!! But I might be being a bit picky and perhaps should be grateful they even have this facility.

Excellent restaurants nearby (loved the Thai and burger place a few doors down).

Best wishes to all and do go.

William

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight this past weekend, after seeing a Broadway musical. The location is great, right near Times Square. The hotel staff were friendly, and accommodating. (They will stow your luggage so you can explore before check-in time.) The room was fair sized, which is to be expected in NYC hotels. The price was reasonable, especially if you pay in advance for the discounted price. (Lower than a lot of the comparable local hotels.) The free breakfast had a nice mix of both hot (eggs, bacon, waffles - even chocolate mix!) and normal "continental" fare, as well.

My only complaint was that the hallway leading to my room was VERY narrow. This ended up being a problem as I was forced to be in a wheelchair during the trip. To be fair, I did not book a room that was accommodating for handicapped, but the hallway was even a bit narrow in general to walk through.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A group of three (2 adults and 1 teenager) stayed at this hotel June 2013 for 2 nights. This was our first visit to NYC, so we wanted a reasonably priced room close to Times Square. This hotel fit the bill.
Rooms and bathrooms are very small (we were prepared for that by reviews). Basically enough floor space to walk around the beds and not much more. On the upside, the rooms are very clean and well-kept. Plus, we were in NYC to sight-see, not hang out in our room.
Included is complimentary breakfast which was great. Made-to-order waffles, cereals, eggs, yogurt, fruit, coffee, bacon, oatmeal. Perfect to start the day. Although the "dining" area is tiny, the area is kept immaculate and attended to during the breakfast hours.
We were a few blocks walking distance from Times Square, which was perfect. During our visit, we did a hop on-hop off bus tour to see the city (the pick up site is in Times Square). It would also be very close for any shows. (Being small-town people, the best thing was leaving our car parked and walking...don't think that you'll get anywhere driving yourself around NYC!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Address: 343 W. 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.