We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Times Square West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Times Square West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Times Square West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   343 W. 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District) (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #150 of 458 Hotels in New York City
nsw,australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We are four friends,two x fifty something,1 x fortyish 1 x twenty three.the location of this hotel was fantastic,stones throw to Times Square .breakfast was great,free wifi,rooms small but to be expected .we were out nearly all day anyway.you were always able to sit in breakfast room which is at front of hotel and have a cuppa,or use microwave etc.staff were very polite and helpful.man at front desk organised airport transfers no problem.great value.would recommend .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    283
    62
    14
    11
See reviews for
185
168
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Times Square West on 42nd St. in NYC for a four-day visit to New York. It was quiet. It was clean. The continental breakfast offered plenty of choices. The room was small, but we were gone all day every day, so it didn't matter to us. We were located on the 3rd floor in the back of the building and it was very quiet. I haven't smelled that much cleaning products or bleach -- in a good way. Everything from the towels to the room to the stairwell smelled clean. It was a short walk from Times Square and some fantastic restaurants. If I go back to NYC I will definitely stay there again. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I brought my mom to NYC for her birthday, and we stayed overnight at this hotel. What a fantastic location! You can walk quickly to Times Square and the 42nd Street subway station, which was very convenient. The check-in process was very quick, and our room was ready early, an added bonus. Although small, the room was very clean and comfortable. Other than the family of circus elephants in the room next door, who continued to run and slam their room door multiple times, we were pleased (we paid them back in kind by talking loudly and slamming our door at 3am).

Be mindful that there is only one elevator in the building, which is also used by housekeeping. It takes FOREVER, so plan either a long wait or a walk down the stairs. As others have said, the shower is just plain confusing - they actually have a laminated card with instructions behind the front desk! I don't know why they don't just print that up and stick it in all of the bathrooms. Also, the free breakfast was tasty but the dining area is overcrowded. You can hardly maneuver between the tables with a plate full of food, and I was constantly tripping on chairs and purses.

Overall, it was a relatively pleasant stay in a wonderful location. The few inconveniences I've mentioned above did not outweigh the benefits of the location and nice accommodations in the room, so I would likely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here just last week and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days.

THE GOOD:

- The location is UNBEATABLE. You are, no exaggeration, two blocks from Times Square. It's no more than a 300 meter walk and you're smack bang in Times Square!
- Lovely little room, it's small but its all you need. You're in New York!
- Beds are luxurious and linen is great
- Rooms are very modern and extremely clean and well looked after
- Has everything you need, fridge, TV with cable, reliable WIFI, coffee machine, desk and comfy chairs
- They provide free and delicious chocolate chip cookies at the lobby all day and night
- The complimentary breakfast is superb. Waffles, eggs, bacon, toast, cereals, wide rage of juices, pastries, coffee and tea
- Staff are lovely and helpful and are happy to hold your bags and luggage if you have some time to kill before or after you check out

THE BAD

- It's freezing in the lobby.
- The shower is initially confusing for silly foreigners like us who aren't aware of North America's curious shower tap design.

Honestly, it's very good. Worth the money! You won't regret it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked this hotel through an online service. I'm used to small accommodations in Manhattan, and thus was not fazed by the cramped lobby area. However, I was not pleased to be given a room on the ground floor, one that opened right out into the lobby and was next to the elevator to boot. This meant noise both late at night, as guests on the upper floors returned late from the theater or wherever they'd been, and early in the morning, as they arrived for the complimentary breakfast (which was good). Do not accept one of these rooms if you are assigned it, especially if it has as small and cramped a bathroom as mine did--the shower door and the bathroom door could not stay open at the same time, and the former leaked so that the small floor space ended up mostly covered by water after one use. The price is good, however, and the location is great, right in the Theater District.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just returned from 2 nights here, and were in the city for a graduation. There are several small things that add up that could be improved with this hotel:
1) only one elevator is a problem. The service staff use it heavily so often you travel with them and bags of dirty linens, etc. What would happen if it broke down?
2) The room doors do not automatically close behind you. I have never seen this in a hotel.
3) The lobby was kept uncomfortable cold
4) The lobby does not have a comfortable area to just hang out. There is one sofa that faces the checkin desk and the area frequently smells like cleaning supplies.
5) It is not obvious how to turn on the shower and when you try long enough and eventually get the front desk, it is obvious that they've had the question asked of them numerous times.
6) 9:30 is too early to shut down breakfast abruptly. People travel from all different time zones and for all different reasons and I have been in other similar-style hotels that keep it going a little longer particularly when their occupancy is high, as it was.
7) The sink needs to be turned off exactly the right way so that it does not drip. For those of us who really care about those types of things, I highly recommend installing water-saving sink faucets. There are good products that could probably save the hotel a lot of money and maybe allow them to spend it upgrading a few other things.

The important stuff--a comfortable and clean room are fine here and I prefer to grade up rather than down but in the future I would for the same price, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd or 3rd floor room in case there is a wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Safe and convenient. Rooms were small and bathroom was very tight(as expected). Breakfast and wi-fi were added bonus. Check in and out was smooth. Only negative was one elevator and had to wait quite a bit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Address: 343 W. 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.