We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Room 1A” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dupuy's Landing Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dupuy's Landing Guest House
433 West 22 Street #2, New York City, NY 10011   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Room 1A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in Room1A at the end of October. We loved the room & the location of Dupuy's Landing which is a perfect location for exploring NYC. The subway is really close & the neighbourhood feels safe - we both really liked Chelsea. The room was lovely and had an en-suite bathroom, walk-in wardrobe, tv with lots of channels, fridge, coffee/tea facilities, phone (for local calls) wi-fi, and seating / table. Blaise & Alex were very helpful and provide lots of information on nearby places to eat / buy groceries at. We would both highly recommend Dupuy's Landing for anyone visiting NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Apartment 3A for the month of April this year and loved it. Contacting Blaise was a challenge, but I was lucky enough to get through (finally), and lucky enough to book the apartment I wanted. The building is on a beautiful residential street in a fantastic location, and the apartment was exactly as it appeared online. Blaise was very welcoming and left me with more than enough local information to help me settle in. The subway is a short walk, buses even closer and it's very easy to get around on foot. I walked more than anything else. Wholefoods and Chelsea Market are about a 10 minute walk away in separate directions, and there are numerous cafes, restaurants, bodegas and bakeries nearby. If you can stay at Dupuy's, do. Actually....don't. I need to make arrangements for my own return visit!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just checked about getting a room and received an automated email saying that one needs to contact them 4 months ahead of time to book a room. Wow that is a lot of notice that is required.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DupuysLanding, Owner at Dupuy's Landing Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Our automatic e-mail response (reproduced at end) was not as clear as it could be (we will be correcting this), and Ston3Soup understood the opposite of our intent - we do not require four months advance notice, rather we do not accept bookings more than four months in advance.

We do this because Dupuy's Landing is not a hotel - it is our home. We like to have friends and relatives stay with us, and our friends and family don't plan their travels a year in advance, as many people who find us through TripAdvisor or other Internet sites do.

We are a very small scale operation, and because of the great reviews on this site and elsewhere, we get many many more requests for bookings than we can possibly accommodate. Lately it has reached the point where we can't even answer the many requests for dates that are not available or requests more than four months in advance. This is the reason for the automatic e-mail reply, whose original text is reproduced here (we will modify it clarify the advance booking restrictions, which are likely to change in the future):

Subject: Thanks for your inquiry

We appreciate your interest in our guest house; as a small establishment, due to the volume of inquiries, we cannot respond to all requests.

Please check our website [removed per guidelines] and especially the availability calendar:
[removed per guidelines] to determine if your booking request might be available.

We only take booking requests for guest rooms four months before the desired dates, e.g. August for bookings in December. Our guest house (guest rooms) is closed from the week before Christmas to the day after New Year's. Due to NYC law, we cannot offer bookings for our apartments for less than a month.

If we do not have availability for your dates we may not be able to respond.
Even if we do have availability, it may take a few days before we can get to your request.

We appreciate your patience, and if we do have availability, and your dates are within our booking horizon (four months for guest rooms, six months for apartments) we will endeavor to respond in as timely a manner as possible.

We understand that an automated response is not as helpful as one that we write to you personally, but we hope that receiving this e-mail will be less frustrating than not receiving any response at all, which, due to the volume of requests, was more often the case than we'd like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I never stayed at Dupuy`s Landing. After many attemps to contact them I couldn`t get a room , but even an answer. I thing this is an obvious lack of respect for people who look forward to their holidays . It seems they have a lot of guests and don´t care about being rude.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DupuysLanding, Owner at Dupuy's Landing Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We're sorry that we weren't able to respond to MagdalenaGarcia's reservation requests. As our automatic e-mail response indicates, we are not able to respond to all requests; in particular requests for dates that are already booked, or as in her case, requests for dates more than four months in advance. As noted in our response to another review, Dupuy's Landing is not a hotel, but our home, and we do not take bookings more than four months in advance, so that we can have some availability for family and friends.

We are not able to respond to requests where we cannot offer a booking, because of the volume of requests, and because we place the highest priority on communications with guests once they have made a booking with us, forgoing other possibilities. MagdalenaGarcia's first request was more than seven months in advance; her later requests were more than five months in advance - in all cases before our booking window. While it may have been disappointing for her, I have no doubt that she was able to find other accommodation in the city for her desired dates two and half months after her review, itself two and a half months after her last request to us. New York City is a very large city, and there are a lot of places to stay here - we are just (a very small) one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've been trying for 2 weeks - emails and skype calls to reach them. No luck. Anyone else have these problems? I'm really keen to stay there. great reviews. great website but just can't get a response - can anyone help?

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

we stayed in 1A for about a week and it is a lovely and very comfortable room. this room has its own bathroom, a little fridge, cutlery, crokery and a walk in wardrobe and a spare single bed. it is also in a great spot, there is a subway 1 block away which goes straight to times square (its 2-3 stops) which was handy :)

breakfast is not provided, but that was made clear when initially booking so that wasnt a problem.

room 1A is extremely s[acious and comfortable. we would definitely stay in that room again.

Room Tip: room 1b is very small, we definitely recommend staing in room 1A!!! its a fabulous room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sogndal, Norge
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights with two of my best friends, and we couldn't have found a better place in NYC for that price. Chelsea is the perfect area to explore NYC from, with the subway just a few blocks away and everything in walking distance if you don't mind a bit of a walk.

The location of the guest house is in a nice, quiet area and we felt really safe.

We stayed in 1A, and were very satisfied with the room. It is big, cozy and comfy beds. It even had room for all the shopping we did.

We didn't see much of Blaise, but that was mostly because we didn't stay in the room during the day. Check in went quick, and it was not an issue that we checked in in the evening. We also got to keep the room until we had to leave 4pm our last day.

This is definitly a place I will recomend my friends, and I would stay there again without consideration.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dupuy's Landing Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dupuy's Landing Guest House

Also Known As:
Dupuy`s Landing Guest House Hotel New York City
Dupuy`s Landing Guest House Hotel
Address: 433 West 22 Street #2, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, residential street in the heart of historic Chelsea, Dupuy's Landing provides an elegant place to stay in New York. A guest room with private bath for 2 nights to 2 weeks, furnished apartments for 1 to 6 months. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dupuy's Landing Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dupuy's Landing Guest House to your Saves list