We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The MAve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The MAve to your Saves list
The MAve
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New England
1 review
“Overall pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My partner and I took advantage of the 3 nights for 2 deal this month at the Mave. We too were greeted by a doorman and friendly faces at the front desk. Unfortunately, when we arrived at 4:30pm (check-in is 3:00pm) our room was not yet ready, however the staff was very accomodating and brought us next door for complimentary drinks at Olana - thankfully... since there is no where to sit in the lobby area.

The room was very clean, trendy, and comfortable (small though - but common for NYC). The bed was very cozy and big! Loved the art work and furniture. The only downer(s) were that the mini fridge had not yet been installed and we were unaware the room would not have a bath tub (only shower). The shower was fun and new-age style, however if we left the bathroom door open the fire alarm would go off. In addition since the shower barrier is only half-way the water went all over the floor - so don't leave anything on the bathroom floor and I would recommend not to put towels down b/c it just makes more of a mess. The H2O products were nothing special.

It was dissappointing that the following day when we arrived back at the hotel at 6:30pm to relax before going out to dinner to find that our room had not yet been cleaned. The cleaning staff said we were next, which was only mildly irritating, but that there is no where to go to wait it out (b/c the lobby has no seating). We had to meander around the stairs for 10 minutes.

The hotel was exceptionally quiet for NYC, which was great, however the wood shade over the window really didn't block out the light from the office building across the street. When asked how our stay was going - this was mentioned and they provided complimentary eye-shades which really helped. The room next door had a very creaky door which got annoying after a while, b/c the guest seemed to go in and out every 5 minutes, but after they checked out and no one checked back into that room - it was fine.

Since the hotel is new they are still working out a few bugs such as the elevator, of the two only one was working and very slow, but this will be fixed soon. The lobby was very elegant, but seating is absent and necessary.

Personally, I did not like the artisan breakfast except for the coffee (yum). For the hype they give it you would think it to be spectacular. Of the three mornings we went down, all 3x I had to ask for plates and napkins, one day they ran out of bread before we came down at 9:30am, the other day we went down at 9:00am and only a few crumbles of cheese were left, and on a different day someone must have forgot to pick up the fantsy jelly b/c Shop Rite was the brand for the day with the price tag right on top of the jar $1.79 lol. I firmly believe they should have provided in addition to the artisan breakfast some fresh fruit (bananas and apples) and some fresh juice (OJ). The breakfast got boring after a day. Add some fruit, juice, peanut butter, bagles and cream cheese and that would suffice for a great addition to the fresh baked bread and cheese.

Overall, the staff was extremely accomodating and helpful always asking how we were and how our stay was. They would do their best to make a situation better. Customer service was 100%. We would stay there again (hopefully with the bugs worked out).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    263
    101
    39
    31
See reviews for
72
307
73
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The Hotel was excellent - a great deal (3 nights for price of 2) and super clean. The staff are really great, young and responsive. The hotel is in a GREAT location. Corner of Madison and 27th, close to Madison Sq. park and easy wealk up or down town.
Still a few bugs to work out around room service and an elevator (1 of 2) still needs service. Definitely would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

A girlfriend and I stayed here for a girlfriend getaway trip during The MAve's opening weekend. We were quite impressed with hotel. The lobby is quite tastefully decorated and helps to create an atmosphere of a luxury hotel. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. It was on the small side which is to be expected in New York. The best way to describe the room was simple luxury. The beds were comfortable with a nice clean bathroom. One nice feature in the room are hardwood floors.
The location of the hotel is quite conviently located in a nice non-touristy neighborhood. It is a $5 cab ride to many neighborhoods for shopping and nice restaurants.
The best part of our stay was the staff at The MAve. We arrived quite late in the evening exhausted after numerous delays in getting there. The staff helped us find a fantastic French-American restaurant nearby that was open late and delicious! Over our stay, the staff helped us with everything from getting us reservations at one of the more trendy restaurants in town to providing a Blackberry charger. The staff made us feel as though we were staying at the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We booked the MAve on expedia.com after searching for a moderately priced hotel in Manhattan. The hotel is brand new, so the rooms are in perfect condition, they are really clean, and have tv with loads of channels to watch as well as free wireless internet. The location is in Midtown and is close walking distance to the Empire State Building, and only a small cab fare to time's square and macy's etc. The staff are friendly and provide a great service. We would stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed for 9 nights at the MAve, starting on the opening weekend.

Brand new hotel, with two points still to be finished: the elevators and the lobby

Great room: all the furniture brand new, as well as the bathroom

Great service: all the staff is young and very polite

Very central location: near the 28th subway stations, as well as touristic attractions (e.g. Empire State Building)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We arrived at The MAve, which is on the corner of 27th and Madison Ave., to it’s gleaming floor to ceiling windows for the entire lobby. The white and red decor gives the lobby a nice calm feel. The doorman opened the door and all of the staff welcomed us to The MAve.

When we checked in the staff were extremely helpful and very polite. We were also told that the hotel had not received their window shades, but we were provided complimentary eye shades\.

Breakfast is provided every morning and consists of Artisanal cheeses, rustic breads, and honey. We never made it to breakfast, but when checking out, the spread looked exceptional.

Part of the lobby is still under construction, but we were told a nice cafe or lounge would be built. This is a great idea because there is nowhere to sit in the lobby if you are waiting for a guest.
Only one of the two elevators work at the moment, but since the hotel has a small number of rooms this wasn't a problem.
The elevator had not been updated, but I gathered that they were working on the interior of the non-working elevator, and when they are finished they will start on the other.

The hallways have been updated and everything was clean and sharp.

When we opened the door to our room, it was clean and well decorated. It was very warm in the room, but we turned on the A/C and it was cool in no time. We reserved a Queen room, which was a little tight, but it was still comfortable. The bed was plush and inviting, and the hardwood floors gave the room a nice stylish modern look. There wasn't much on the white walls, but this also made the room feel less cluttered. All the furniture was modern and new. There was a desk, chair, dresser, and two end tables. The room has an IHome, 32" HDTV, iron and ironing board, and a in window air conditioning. In the dresser there is a space for a refrigerator, so maybe they will be installing mini bars in the near future.

The bathroom was clean with a nice size sink, big walk-in shower, and toilet. It was stocked with H2O bath products and had a complementary vanity kit. The towels could be better for this type of hotel. The water pressure wasn't great either, but it didn't take anytime for the water to get hot.

One thing we really liked about this hotel is how quiet it is in the rooms. You can hear people coming and going as well as the elevator chime, but other than that it was extremely quiet and comfortable. The area is very safe and quiet, and I highly recommend a walk or picnic in Madison Square Park.

We only had one issue with the room, and that was that our bathroom window was faulty. While taking a shower it fell out of it's frame and cracked. It was a jolt to the system more than anything, but we told the management immediately and were given a new room within minutes. We were also upgraded and all of the staff were very apologetic for our inconvenience. We were impressed with their expediency.

Besides a few opening quirks, this hotel, is well on it's way to being a world class property. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in a quality hotel in New York City. The hotels rooms, decor, and extremely professional staff would rival that of the best hotels in New York.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

My girlfriend and me stayed at The Mave for three nights their opening weekend to take advantage of the 3 for 2 nights special. There is nothing better than to be the first person ever to sleep on a super comfy hotel mattress. The room and the bathroom were super clean. No early knocks on the door from housekeeping - who wakes up early on a holiday weekend in the city anyways.

From the lobby to the staircase to the room the facility screams trendy. The décor and art combines both South Beach white lines and NYC contemporary sharp edges.
It gets even better with young and area knowledgeable stuff that will go out of their way to recommend and arrange dinner reservations as well as club passes/guest list. During our stay we were able to check out Tenjune, Griffin, and 230 Fifth with no hassles by just mentioning 'The Mave".

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The MAve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve

Address: 62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 72 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature—featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d’ terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The MAve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MAve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.