We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The MAve Hotel (62 Madison Ave) - my 4th visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The MAve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The MAve to your Saves list
The MAve
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The MAve Hotel (62 Madison Ave) - my 4th visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is my 4th visit to New York City and I booked a single room at The MAve hotel again. Yes, this is also my 4th visit to The MAve. With the exception of a few familiar faces, almost all the staff at The MAve are new. I have no problem with wifi - connection is good and I was given a room at level 4. My room was cleaned and towels were replaced daily.

There was road works outside the hotel during one of the nights and some guests were affected by the noise. However, the noise did not affect me as I was very tired after walking in NYC for most of the day.

For breakfast, previously hotel guests had their breakfast in the hotel and we had coffee / tea and a selection of muffin and other pastries. However, for current arrangement, hotel guests are issued breakfast coupons and each coupon is entitled to only one free muffin and coffee over at Essen, a deli opposite Mave.

You can consider reserving a room at MAve if clean room and accessibility to subway are important criterial to you when choosing a hotel for your stay at NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    263
    101
    39
    31
See reviews for
72
308
73
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The room is extremelly small and the internet is not working!! We are having troubles troubles to move inside the room!! The price is too high about 240 to 300 US dollar per day!! Definitely I don't recomend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I visit my NYC office once a month and have stayed at most of the options in the Flatiron-ish area. I just spent my second four-day jaunt at the MAve.

On the plus side, you'll get good value for your money, a great location, hip-ish without trying too hard decor, and despite what other reviewers have said, good sized rooms for NYC.

Most of the negatives are those you will encounter at any NYC hotel. Yes it can be noisy. If you want silence, go to Duluth. I do agree that the MAve boasts some of the rudest staff in the area...well maybe not so much rude as uninterested. But if you're looking to make friends with the bellmen, you should reconsider your priorities anyway.

The MAve is a much better choice than its neighbor, the Carleton, and is a MUCH better choice than the Flatiron.

Room Tip: The rooms on Madison seem to be the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for four nights recently and had no major complaints. The rooms are small, and the hotel can be quite noisy depending on whats happening outside on the streets but this is typical of New York. If you want peace and quiet in a tranquil setting then don't go to NYC! The single most important feature is the location which is terrific. We walked everywhere.
Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. We found the front desk staff to be quite friendly and helpful. My ONLY real complaint was that the windows on our side of the hotel were quite dirty which made it hard to see out but this was minor.

Good value for the location IMO. Oh and as for the balloons covering the floor in the room adjacent the lobby... this is a retail space for lease I believe and doesn't have anything to do with the hotel. Balloons are a cheap/quick way to pretty the floor up until someone rents it.

Room Tip: Higher floors MAY help with the street noise but we were on the 5th floor and still heard our share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

By calling themselves a "boutique hotel" I expected something an establishment where the operation is elite and highly specialised and this hotel did not deliver. The best thing about it was that it was clean and in a good location.

The lobby and the rooms were extremely tiny. Only two elevators and one did not work most of the time. The lobby staff upon arrival was disinterested and un-welcoming. With 4 people in the room, we did not have enough towels and had to ask for more every day for 3 days. The website indicated an ionic hair dryer which we never got, instead an old model that barely worked. WiFi was not free, even though website said it was. Upon check-in, they sent us to an already occupied room! And lastly I come home to discover they charged some $50 fee to my credit card, which I intend to get refunded.

All in all, not a terrible experience, just was hoping for a lot more charm for the special occasion of taking 3 ladies to NYC for the first time for a Sweet Sixteenth birthday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Was a bit worried after some recent reviews. Room was clean and much better than other hotels I have stayed in NY and well priced. Would recommend and would return. Staff are very friendly too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCB0607
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel feels European in te sense that the rooms are tiny, it's a little dingy, and the front desk people are rude. We had spotty hot water, which was unpleasant. The reception area had an empty spot next to it that was filled with balloons to cover how crappy the floor looked, which was strange. The room was super noisy and we were in the 7th floor. There's a great place across the street for snacks or breakfast. Overall, the best thing was the location and we otherwise just stayed out and about.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The MAve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve

Address: 62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 72 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature—featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d’ terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The MAve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MAve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.