We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The MAve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The MAve to your Saves list
The MAve
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

By calling themselves a "boutique hotel" I expected something an establishment where the operation is elite and highly specialised and this hotel did not deliver. The best thing about it was that it was clean and in a good location.

The lobby and the rooms were extremely tiny. Only two elevators and one did not work most of the time. The lobby staff upon arrival was disinterested and un-welcoming. With 4 people in the room, we did not have enough towels and had to ask for more every day for 3 days. The website indicated an ionic hair dryer which we never got, instead an old model that barely worked. WiFi was not free, even though website said it was. Upon check-in, they sent us to an already occupied room! And lastly I come home to discover they charged some $50 fee to my credit card, which I intend to get refunded.

All in all, not a terrible experience, just was hoping for a lot more charm for the special occasion of taking 3 ladies to NYC for the first time for a Sweet Sixteenth birthday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    263
    101
    39
    31
See reviews for
72
308
73
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Was a bit worried after some recent reviews. Room was clean and much better than other hotels I have stayed in NY and well priced. Would recommend and would return. Staff are very friendly too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCB0607
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel feels European in te sense that the rooms are tiny, it's a little dingy, and the front desk people are rude. We had spotty hot water, which was unpleasant. The reception area had an empty spot next to it that was filled with balloons to cover how crappy the floor looked, which was strange. The room was super noisy and we were in the 7th floor. There's a great place across the street for snacks or breakfast. Overall, the best thing was the location and we otherwise just stayed out and about.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. The location is very good next to Madison square. I requested a room on the highest floor possible but got a room on the lowest floor possible. The room is extremely noisy as the airconditioning leds through all street sounds. The room was small but nice and clean. TV didn't work properly as the signal was very weak which led to signal loss and a black screen sometimes. The shower isn't working properly at all. You can't regulate the temperature.

The things is disliked the most was the staff at the reception. Especially 2 ladies. They where not friendly at all! Didn't answer my questions or give an proper advise, didn't great me when entering or leaving, etc.

Overall it was an OK hotel but nothing more. I would not go back if i had the choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We grabbed this hotel last minute on Hotel Tonight. When we arrived and pulled back the sheets there were small hairs all over the bed...GROSS!!! The hotels remedy...they came and put fresh sheets right on top of the old ones...leaving the dirty hair sheets underneath. DOUBLE GROSS. Didn't seem to care and was told to talk to management in the morning.

A week later I noticed a $9.95 charge...apparently for internet...which I didn't even use.

A Joke. Very poorly run. Save your money and go somewhere clean.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Good location...they couldn't fulfill the rooms we'd booked - one with two beds but we got an upgrade on the other from double to kingsize because of it. Rooms were pleasantly decorated, simple and clean.

We had thought breakfast wasn't included but it was. It's called breakfast to go which means there is a trolley in the lobby with coffee and crossaints with two chairs if you want to sit down in the very small space. There is a very nice coffee shop attached to the hotel if you want to sit and have breakfast as normal.

The lobby of the hotel with it's empty space sparsely filled with balloons is a bit of a let down and makes it seem less boutique, expensive and credible. Not bad if you get a deal as we did but I wouldn't want to pay full whack.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was in NYC with my sister and a group of friends for a long weekend and we picked the Mave for price and location.
The rooms are brand new, very clean and nicely decorated, although very basic and a bit noisy.
The staff is super helpful and kind. The hotel is located on Madison Ave, very close to the Empire State Building and a block away from Madison Square Park, where they serve the best hamburger in NYC.
Great place to stay, the only issue might be the heat over the summer months since the rooms have no AC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The MAve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve

Address: 62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 72 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature—featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d’ terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The MAve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MAve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.