We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The MAve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The MAve to your Saves list
The MAve
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 459 Hotels in New York City
hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most amazing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After 9 years of constantly saying I wanna go to new york I finally made it!

Our stay at the mave definitely made it one of the best city breaks Ive been on. The staff were always very helpful. I emailed them prior to our stay as it was my boyfriends birthday and they arranged champagne on arrival in our room.

The location is great only a few blocks away from the amazing empire state building and about 15 minutes from time square.

It is a little noisy at night as for some reason new york cabs think its ok to constantly beep their horns but as we were on the 10th floor it wasnt too bad and the beds were so comfy after hours of pounding the city streets you just nod straight off and dont even notice it.

5 nights was definitely the right amount of time to stay in nyc.

So a big thanks to everyone at the mave who helped make my dream to nyc finally come true

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We recognize you have endless options for hotel accommodations in NYC and thank you for choosing The MAve. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate the feedback. We hope you traveled home safely and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    263
    101
    39
    31
See reviews for
72
307
73
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I booked this for our honeymoon trip to New York and it was a fantastic base to explore New York.
We arrived early to check in and were checked in straight away with a room upgrade complete with wine and chocolates as we were celebrating our honeymoon which was a lovely gesture. All front of house staff were extremely polite and helpful.
The hotel itself is clean and modern with extremely comfortable beds and a great tv channel selection! The hotel is fantastic place to explore New York based in the trendy flatiron district and only a short walk from union square and the shops of 5th avenue!
All restaurant recommendations that we were given were excellent also - would highly recommend asking for guidance!
Breakfast of pastries and coffee was a fantastic bonus as a good way to start the day - no it's not a sit down breakfast but there are hardly any hotels in New York that offer complimentary breakfast so it's a fantastic bonus!
We are looking to stay again in September for a birthday trip and would go back in an instant! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Get a higher room if possible as the lower down you are in any NYC hotel the noisier it will be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Congratulations to you both! We hope we were able to make your Honeymoon a special and memorable experience. Thanks for taking time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in September!

Sincerely,

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'm picky and this place is great. Friendly staff, very nice rooms, clean, full sized ironing boad and iron in the room. There is no desk but they give you a nice laptop tray for using the computer on your bed. Flatscreens, nice shower, plenty of space for a business traveller. Light breakfast, free wifi and even a small work out facility. And the price was incredible for the location. Great mexican place 2 doors down and nice full service self serv food across the street. Top compliant seems to be room size - unless you are traveling with an elephant it's not a big deal. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The MAve. Please let us know when you expect to travel to NYC again and we will be happy to offer you accommodations with a desk. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Mave is my favorite hotel when I travel to NYC. It provides an excellent location, only a couple blocks from Madison Square Park. The rooms are small, of course, it's NYC but cleverly laid out and the beds are super comfy. Every morning coffee and upscale pastries are served in the lobby.I especially like that over the years that I have stayed here, the staff remains the same. This loyalty proves The Mave is a first-rate establishment. Considering the high price of staying in Manhattan, I find The Mave to be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for recognizing our Associates and their efforts. We strive for excellence and pride ourselves on providing personalized service to all our guests. We are glad you have found us and we hope to see you during your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first time after Hurricane Sandy while repairs were being done on our apartment in Brooklyn & we had a very pleasant experience so when we needed to stay in Manhattan for a few days we of course chose The MAve! We got an even better rate plus it's a pet friendly hotel so our precious chihuahua Squeak can join us & she's made to feel comfortable as well! The staff is always so friendly & helpful. Whatever we needed no matter what time of the day or night & they are right on point! The rooms & bathrooms are so comfy & modern. Really a beautiful hotel. I would stay there again & again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope your apartment is back to normal and look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Warmest regards,

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is my second stay at the MAve hotel.

What I liked in this hotel ..
* The staff was very friendly.
* Room was comfy.
* Very good sleep quality.
* The location of this hotel is excellent and so much close to some important attractions in the city; such as the Empire State, Macy's and the Madison Square Park.

What I DIDN'T like in the hotel ..
* I had to wait 5 - 10 minutes to get a hot water in my room 902.
* Wi-Fi signal was weak.
* AC/heater unit was noisy.
* TV channels were getting blank all the time.
* No swimming pool.
* No directions in the 12th floor to the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Choose room # 4 or 5 in a high floor (9, 10, 11).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback. We welcome all comments so we know what we are doing well and identify areas needing improvement. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and comfortable bedding. I am surprised to hear of the weak Wi-Fi signal; it is typically very strong. We will investigate to see how it can be improved. With regards to the A/C and television, these sound like isolated incidents that can easily be repaired. Thanks for bringing them to our attention. As our Guest Lounge on the 12th floor was just recently opened, we are not quite finished with the final touches. Signage is currently being designed and will be installed shortly.

We appreciate your honesty and look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Manhattan.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came here for a couple of nights for a brief NYC trip. After staying a few doors up at the Carlton, which was about double the price, I wasn't expecting too much. But the place was fantastic!! Great rooms, perfect location and, given NYC prices, such great value! When I arrived the staff didn't seen to have a record of my booking (from a budget Internet site) but were so lovely in following it up, even making sure I was given an upgraded room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear of the mishap with your reservation; however, I am glad our team was able to accommodate you. Thanks again for the wonderful review! We certainly hope to see you again during your next trip.

Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The MAve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve

Address: 62 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 72 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature—featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d’ terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The MAve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MAve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.