We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse

Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse
269 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
212 997 9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,554 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a good steakhouse near our hotel. It was very cold outside (9 degrees) and we did not want to walk far. Restaurant was warm and inviting. Busy but not crowded. Typical steakhouse menu and prices. I had lamb chops, two others had veal chops. My wife had shrimp scampi. Final two guests had liver and a vegetarian entree. Despite the diversity, everyone enjoyed their meal. Wine list was adequate, but not special. Service was attentive without hovering.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    95
    42
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This place needs a change in attitude. The service was poor. Our waiter was inattentive and unfriendly. He would walk by our table as if we were not there. Drinks went unfilled, and it took forever to get our check. The steak was good and prepared properly, The au gratin potatoes were good, but the creamed spinach and the garlic mashed potatoes were tasteless. . There are many places in NYC where you can have a great steak dinner for $100 per person. We will try someplace else next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Underwhelmed ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were recommended this steakhouse and indeed it is in many of the theater magazines. We found ourselves tightly crowded into a small space. I had to remove my belt, coat, and sweater to fit in. Our steak was ordered rare and came medium well done. We had to ask for water. We probably were spoiled by visiting another steakhouse the night before with superior service, and lots of room to breathe, but I would mention that with all the restaurants in NYC to choose from, they should pay a little more attention to detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Tami and I were headed to John's Pizza for a Christmas Eve pie only to find out it was closed! While working on a plan B, we ran into Frankie and Johnnie's. I heard about it so decided we should check it out. We were not impressed with the food or the service.

I had the ribeye and Tami had the filet. Both were dry and didn't really have any flavor. Mine was cooked medium and came out at the right temperature, Tami's was supposed to be medium but came out rare. We sent her steak back and got it right. We had creamed spinach with the meal and didn't like it at all. It came out lime green and soupy. Yuck!

The atmosphere was ok, clearly a theatre favorite. I believe the place was established in 1926 and believe the decor and waiters haven't changed since opening. I'm sure there's some history here that attracts people, but would say there are so many steakhouses in the area that are so much better.

We like good wine with our steaks. The wine selection was also a disappointment. Not much of a selection and the cheap wine glasses make a fair wine poor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Kinky Boots Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were going to see Kinky Boots and needed a nearby restaurant when we saw Frankie and Johnnies. They were packed, we did not have reservations, but said we could eat at the small bar upstairs. The waitress/bartender was great and very helpful in getting our meal to us in a timely manner and making sure we got to the theater on time. Food was great and the atmosphere is pure old school New York.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.