We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse

Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse
269 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
212 997 9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,045 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went to Frankie and Johnnie's on 45th St. with high expectations. Place was small and empty had absolutely no atmosphere. We picked the 45th St. location because it was originally John Barrymore's town home so we thought...wow...lots of atmosphere...NONE AT ALL. Steaks, once we received what we originally ordered were great BUT two of our $50.00 steaks were ordered medium rare and both came out medium. For an establishment of this nature a steak should never come out cooked wrong, not to mention two of them! We ordered 3 sides ($10.00 each), 2 veggies and 1 mushroom. We imagined putting some great sauteed mushrooms over our steaks...WRONG. Veggies and mushrooms where all boiled with no seasoning whatsoever (including the mushrooms which were whole mushroom caps). Bread was hard as a rock. Our waiter was weird and service was just OK....barely an apology for their error in cooking nor for the 2 people having to wait an additional 15 mins for their food while the others were eating. We actually think he was eating the steaks we sent back as we were leaving! HORRIBLE PLACE and big waste of $$$. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY GO ELSEWHERE!!! Any place other than this!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    109
    48
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just ok.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner here before heading to a Broadway show as it is near our hotel and also near the theater. I wouldn't go back. The food was actually quite nice - I had the salmon, my man had a steak but his was slightly overcooked and there are no sauces to accompany it. The service was prompt and helpful, but there seemed to be a lack of communication as between ordering our first drinks and our main meals we told no less than 3 staff that we were heading outside for a cigarette but once we got back inside our table, including our freshly poured drinks, had been cleared and set for another party. This was quickly rectified and fresh drinks were brought out. The decor is old and worn and the pictures of celebrities on the walls looked tacky as unfortunately no one famous had been there since the
80's. Overall not the best experience

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Better at 37th St Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've dined at Frankie and Johnnies before and for some reason trip advisor only brings up the 45th st location. They have another location at 32 W. 37th St.in the old John Barrymore House that is much more attractive, less noisy and in my opinion has a better wait staff. This location is away from the theater district but not to far as we dined here after a Broadway matinee. The food is always great and the steaks always come out just right. The side orders are served family style and are big enough for two. The baked potato is almost 10 inches long!. The staff is courteous and accommodating and does not rush you through diner as some in NYC try to do. Desserts and coffee were delightful and very well presented Suggestion try the cold seafood appetizer, a little pricey but very delicious..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Service was excellent. As with many Manhattan restaurants, tables are tight, a bit noisy but the filet mignon was very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have just visited Frankie and Johnnie's for the first time after being recommended it. Very over priced for a very average meal. Will not go again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.