We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent meal - don't expect much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse

Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse
269 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
212 997 9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,564 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent meal - don't expect much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A tired property with pleasant enough waiters. The food was ordinary and rather tasteless. Hot food, yes and not the worst by any means. Just OK at best. Needs updating, especially for their prices.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    95
    42
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Porterhouse delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had been at another Frankie and Johnnie years back and didn't know about this one...so we decided to give it a try.
Very very good!!!!
We started off with a couple of salads and right after that a porterhouse x2 with a side of creamy spinach and fries.
Everything (including service) was impeccable.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Frankie and Johnnie's on 37th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I celebrated my completing a post grad degree by grabbing reservations very late @ this restaurant during the week of Christmas 2012. I was very surprised at how great my meal really was. I was a great fan of Ben Benson's and very rarely ate steak anywhere else in Manhattan simply because I was treated so well and Ben's always had great steaks. Since they closed, I have gone to a variety of other steak restaurants and Frankie and Johnnie's was such a a nice treat. I had the lobster bisque as a starter with a Caesar Salad to follow (with the anchovies) before my filet and lobster tail. All were perfectly done and arrived exactly as they should as soon as I finished each course (great service). The bottle of cab sav was excellent and a great recommendation from the wine steward. Speaking of alcohol, my martini (top shelf vodka, slightly dirty and up, with three blue cheese stuffed olives) was so good (thanks to the bartender who had the chef stuff my olives!) that I ordered another! New York style cheesecake seemed appropriate, paired with a very nice cognac (an XO) finished the night. One of the owners was in the house and stopped by to congratulate me on my new degree and picked up the part of the bar bill (how often does this actually happen in Manhattan anyway?). I would highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, MA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great ore- theatre dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Our party of four had a great meal. We all had steak, two petite fillets, one New York sirloin, and a ribeye. Portions were generous but not overwhelming. We shared three sides: garlic mashed potatoes, creamed spinach, and fried onion straws. All were fantastic, my least favorite being the potatoes. We also had lump crabmeat and shrimp cocktail appetizers, which were also very good. We were too full for dessert!
The prices seemed a bit steep, and I never like that steakhouses make everything ala carte, but I guess it is consistent with other steakhouses.

All in all, it was a great meal, and I would definitely go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food was good, not doubt about it!
The service... meh! obviously they're not so keen on receiving mid20's customers wearing tshirts.
We got stared at during the whole meal by the staff and the other guests and barely acknowledged when leaving.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.