We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The suites are comfortable, compact and well maintained. Housekeeping makes sure things are cleaned up every day. The hotel is located hardly a few minutes away from Times Square and Broadway. The underground is also minutes away from the hotel and so is the important bus terminal. You really can't beat Staybridge on location. Don't expect meals on a daily basis at the lounge on the ground floor but you are assured of a good breakfast and special snacks and drinks sessions in the evenings on 3/4 days of the week. These sessions are complimentary. The staff is very helpful at the front desk, concierge or even the door man (John, if I remember his name).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,357
    1,397
    251
    39
    17
See reviews for
1,172
1,530
168
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Great Hotel with all the right amenities for a girls weekend in the city.
A bit of a mixup with our reservations that even our written documentation couldn't solve. Had to get the travel agent in to fix that with management. Sad beginning of the trip.
Always bring your documentation and 24 hour line if you use an agent - made a difference to us.
Clean, spacious (for NYC) rooms with great beds and linens - what a bonus.
Hearty breakfast - but get there early for a table.
Two free pcs hardly count as a 'business centre' but I wasn't there to do business and they did a fine job of helping check emails and locations of places.
Fitness centre was a room with equipment but no tvs - can't exercise like that!
Good location off Times Square - bit of a rough patch with porn stores on the way to 8th.
construction across the street with drills going at night was a concern when we returned to hotel on Sun night - but hardly noticed them from the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Island, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Great hotel. Rooms aren't too small and the proximity to Times Sq is great. On a Sat night we went out at 10:30pm and walked to Times Sq and felt completely safe walking back at 1am. Breakfast is wonderful and the staff was so pleasant. Every time we met one in the elevator they smiled and were so nice. I was in the hotel biz for 10 yrs and I know how important this is! Looking forward to coming back this summer with some friends.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights. Location was good since it was close to subway station and close to time square. Room was small as expected but clean. Bed was comfortable.
The internet speed down in business center was so slow that we finally didnt get to print our boarding pass.
Their breakfast was not good. Although it was warm breakfast but not a good quality. I had to wait for a few to get clean plate and fork.
overall it was a good place to stay with the price we got.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Just spent 5 night here.

Good points

Comfortable bed
Central Location
Great TV with a 100 or more channels
Breakfast Buffet - complimentary and good
Happy hour - complimentary and good

The hotel was great at letting you take food and drink from the buffet to your room, even providing containers and allowing you to take bottles of beer out.

Bad points

Room was cramped but maybe that's standard for NYC
Room was expensive for what was received
Elevators are too damn slow and staff was arrogant in their service use to the determinent of waiting customers

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We just returned from our 5 night stay at the Staybridge. The location is great -- just a block or two away from Times Square and quick access to the subway. Staff is very helpful and cordial. We had a room on the 29th floor with a fantastic view. The free breakfast is substantial and was always stocked.

I highly recommend eating on 9th Ave. We ate at Yum Yum Bangkok, Five Napkin Burger and Jing during our stay. Each meal was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Jamie on staff at Staybridge Suites made our trip so much easier. He gave us suggestions for meals, subway routes, and directions. All of his suggestions were right on the mark. Anything we needed he attended to along with most of the staff there. Jamie just stood out as wanting to help us and that made a nice hotel great. The beds in the hotel were comfortable and the buffet was good with quite a variety of food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#93 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,181 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#179 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,329 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#206 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#152 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#285 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,480 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#110 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.