We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #43 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My daughter and I had a fantastic 6 nights stay end of February. The location is central and fun. The staff was fabulous an very helpful, the room was perfectly equipped, big and calm. We even had a great view on the Empire State Building. I definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room not to near by the elevators. I also liked the fact of being on the 30th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,985
    1,100
    191
    31
    15
See reviews for
952
1,228
136
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

All members of staff were very friendly and helpful. Karina Castillo and Maria Luna were so pleasant to wake up with in the morning at the breakfast buffet. Food was excellent. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Waiting on elevators was a problem. Stay on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in this New York Hotel for three nights as an extension to my trip to the U.S.A. after spending a week visiting my Family in Philadelphia. The room was quite spacious for a Manhattan Hotel. It was well equipped with a full size refrigerator and even had a small cooker and microwave as well as a Tea/Coffee Maker. There was the added benefit of Free Wi-Fi with a very good Internet Connection and I and no problems connecting my Laptop and Mobile Phone to it. Breakfast was included in the price of the Room. The Buffet Breakfast was very good with good selection of hot and cold items. My only criticism was that the Breakfast Room was not really big enough, but on the plus side there was an overflow section in the Bar area. The Hotel itself is in a very good location and is only five minutes walk from 42nd Street Subway Station and this makes getting around New York very easy indeed. This is an excellent New York Hotel to stay in which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very good hotel, clean and stylish. Great room, full kitchen clean and nice bathroom. Free Breakfast with many options of food, fruits, yogurts, etc. Great locations, just a couple blocks from Times Square. No parking available but they have an agreement with a parking on the next block for USD 39 per day

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We try to offer a number of options for breakfast to help our guests start the day off right and we are glad to hear you enjoyed them! We do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future!

Thanks Again!
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

All members of staff are super-friendly and helpful. I only witnessed one person that did not seem to wish to be bothered by the guests. A concierge, named Elliott. Everyone else was so super nice. The staff and the room are what make this hotel a good choice. The rooms are new and clean and with good spatial organization and a nice bed. Connecting doors are paper-thin, however, so you do hear your neighbors' conversations which is quite annoying, especially when you wish to sleep. Breakfast is free and is a good breakfast, however the lounge is a madhouse. Half of the people end up bent over eating on low cocktail tables or can't find a table at all. The biggest issue: the elevators seem to have been out of order much longer than their in-rooom letter states and it creates misery. One morning I waited 30 minutes for an elevator to arrive, and I had a business appointment to go to.
Location of the hotel is great (I was attending a convention at Javits Center- and it was walking distance).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear you found the staff to be helpful and friendly as that’s what we’re here for! We would like to apologize for any staff members you felt were not as helpful. We take this very seriously and will certainly look into the matter! As you mentioned, we do offer some of our rooms with a connecting door in-between for families however, should you return to the hotel we do have rooms without this option and we will surely hold one aside for you the next time you stay! We apologize for the long elevator wait times during your stay, we have been undergoing an extensive repair to assure safety and efficiency for all of our elevators and we are aware of the inconveniences this has caused. We are very happy to report that our #2 elevator is now back in full working order!
We would love to welcome you back to the Staybridge Suites and hope you will stay with us in the future!

Thanks Again!

Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Todos muito simpáticos. Quarto e o banheiro são bonitos e limpos. Quarto grande com geladeira, fogão, microondas, cafeteira, pia e tudo que você precisa para preparar uma comida, exceto a comida, é claro haha Wifi em todo hotel. O café da manhã é muito bom. Farto, variado e gostoso. Deixei minhas malas com eles das 9h da manhã até ás 16h e todos sempre com um sorriso no rosto. O hotel fica em frente a uma entrada lateral do Port Authority, que é uma rodoviária que uso muito, inclusive para ir a Jersey Gardens. E é bem próximo a Times Square. Adorei e recomendo!


Everyone was very friendly. Room and the bathrooms are nice and clean. Large room with fridge, stove, microwave, sink and everything you need to prepare a meal, except the food of course haha Wifi throughout the hotel. The breakfast is very good. Hearty, varied and tasty. I left my bags with them in the morning from 9am until 16pm and everyone always has a smile on his face. The hotel is opposite a side entrance to the Port Authority, which is a road that I use extensively, even to go to Jersey Gardens. And it's right next to Times Square. Loved it and recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Firstly, some terrific staff - Ralph and Karina especially in the Food area. Always smiling and willing to assist. Great assets and I hope they are appreciated for the happiness they bring to the hotel.

Complimentary big breakfast every day is very welcome, and of course crowded because of this. Sometimes hard to get a seat even though they open the bar area for extra seating.

Also, on Tuesdays to Thursdays, they have a happy hour from 5-7pm with a good amount of food (enough for a medium dinner), plus drinks including beer and wine.

Both attractions are very popular and take away is also encouraged as they have containers for guests to add for use after.

They also have free laundry facilities inc dryers. Just bring your own detergents or pay a modest fee for soap.

So far, so good...however, two noticeable issues:

1. They have 32 floors of rooms and only three elevators. Bad enough, except for the last TWO MONTHS, one has been out of order. The massive delays to get from floor levels to reception or the other way are soul destroying. You can wait up to about 18 minutes for an elevator only to find it is already crammed with disgruntled guests!

And despite suggestions, they do not provide any extra chairs in the foyer or on room levels for people with minor disabilities who have to stand uncomfortably for such a long time. But do not blame the staff as this is a MANAGEMENT issue.

2. Speaking of Management, they have a few of them who occasionally mix with the great unwashed around reception area, but they do not talk to anyone unless it is to censure them for minor indiscretions. I thought Basil Fawlty was a person of the past, but we found one here (in more ways than one...).

Guys in suits....you are letting your great team of staff down by not communicating with guests or listening to their issues. I saw one duck into a private room when he was about to be approached by a guest with a concern.

Lift your game guys and support your great staff or they will leave you. Your place is not that great without them!

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower floor so you can use the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear David A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We do regret the delays for elevator service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to read your kind words about the staff and we truly appreciate the high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, Service, Sleep Quality, and Value. We have shared your comments with the management and staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.