We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Accommodations, 5 Star Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“4 Star Accommodations, 5 Star Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Walking up to the hotel, you might not be able to pick it out of a line up. It's one of four hotels directly in a row - all narrow, tall skyscrapers. 2 of the hotels directly adjacent - the Fairfield Inn, and Sheraton Four Points - came up in my Kayak searches along with Staybridge Suites and had comparable pricing.

I chose Staybridge because their AAA rate was a little better, and I recently joined the IHG rewards program, of which, they are one of the IHG hotels.

The lobby is small, but bright and modern. Light neutral stone and fabrics, touches of chrome and dark wood, tasteful and pleasant. Check in was super easy. The employee I spoke with was completely pleasant, friendly, and happily accommodated an early check in (12 noon instead of 4p). I was even given an IHG reward gift.

There are more than 30 floors and only 3 elevators, so I was a bit concerned about their speed and timeliness. I didn't have any issues during my stay though. They were always quick.

The room was nice. It featured a full kitchen that was completely outfitted with all the essentials, king bed, and desk/tv stand/bureau piece that was very functional. The bathroom was cozy, but well laid out. A surprising amount of counter space, nice fixtures and finishes. Everything felt very new, modern, and comfortable.

Design wise, the space was very well laid out. Everything was functional - placement of outlets, lighting, closet location, door placement, etc. It wasn't as glamorous as The W, or similar upscale design hotels, but it certainly held its own. I've stayed at plenty of hotels that have higher star ratings that weren't nearly as nice. I even had a view of the Empire State Building.

My room was directly behind one of the elevators, but I never heard it. Soundproofing was very good.

The great room was ample and comfortable - plenty of space to sprawl out. Same modern tasteful decor. Evening social hour included beer and wine, and heavy apps. Easily saving $40 per person at a bar or restaurant. Same with breakfast in the morning - another $20 per person saved.

The location is pretty good - easily walkable to many attractions and subway stations.

Every staff person I encountered was completely lovely. And to top it off, they happily accommodated a late check out 1p instead of 11a).

I would definitely stay here again, and definitely recommend it to others:

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests, as this helps us to assure that each stay meets our guest`s expectations!
I’m glad to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel amenities such as our free breakfast and social receptions, this is just one way we try to say thank you to our guests for choosing Staybridge Suites Times Square!
We are delighted to hear that you would come and visit us again! We love getting to know our guests and hope to see you back here at the Staybridge soon!

Best Wishes,

Staybridge Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,229
    1,274
    228
    33
    16
See reviews for
1,086
1,410
158
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Aurora, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The location of the hotel was very convenient, considering we arrived at Penn Station. We had to wait until 4:00 to checkin (this was the posted time; however, quite late compared to most other hotels I have stayed at). We waited and the front desk did come and get us after about 20 min.). The room was clean and well appointed. The room was warm, so we adjusted the thermostate and went out on the town. When we got back to the room, it was still warm so we adjusted the temp down a few more degrees and turned in. We woke at 11:30 PM and could hardly breath because it was so warm in the room. We contacted the front desk and they sent up a repair man almost immediatly. He worked on the window unit for almost two hours (it was frozen). The repairs helped cool down the room enough to sleep and it continued to function for the rest of our trip. The second day we again toured the city and got back to our room around 4:00 to find that our room had not been serviced yet. We had to call down 3 times to get towel and eventually flagged down a cleaning crew in the hallway.

The free breakfast was fair. Not a big selection but if you get their early you can enjoy some quiet time. Beware if you get down stairs late...when my family awoke and went down (around 9:30), there was almost nothing left. They must stop refilling at a certian time. No juice, no ceral, no ham...my kids had toast and I snagged the last banana for my wife)

Some of the hotel staff were excellent, listening to our concerns, while others seemed to have better things to do than to help us with our questions.

Room Tip: Lower floors would be better...the higher ones don't seem to get serviced
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idriss K, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience. We are glad to hear that our staff was accommodating.
Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience with our AC unit.
Although, the AC was fixed we regret that it took such a long time, compounded with the fact we were fully committed which left us without any other option to provide an immediate alternate accommodation.
We understand that no compensation may bring back the lost time however because our guest`s satisfaction is very important to us, please let us know should previously offered and accepted compensation is insufficient we would gladly reconsider.
We would be delighted if you would consider giving us another chance for you to experience Staybridge Suites Times Square as it is intended.

Staybridge Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here when stopping in New York for 5-6 days as a trip away with my mom. Clean, tidy hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
Perfect location which was right by the subway and bus station and close to Times Square. No issues of noise
I would only say maybe the breakfast hall should be bigger as sometimes people would be searching for seats but this wasn't a major problem as people came and went very regularly
I would stop here again if I came to New York

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Liznol,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a lovely review about the Staybridge Suites Times Square.

We are so glad that you decided to spend time with your mom here and even happier that you enjoyed your stay here. As you pointed out, our location, cleanliness and service are just some of the reasons that our guests come back here time and time again.

We would be honored if you would consider staying with us if and when you come back to New York. Thanks again!

Warm Regards
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights. We arrived at 1pm and although our room wasn't ready, they took our bags and we relaxed for an hour until it was. We had a room on the top floor with a fabulous view of The Empire State! The rooms are typical New York size, small but not tiny, and very modern and clean. The full size fridge, microwave etc are great if you plan on having lunch in. The inclusive breakfast was great. It does get busy but we are early risers so it wasn't a problem for us. The free wireless is a fantastic bonus.They even offer free printing if you need to print a boarding pass etc. The location was just wonderful. A couple of blocks from Times Square. The Port Authority was directly opposite so really convenient for transport links. A subway station at the end of the block. Plenty of diners and restaurants around. The New York Times building is at the end of the block. All in all a wonderful stay. The staff are super friendly and we look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: A high floor room is a good option for better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The previous year my wife and I wanted to see the city, we stayed in a hotel in Carteret, NJ and commuted into NYC each day. While you'll save a little money, you'll lose time traveling that you could use to enjoy the city. Staying in NYC provides a place - home base - where you can drop off your shopping bags, change your clothes, get out of the cold, rest your feet, or just come to relax/recharge before going out on another adventure. Couples, don't forget the romantic perks of having a private retreat close by whenever you need it. ;)

PRICE, LOCATION
Using a corporate discount, we reserved a 4 night stay at Staybridge Suites in New York City - before Christmas - for $200 a night. Along with that unbeatable price, the general location was very convenient. Despite the appearance of the neighboring businesses on the street next to the hotel (Chinese fast food, adult video/book store, and bail bonds), we never felt unsafe. I wouldn't recommend a lot of late late late night trips on foot, especially with kids. That said, Staybridge is mere steps from the theater district, great local eateries, and a reliable subway stop.
TIP1: If you have a smartphone, download the HopStop app (free). It's easy to use interface gives you subway/train/bus/foot travel options to get you to your destination. Makes selecting the correct subway line way easier.

In fact, to avoid worrying about parking and dealing with traffic, my wife and I decided to travel via airplane to JFK, then take a bus/subway to the hotel. It was fast, convenient, and cheap ($4.50 for both of us from airport to hotel); worked so well, we traveled the same way back to the airport on the day of our departure.
TIP2: BUY a metrocard at the airport instead of using cash on the bus; you can use one card for multiple people and it will give you 1 FREE transfer per person from bus to subway. This card can be recharged with more money at practically every subway terminal in NYC.

HOTEL STAFF
When we arrived early for check-in, the hotel staff told us a room was available and gave us keys. After discovering the room hadn't been cleaned, they apologized and kindly stored our bags while they cleaned another room for us as we ate lunch. The concierge was pleasant but recommended a restaurant that was terrible (Southern Hospitality). 90 minutes later the room was ready. See the attached photo for the room's view (empire state building).
TIP3: Feel free to request a room according to your preferences; stick to rooms away from the elevator if you want to have uninterrupted sleep. Also, in this hotel, higher floors offer better views and more privacy but be prepared to wait 5-10 minutes on an elevator to your floor!

Later that evening after we returned to the hotel from shopping, we found a gift basket from the hotel containing a bottle of wine, candy assortment, and a note. This was a nice gesture apologizing for the mistake with the first room. Throughout our stay, we found every member of the hotel staff warm and friendly.

HOTEL ROOM, AMENITIES
The room itself was large, considering it's in NYC, complete with a stocked kitchenette (fridge, stove, microwave, appliances, utensils), flat screen cable TV, king size bed, WiFi and large desk with power receptacles.

One thing my wife and I enjoyed every morning was the continental breakfast. It featured a large assortment of things we both liked: eggs, egg whites, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, pastries, bagels, toast, yogurt, bacon, ham, sausage, fruit, cheese, salsa, coffee, juice assortments, etc. Also, the hotel provides free drinks and snacks between 5-7 on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights in addition to an evening hotel social mixer that comes with a free dinner buffet one night per week.

BOTTOM LINE
The convenient location, friendly staff, available amenities, and overall value combined with a newly remodeled interior are compelling reasons to stay at Staybridge Suites in NYC.

Enjoy the big apple!

Room Tip: See TIPS in review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

great location- close to everything but just far enough away to be quiet. Can walk to times square and the subway is at the end of the street. Great restaurants a short walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were small but neat and tidy

Room Tip: rooms are small but sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Staybridge the last week of April. Check in was easy everyone was very nice. The rooms were nice and clean, the elevators are very slow. Don’t bother to eat breakfast there, it sucked. At the end of the day it was nice to sit in the bar and enjoy a nice drink before going off to bed. We enjoyed sitting and chatting with the bartender, till the last night before left, not sure if the other girl was sick (she was very nice and excellent customer service skills) and they had to pull someone from one of the adult bookstores or parole bldg. down the street. Compared to everyone else that works there this lady is out of her league. She ignored my wife when she asked for another drink, but was more than happy to talk to me and show off her silicone, she spent more time on her cell phone then she did waiting on customers, someone needs to tell her Bacardi is Rum and orange juice goes in a screwdriver not grapefruit juice. Thank you The Willis Family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear William W,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to know that you were checked in easily. I am also pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.