We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great palce to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #42 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Uruguaiana, RS
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great palce to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Staybridge Suites Times Square is a great place to stay while visiting NYC!!!
The staff is incredibly helpful. Cari, one of the concierges, is very intelligent, fast, friendly and helpful as well!!!
Breakfast is awesome!!! Better impossible!!!
The room itself is very comfortable, clean, spacious and that in room site kitchen is awesome!!!
I fully recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,981
    1,098
    191
    30
    15
See reviews for
951
1,225
136
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is really conveniently located for Broadway, Times Square and as it is in Midtown you are pretty much half-way to anywhere in Manhattan! The Port Authority Bus Station is immediately opposite as is the subway station so getting around is not a problem. 8th Avenue is filled with great restaurants and bars and has a little more local flavour than the generic tourist restaurants on Broadway and in Times Square. We had a standard king suite which had a very comfortable bed, good tv and a kitchenette in case you feel inclined to eat-in. Fresh fruit, dairy goods, bread and canned goods are available from the large drugstore at the corner of 9th and 40th and there is a butchers shop on 9th avenue around 36th street. Overall I would recommend this place although we did have a problem on our return trip to the airport. We were in NY for a bike race and so had my bike with me which travels in a large case. We explained this to the concierge and asked for an early morning transfer to JFK by SUV but the next morning at 4.30am we were trying to shove my precious bike into a standard town car or else miss our flight!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay when I'm in Manhattan. Love the room amenities and the great breakfast each morning. The staff is always extremely friendly and welcoming, a breath of fresh air in New York!

Great location, right across from Port Authority and a short walk to restaurants and theater. All around, a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here in April for 4 nights. The rooms were well equipped and beds very comfortable.Being 4 adults I shared with my daughter and my husband shared with my son and we requested king sized beds which had plenty of room! King size is the biggest in the USA. Breakfast being included was a bonus as we didn't waste any time going out for breakfast and we only had to wait for a seat one morning but you can take it back to your room if you want. Also the day we arrived there was a complementary reception (as there is Tues Weds and Thursdays) with food and drink which was very welcome as we were tired and didn't want alot. The staff were helpful and yes you did have to wait a while for the lifts sometimes but that is to be expected at busy times. Don't be put off that it is down a side street opposite the bus station it's only 5 minutes from Times Square and easy to find. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We were on 14th floor and could only see other buildings. I understand that 20 and above have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I booked this on a quick business trip to NY - not really chosen by location, more by price and reviews. It certainly lived up to good reviews - on arrival check-in was quick, despite it being evening rush. The room was quiet, very newly renovated (new paint smell still!) with new fittings and great big TV, and certainly spacious enough. No bath in the bathroom, but a nice shower, which is adequate for business travel.

My stay also included a complimentary breakfast, which was a nice spread (including egg, bacon, sausage and all the other small breakfast items). There was also a complimentary afternoon drink, which I didn't hit but sounded nice.

Location is great for tourists and business people. It's close to the 1-9 subway, as well as NRQW towards Brooklyn - you can get anywhere from here really quickly. Didn't really spend time at Times Square, but if a tourist, this hotel is really close to the excitement and lights. Plenty of dining options around too, from basic street food to high end restaurants.

Struggling to find a negative point - I guess I could mention that the hallway carpets needed a bit of a vacuum, and that it was a bit noisy, but hey, it's a high traffic place and was in good condition all things considered.

Not a lot of interaction with staff, but my limited interaction showed that they were very friendly.

All in all, I would certainly go back or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, and got one at the back of the building. Not a great view, but certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is such an excellent place to stay its unreal. From the service to the bar its wonderful how anyone could not wany to stay here for a while. Everyone's nice and cheerful they smile when they talk to you and always there to answer any and all of your questions overall I'm definitely going to come back to the Staybridge Suites, NY not only is it a perfect location friendly atmosphere it will make you feel like home when you step through the front door..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Think of this hotel and we think of lifts! 3 lifts (elevators) for 32 floors and you often wait 5-10 mins (yes really!) the staff get in and out for one floor trips and its all pretty frustrating. But the location is 2 blocks from Times Square (why we chose it), the rooms great, comfortable and everything you want including full size fridge and cooker in the kitchenette and much more good than bad about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.