We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #47 of 452 hotels in New York City
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying here. The rooms are huge by NYC standards and come with a full kitchenette. My view was outstanding and the breakfast was first class.

Even at 35,000 Priority Club points per night, it's still a bargain.

Thanks again Staybridge Suites TS!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking your time to leave a review about the Staybridge Suites Times Square.

It always means a lot to us when a guest enjoys their experience here so much that they return. We are so glad that you enjoyed your upgraded accommodations, and our complimentary breakfast buffet.

We thank you so much for using your hard earned PC points to stay with us, and eagerly anticipate your next stay with us!

Warm Regards
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,790
    975
    176
    29
    15
See reviews for
876
1088
123
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed there from 4/25-4/28 I wasn't impressed with size I understand it is NYC but really a time capsule for a shower and the breakfast was terrible really disgusting meat choices and rotten fruit. I requested a room away from the elevator and that's what I received. The gym was in the basement a little scary. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room an the friendliness of the staff, but when I complained nothing was done

Room Tip: Just research the area in the city you want to visit an definitely read all reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Mr. Bryant,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I do apologize for your stay being less than expected. We are looking into how our staff could’ve missed discarding food items that past its serving condition. Please rest assures that this will not happened again. The Staybridge takes all guest complaints very seriously hence I’ve made additional notation on your record so that we and other IHG properties colleagues will not make the same mistake. The fitness center is located in the sub-level of the hotel which is a very safe and secure area. The safety of both our guest and employees are top priority and we ensure you are never at risk while with us. We sincerely wished that we may see you again where you’ll see all the improvement we’ve made to better service our guest.

All the best Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just arrived from a 3 day stay in New York. After reading previous reviews, we decided to stay at the Staybridge Suites Times Square. We were extremely satisfied with our choice. We had a room with a kitchenette, beds were very comfortable, full breakfast and great location! Hotel staff was friendly and helpful!!This was our second trip to New York. I would stay here again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater NY Region
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I usually stay as close to my work as possible. I search for a reasonable price and often use Holiday Inn Express because it is a good, dependable choice. NYC hotels rooms are usually so small - this was a refreshing change of pace. The room was about twice the size I would expect for that price range and it was very nice too!

Staff was wonderful, from check in, to questions during my stay and help with holding my bag during my check-out day. During check-in I asked about the times for the event at the nearby Javitt's Center, she (I forgot the young ladies name) offered to look it up and call me. I was only in the room a couple moments before she called with the info I needed.

Jamie took great care of my bags when I needed a place to leave them. Bianca and Eddie were pleasant and helpful with questions.

The breakfast buffet was as good as any I have ever seen! This busy hotel is right where you want to be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: My room looked out on 40th St. Nice view uptown and across the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staybrigde Suites Times Square is an amazing hotel. I already stayed at some nice hotels at Manhattan, but this hotel is on of the tops in my opinion.
I arrived at this hotel on February 2013, at 7am after a long trip from Brasil. It was very cold outside adn I thought they would just check my bags and would ask me to return around 3pm when its their check in, but for my surprise, they had a room for me and even invited me to take a breakfast at the hall.
The room is modern, they have a full kitchen adn everything was working perfectly.
If u wanna cook or buy foods and prepare at your room, they offer u a microwave and a fridge inside the room.
The hotel is walking distance to Times Square. They are close to everything and the location is nice.
If u need any help, there is always someone there to help you with information.
The breakfast, that is included everyday, is good too. They serve it till 10am. They have good choices of juices, bread and yougurt.
Somedays at the week they offer a little snacks for free at the breakfast area. This area is always crowd but I never had any difficult on getting a place to seat.
I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to take a room facing Times Square. You can see it from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After 4 years my husband and I visited NYC for the second time in April 2013. Our travel agent in Vienna offered couple of hotels to us and we selected Staybridge Suites Times Square on the basis of the very positives reviews.

Location: excellent approximately a 10 minutes’ walk to Time Square, 2-5 minutes to the nearest subway station, 2 minutes to 9th av. with numerous restaurants, pubs, take away; across the road to the Port Authority bus terminal (this is very handy if you plan a trip to the Jersey Gardens outlet and you are returning with several shopping bags – you just cross the road and you are in your hotel);

Staff – welcoming, nice and friendly always willing to assist;

Check-in/out – was very fast and efficient; we arrived on Friday afternoon and we could chose a room on the third floor or 15th floor; based on reviews we decided to take the one on the third floor facing the Port Authority bus terminal;

Elevators – there are three elevators in the hotel and sometimes it was necessary to wait for couple of minutes; we had the advantage that we could walk to/from the third floor;

Rooms: good size, very clean, comfortable and well equipped with a fridge, large flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, desk and a very comfortable bed and pillows; the view across to the building opposite was nothing special but honestly if you come for holidays to NYC how much time would you spend in your room looking out of the window? The aircon was bitt loud but perfectly working;

WiFi- was complimentary throughout the hotel and during our 8 days stay it was very reliable; Internet is for us an essential tool - we saved money using Skype from our tablet we had brought along to ring our family in Europe;

Buffet breakfast was complimentary; food was OK – tea/coffee/orange juice, fruits, scrambled eggs, cheese, bacon, bagels, bread, cereals, yogurt etc….the restaurant is small but we never experienced problems finding a table for two whether we came at 7 or 9 am as seating is offered in different dining and lounge areas;

Laundry – the hotel offers a self-serve laundry room down in the basement floor with washers and dryers and free detergent; when I came there I was offered assistance from Marta who was very helpful and showed me what to do without any need to read the instructions;

Transport to/from airport – on arrival we took the air train to Jamaica station and then the subway (E blue line) to the 42th street and walked 3 minutes to the hotel. This took us less than an hour; on the day of our departure we used the transport offered by the hotel (USD 69 for cab);

Other- we enjoyed the happy hours on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday with free beer/wine and a selection of snacks from 5 to 7 pm;

We were very pleased with the hotel and we will definitely return here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Annes, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in June 2012. The hotel was busy but we always managed to get a table at breakfast. There are take-out cartons in which you can put some of the breakfast food. It was brilliant, can't fault it at all. The room was clean, bed extremely comfortable. Great location, very friendly staff and would definitely stay there again.

Brilliant location close to Times Square and the bus station.

Try out the Sky Bar at the Fairfield hotel next door...brilliant bar and fantastic views over Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your review. We always love it when we can impress a guest from across the pond!

We are so glad that our guest service, accommodations, amenities and location all came together for you to create a wonderful Staybridge experience. We loved having you as our guests, and would love it even more if you did stay with us the next time you come to New York. Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.