We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #47 of 452 hotels in New York City
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Repeat visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our second time staying at StayBridge Times Square and I am happy to report that nothing has changed! The hotel is exceptional - we had a studio with 2 beds which was plenty large enough for my daughter and me. The hotel was very clean, the complimentary breakfast was great and includes hot items. The staff are the extremely professional and oh so friendly - especially Brian, Jamie and Eddie. If we return to NYC again, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi Pam, thanks for your excellent review!

We are so proud that you have been here multiple times, and have received the same great customer service that we are known for both times. The entire staff thanks you for your kind words, especially Brian, Jamie and Eddie! Their personalities are so colorful and unique, and that’s why they represent the Staybridge Suites Times Square

All of our rooms are spacious, especially for New York City. The cleanliness of our hotel we owe to our wonderful housekeeping staff, and the complimentary breakfast we could not do without our amazingly efficient pantry staff. Our breakfast buffet is offered daily, Mon- Fri 6:30-10am, Sat & Sun 7-11am, and is one of t he most popular amenities that we offer at the hotel.

It delights us to hear that we would be your one and only choice of hotels in New York City. To be thought of so highly be one of our valued guests is all we can really ask for at the end of the day. Thanks again, we hope to see you soon. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,790
    976
    176
    29
    15
See reviews for
876
1088
123
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from 4 fab days (5 nights) in New York - a trip that my daughter and I had planned for months! We chose this hotel after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. Extra friendly and helpful staff, rooms were clean and had everthing that was needed - including hairdryer and fully equipped kitchen wih microwave and dishwasher. We were on 16th floor and did not have a view - but who cares - we only went to the room to sleep! We never had to wait for the lift and always managed to get a seat and hot food at breakfast! The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Unfortunately we didnt make it to the evening buffets as we had booked theatre tickets. The location of the hotel is fantastic - opposite the Port Authority making transfers from airport easy. We walked to most attractions but subway was less than 5 minutes away if you didnt want to walk. If I am lucky enough to visit New York again I would definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank for choosing the Staybridge Suites for your stay in New York! We are very glad to hear that you were happy with your choice.

We pride ourselves on having a wonderfully helpful staff, who always go out of their way to assist our guests and make them happy.

Our rooms are very spacious and clean with all the features that a guest could need during their stay, including a full kitchenette. We are glad that you didn't experience any waiting time with elevators, and also took full advantage of all the free amenities that the hotel provides like the daily breakfast buffet, the evening reception, WiFi throughout the building, and our business and fitness centers.

The hotel has a very central location with easy access to public transportation, and is within walking distance to a large amount of New York City attractions, museums and parks. We also have a concierge on property to guide you through the many choices that Manhattan has to offer.

We are truly grateful that you enjoyed your stay enough to take time out to review our hotel, and we would be more than thrilled to have you as our guest one more time. Happy holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything in this hotel was great. The room was clean. The service was excellent. All the members of the staff were friendly and very helpful. We especially appreciated, Jamie, Sunny and Ray at the concierge desk. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square.

At our hotel, customer service is of the utmost importance and we do our best to ensure that all of our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. After all, we are your home away from home. Our housekeeping, engineering and front desk department work diligently together to guarantee cleanliness and exceptional service for all of our guests.

We thank you for recognizing our bellmen, Jamie, Sunny and Ray in your review. The service that they provide our guests is unparalleled and they all truly appreciate your kind sentiments.

We thank you again for writing such a nice review, and welcome you back anytime. Happy Holidays from all of us here at the Staybridge Bridge Suites Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Staybridge Suites. Without exception all of the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and very hard working and did everything to make our stay a great experience.

Prior to our visit we were a little concerned about the negative comments regarding lifts and breakfasts but neither adversely impacted our stay, whatsoever.

The Social Gatherings provided an wonderful opportunity to meet fellow guests.

In conclusion a great hotel in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we truly appreciate it!

Our #1 goal at the Staybridge Suites is to make sure our guests receive 100% customer service satisfaction, so we are thrilled to hear you were not disappointed!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities that we have to offer our guests complimentary. The two most popular amenities that we have are our all American breakfast buffet served daily Mon-Fri 6:30-10am and Sat-Sun 7-11am, and our social receptions Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm, including a changing menu of finger foods, wine, beer and sodas. These two features offer a special opportunity for our guests to not only socialize with other travelers, but also enjoy a free meal, relax and escape the hustle and bustle of Manhattan.
It is truly our pleasure to have made your stay more enjoyable and we appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our staff members. Our team is always more than willing to help out our guest anytime, that’s what we're here for!

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was perfect for everything we wanted to see and do in NYC.
Within walking distance to a lot of main attractions/sights, what you can't walk to there are various subway lines close by.
Breakfast was amazing, happy hour was amazing.
Did not feel unsafe on the street as previous people have said. It really is no more unsafe than any other area of New York, really didnt see what the fuss was about.
Will be recommending this hotel to all my familly and friends!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Times Square for your New York City visit. We are so very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your trip!

We are happy you took full advantage of the amenities of the hotel and what our location has to offer. We are only steps away from the center of Times Square and all the major subway stations, granting you easy access to all the attractions NYC has to offer. We have also joined forces with the other hotels in the area to help in the beautification of the neighborhood. This in recent years has dramatically improved the immediate area. Just like you said, there is no need to feel threatened in any way, especially with so many 24 hour establishments nearby.

I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our breakfast and social receptions. These are two of our most raved about amenities we offer on the house! The social receptions are held (Tue -Thurs 5pm-7pm) including beer, wine, salads and a changing menu of finger foods. Our all American breakfast buffet also offers a wide range of hot and cold items to chose which is served daily (M-F 6:30-10 Sat &Sun 7-11).

Thank you again for all your comments and recommending our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge Suites next time you visit the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pros:

1) Awesome location
2) Good rooms
3) Nice amenities
4) Good breakfast
5) Great housekeeping
6) Nice bed
7) Great staff overall
8) Well designed rooms and nice kitchen
9) Excellent internet speeds
10) Free self laundry service
11) Decent fitness club

Cons:

1) Because the hotel is always full, you have to wait for the elevators during peak hours

This is a very good hotel to stay whether you're visiting for business or personal. The location of the hotel is very good. You have delis, super stores, fashion stores and times square around the corner. The Port Authority bus terminal is literally 30 secs away and nearest sub station is 60 secs away!

Room Tip: Take a room away from the elevators, they create huge sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review!

At the Staybridge Suites Times Square we offer the whole package; an array of complimentary amenities, services, a wonderful location and the modern comforts and conveniences you would expect to receive at home, all at an amazing value!

Our rooms were made with the mindset of comfort and convenience to make all of our guests feel at home. We are thrilled to hear you found the room to be clean and comfortable as well. Our housekeeping staff is dedicated to making sure our guest’s rooms are spotless and clean, so we are extremely happy you noticed! The kitchenettes in the rooms provide for that extra functionality and convenience unlike most hotels would offer; the ability to store additional items (drinks, food, etc), prepare a home cooked meal or even heat up your morning coffee without even leaving your room.

The breakfast buffet is amongst a favorite of our guests and is served every morning (M-F 6:30-10, S & S 7-11) for our guests to enjoy! As you mentioned the location is quite convenient because it provides for easy access to all of New York City’s famous attractions, entertainment and within walking distance to Times Square and Hell’s Kitchen.

Our staff is very happy to hear that they offered friendly and helpful customer service, that’s what we are here for! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next Again, thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, we surely cannot wait to welcome you back and next time you decide to visit; don't hesitate to contact us, so we can make your stay even more enjoyable than the last!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Staybridge Suites. I was a little worried about the hotel from some of the earlier reviews but we had a great holiday. Hotel's location is superb. Hotel facilities great - all that you would normally expect. Breakfasts were great, sometimes it was a little crowded at breakfast but there was never an occasion when we could not find a table. The staff were very pleasant, polite & friendly & overall we were more than happy with the hotel and all it had to offer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your fantastic review!

You've explained our hotel in great detail, and we appreciate that, because we know other Tripadvisor members read our reviews very carefully.

Our location is truly perfect for the average NYC tourist or visiting family because the Staybridge Suites Times Square is so close to so many of the attractions there are to see here.

Our rooms are really spacious, especially for one located in Manhattan. Our beds are notoriously comfortable, and we have full kitchenettes inside of every room. If you check in and see something missing, or get to your room and realize you would like a bathtub instead of a shower, please do not hesitate to contact the FD, because we are here to make your stay more comfortable.

We really do appreciate the time you took out to write this. Our staff puts in a lot of effort to make the Staybridge Suites Times Square run and look the way it does and it’s always great when a guest of ours acknowledges that.

Happy holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#41 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.