We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #48 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Claremore, Oklahoma
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything in this hotel was great. The room was clean. The service was excellent. All the members of the staff were friendly and very helpful. We especially appreciated, Jamie, Sunny and Ray at the concierge desk. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square.

At our hotel, customer service is of the utmost importance and we do our best to ensure that all of our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. After all, we are your home away from home. Our housekeeping, engineering and front desk department work diligently together to guarantee cleanliness and exceptional service for all of our guests.

We thank you for recognizing our bellmen, Jamie, Sunny and Ray in your review. The service that they provide our guests is unparalleled and they all truly appreciate your kind sentiments.

We thank you again for writing such a nice review, and welcome you back anytime. Happy Holidays from all of us here at the Staybridge Bridge Suites Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    1,008
    181
    29
    15
See reviews for
894
1,118
127
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Staybridge Suites. Without exception all of the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and very hard working and did everything to make our stay a great experience.

Prior to our visit we were a little concerned about the negative comments regarding lifts and breakfasts but neither adversely impacted our stay, whatsoever.

The Social Gatherings provided an wonderful opportunity to meet fellow guests.

In conclusion a great hotel in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we truly appreciate it!

Our #1 goal at the Staybridge Suites is to make sure our guests receive 100% customer service satisfaction, so we are thrilled to hear you were not disappointed!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities that we have to offer our guests complimentary. The two most popular amenities that we have are our all American breakfast buffet served daily Mon-Fri 6:30-10am and Sat-Sun 7-11am, and our social receptions Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm, including a changing menu of finger foods, wine, beer and sodas. These two features offer a special opportunity for our guests to not only socialize with other travelers, but also enjoy a free meal, relax and escape the hustle and bustle of Manhattan.
It is truly our pleasure to have made your stay more enjoyable and we appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our staff members. Our team is always more than willing to help out our guest anytime, that’s what we're here for!

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was perfect for everything we wanted to see and do in NYC.
Within walking distance to a lot of main attractions/sights, what you can't walk to there are various subway lines close by.
Breakfast was amazing, happy hour was amazing.
Did not feel unsafe on the street as previous people have said. It really is no more unsafe than any other area of New York, really didnt see what the fuss was about.
Will be recommending this hotel to all my familly and friends!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Times Square for your New York City visit. We are so very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your trip!

We are happy you took full advantage of the amenities of the hotel and what our location has to offer. We are only steps away from the center of Times Square and all the major subway stations, granting you easy access to all the attractions NYC has to offer. We have also joined forces with the other hotels in the area to help in the beautification of the neighborhood. This in recent years has dramatically improved the immediate area. Just like you said, there is no need to feel threatened in any way, especially with so many 24 hour establishments nearby.

I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our breakfast and social receptions. These are two of our most raved about amenities we offer on the house! The social receptions are held (Tue -Thurs 5pm-7pm) including beer, wine, salads and a changing menu of finger foods. Our all American breakfast buffet also offers a wide range of hot and cold items to chose which is served daily (M-F 6:30-10 Sat &Sun 7-11).

Thank you again for all your comments and recommending our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge Suites next time you visit the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pros:

1) Awesome location
2) Good rooms
3) Nice amenities
4) Good breakfast
5) Great housekeeping
6) Nice bed
7) Great staff overall
8) Well designed rooms and nice kitchen
9) Excellent internet speeds
10) Free self laundry service
11) Decent fitness club

Cons:

1) Because the hotel is always full, you have to wait for the elevators during peak hours

This is a very good hotel to stay whether you're visiting for business or personal. The location of the hotel is very good. You have delis, super stores, fashion stores and times square around the corner. The Port Authority bus terminal is literally 30 secs away and nearest sub station is 60 secs away!

Room Tip: Take a room away from the elevators, they create huge sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review!

At the Staybridge Suites Times Square we offer the whole package; an array of complimentary amenities, services, a wonderful location and the modern comforts and conveniences you would expect to receive at home, all at an amazing value!

Our rooms were made with the mindset of comfort and convenience to make all of our guests feel at home. We are thrilled to hear you found the room to be clean and comfortable as well. Our housekeeping staff is dedicated to making sure our guest’s rooms are spotless and clean, so we are extremely happy you noticed! The kitchenettes in the rooms provide for that extra functionality and convenience unlike most hotels would offer; the ability to store additional items (drinks, food, etc), prepare a home cooked meal or even heat up your morning coffee without even leaving your room.

The breakfast buffet is amongst a favorite of our guests and is served every morning (M-F 6:30-10, S & S 7-11) for our guests to enjoy! As you mentioned the location is quite convenient because it provides for easy access to all of New York City’s famous attractions, entertainment and within walking distance to Times Square and Hell’s Kitchen.

Our staff is very happy to hear that they offered friendly and helpful customer service, that’s what we are here for! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next Again, thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, we surely cannot wait to welcome you back and next time you decide to visit; don't hesitate to contact us, so we can make your stay even more enjoyable than the last!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Staybridge Suites. I was a little worried about the hotel from some of the earlier reviews but we had a great holiday. Hotel's location is superb. Hotel facilities great - all that you would normally expect. Breakfasts were great, sometimes it was a little crowded at breakfast but there was never an occasion when we could not find a table. The staff were very pleasant, polite & friendly & overall we were more than happy with the hotel and all it had to offer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your fantastic review!

You've explained our hotel in great detail, and we appreciate that, because we know other Tripadvisor members read our reviews very carefully.

Our location is truly perfect for the average NYC tourist or visiting family because the Staybridge Suites Times Square is so close to so many of the attractions there are to see here.

Our rooms are really spacious, especially for one located in Manhattan. Our beds are notoriously comfortable, and we have full kitchenettes inside of every room. If you check in and see something missing, or get to your room and realize you would like a bathtub instead of a shower, please do not hesitate to contact the FD, because we are here to make your stay more comfortable.

We really do appreciate the time you took out to write this. Our staff puts in a lot of effort to make the Staybridge Suites Times Square run and look the way it does and it’s always great when a guest of ours acknowledges that.

Happy holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the best quality beds ever! The bed was so comfortable!
The rooms were not luxurious though pleasantly decorated and clean.
The road it was on was a little seedy/disappointing but once you get over that- the positive was that it was close to ports authority and therefore trains and buses. It was close to the 9th avenue restaurants and close (though a little removed from time square)
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the cost was reasonable. The free grab and go breakfast was a plus and ideal when on a short break and conscious of costs. Also on some evenings there was a free meal - which came in very handy.
There was a reasonably stocked kitchen area - but anything cooked meant that your clothes would smell - therefore forget it!!!!
The other 2 downsides are a very slow lift service (only 3 lifts for several floors - which takes ages a busy times) and a very noisy airconditioning system (which keeps you awake),
The is not enough space for more than 2 people so would not be ideal for a family holiday

Room Tip: if you are on a lower floor the lifts are more tolerable I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Staybridge Suites Times Square!

Located in the center of New York City, Midtown is the perfect starting point for all of your day’s adventures. We are directly across the street from the Port Authority Bus Terminal, minutes away from Times Square, the Theatre and Garment District and just a short walk away from Hell’s Kitchen’s best restaurants.

We at Staybridge Suites do our best so that our guests enjoy their stay and most importantly feel comfortable in their home away from home. For that reason all departments, especially housekeeping, work hard to assure that the rooms are immaculate. We are sorry for the wait for the elevator, but we do advise our guests to try to avoid going up and downstairs during the peak breakfast hours. We also wish that you would have contacted us regarding your air conditioning unit; we have engineering on staff that would have loved to address that problem for you and make your stay just that much more comfortable.

Our rooms are studio suites that are equipped with a full kitchenette. Our queen and king suites can accommodate 2 people each and our 2 bed double studio suite can accommodate a family of 4. At the hotel a complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet is included in all reservations. On Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays guests can join us for our weekly socials, 5pm-7pm, where we serve complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres.

Thank you so much for your review,Happy Holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We love staying at Staybridge Suites and the Times Square location did not disappoint. The front desk staff Megan and Ray the bellman and the two ladies who were working at the Info. desk were all very friendly and most helpful. The breakfast fare had lots of variety and very plentiful. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. They can accommodate early arrivals by storing your luggage in a very secure location and as we are Priority Club members we were able to get a late check-out until 2:00 pm. This hotel is in close location to Times Square and Macey's. You need comforable walking shoes when in New York as that is part of the fun of walking around and seeing all that New York has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review of the Staybridge Suites Times Square in New York City. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we lived up the expectations of the other Staybridge Suites you've already been to.

Here at the Staybridge Suites, check-in is guaranteed for 4:00 pm and we do our very best to accommodate any of our early arrivals either by storing their luggage or checking them in as long as we have the availability. We ask our guests to leave their contact information so that our front desk agents may contact them as soon as their room is available for check in.

All of our rooms are studio suites that come fully equipped with a kitchenette and the necessary tools for cooking. A complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet is offered for our guests every morning; Weekdays 6:30-10 am and the Weekends 7am-11 am.

We would also like thank you for acknowledging our front desk agent Megan and our bellman, Ray. Here at Staybridge Suites recognition of our employees does not go unnoticed, as we like to commend our employees and show appreciation for their hard work.

We thank you for your membership of our Priority Rewards Program and your continued loyalty to our hotels. We here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square welcome you back anytime.

Happy holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.