We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 449 hotels in New York City
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here on the 12th November for 4 nights. Having previously stayed at the Hampton on 8th Ave I thought I would try something closer to Times Square. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and gave it a go. I was pleasantly surprised with the good room size, clean rooms, complimentary breakfast and friendly staff. Only downside was the typical high cost of NY accommodation but it is New York after all and that is why we keep coming back. The location was great as i was only a few blocks from Times Square and across the road from the Port Authority bus station. You can catch the NYC Airporter shuttle from the airport ($16.50) to the bus station and walk across the road to the hotel. We also caught a Transit Authority bus to Jersey Gardens Outlet shopping for $6.50 one way. Great day of Outlet shopping. There is a subway station on the same street which we used to go to Wall Street. Would certainly consider staying here again if I came back to NY.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Mitchell, thank you so much for your review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your accommodations here. Our rooms really are spacious, and every single room has a full kitchenette inside featuring a stove-top, microwave, fridge and dishwasher. Our hot and cold breakfast buffet that is offered Mon-Fri (6:30am-10am), Sat & Sun (7am-11am) is a huge hit with our guests as well, so we are happy that you got to join us! Our location is superb if you plan on being a NYC tourist, because we are only 2 blocks from Times Square, and half a block away from the largest subway transportation hub in Manhattan

We are very proud to be considered one of the better overall value hotels in NYC and we are very fairly priced as compared to our competitors, and we hope you agree with this sentiment.

Once again, our staff thanks you very much for taking the time out to write this great review, and we all hope you do choose to come back to New York and stay with us!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,843
    1,000
    174
    29
    14
See reviews for
839
1057
119
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a nice hotel - the rooms are well laid out and having the kitchen area was a useful feature. We had requested a quiet room which we were given - we couldn't hear the elevator but could easily hear our neighbors at all hours of the night. The area did feel safe in spite of the peep shows close by. The breakfast buffet was not as good as other Staybridge Suites i have stayed in. We ended up staying the following two nights at the Crowne Plaza in Times Square where we had a cheaper rate, better room, location and breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello and thanks for your review, we sincerely appreciate your feedback!

We are glad that we could accommodate your room request, as your comfort during your time here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square is our top priority. As per the issue you experienced with noise coming from your neighbor’s room, we do apologize. We do recommend though to all of our guests, that if they are experiencing any problems, at any time during their stay, to contact the front desk as soon as possible so we may troubleshoot them.

We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast, but the majority of our guests love the hot and cold buffet that we offer daily! Our location is also very safe and only a two block walk from Times Square. We truly believe that we offer one of the best overall values and experiences that a New York hotel can provide, and it shows from the majority of our Tripadvisor reviews!

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you enjoyed our hotel enough to stay with us again. If you did, it would be a pleasure to have you again. Happy holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

To Whom this may concerne,
I came to the Staybridge Suites in Manhattan under reservations from my company who arranged the whole thing. So needless to say when these things are set up through the company you never know what your going to get as I will give an example at the end of this review.
I checked in and everyone was so nice. We were doing construction work in Rockaway dealing with all the hurricane damage. We were there for more than 2 weeks and my stay at the Staybridge was about 12 days. Being a construction worker in what I would consider an upper teared hotel, you can get the looks sometimes, even from the staff. I never felt that from any of your staff or guests for that matter. Now towards the end of our stay we were all tranfered to the Holiday Inn Express in Time Square somewhere for the last couple days we were to be in NYC. At first I thought Holiday Inn couldnt be that bad. But when i got over there I felt like a #. The hotel wasn't clean like the Staybridge and customer service was hardly that of the Staybridge. The Staybridge set the bar and I have a feeling that wherever I would've gone I would've been disappointed. So my gratitude to the management and staff for making my stay a pleasant one. I will recommend The Staybridge in Manhattan and when i return someday on vacation I will be residing at the Staybridge. Be sure to tell Hakima at Bar40 and Nick at the front desk thank you so much. Those 2 especially made my stay more pleasant. You Guys Rock!!
Respectfully,
Pat Hudson
Denver, CO

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Pat, we here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square consider ourselves lucky to have guests like you stay with us. The fact that you don’t normally write reviews makes us appreciate the time you took to write this.

We know that a lot of workers and victims were put up at hotels in the city during and after Hurricane Sandy, and a lot of the Staybridge employees were dealing with the storm after effects personally as well. Our job is to make ALL of our guests comfortable and feel at home. Its part of our motto and what we live by here because we treat people the way we would want to be treated ourselves.

We are so proud of our staff here, from housekeeping to engineering to the front desk, everyone puts their hearts into this job and when it’s recognized by a guest, it all becomes worthwhile. Hakima and Nick have already been shown this review and they thank you for being such a great guest of ours. (They think you rock too!)

If you ever come back to NY on your own, we would absolutely love to have you back here, staying with us.

Thanks again!
~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Staybridge for 4 nights from 13th November. I've visited NYC before and am aware of the premium you have to pay for all hotels, regardless of the quality, however Staybridge was mightily impressive; spacious, well equipped and clean rooms, free wifi throughout the whole building, a decent complimentary breakfast and my 'piece de resistance', happy hour between 5-9 with bud light and Stella on free self serve draft!!

From a location point, by taking a right out of the door followed by right or left, you are upon Times Square & Empire State / Macy's within minutes or a left then right along 9th avenue gives you an excellent choice of restaurants in the 'Hells Kitchen' district.

I'd like to make one last mention to Damian our taxi driver who took us back to the airport on Sunday; a ride in comfort, with your own mini NYC tour and great conversation, I highly recommend him!!

Thanks to you all for a memorable stay in the Big Apple!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idriss K, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your great experience with other prospective travelers! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our spacious and modern designed rooms.

Our hotel offers a very competitive value with a lot of add ons including a variety of complimentary amenities such as breakfast, social receptions with free drinks, hors d’oeuvres and sodas, a business and fitness center. Our centralized location gives the guests an easy access to all public transportation and within a walking distance to Hell’s kitchen, Times Square & most New York City attractions.

We are glad to deal with a car service company that takes care of their customers as serious as we do!

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the city for your next trip!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwoman11
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I chose this property because of pleasant past stays, location, and good value (points plus cash). It is located on 40th between 8th and 9th.

Check In: I came in around 5pm and checked in within minutes.

Room: I was given a queen room on the north side of the building and on the 29th floor.

The bed was very comfortable with soft linens and numerous pillows. The room was also appointed with a desk and a flat screen tv with a wide assortment of channels.

The kitchenette includes a small stove top, refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, and microwave, as well as dishes and cookware.

The bathroom was not too tiny with a walk in shower. There were plenty of towels (including washcloths$, a great hair dryer, and toiletry items included body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and bar soap.

Priority Club elite recognition: They recognised my status at check in and gave me a welcome bag with a note and package of pretzels.

Amenities:

A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. I did not take advantage of it on this visit.

The property has a fitness centre and business centre on site.

Wifi is complimentary and works pretty well.

Room Tip: High floors on the south side of the building can provide a view of the Empire State Building. On t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. It delights us to read that you have chosen to return to the Staybridge Suites Times Square. Our hotel thrives based on the customer service we provide our guests, and only wish to make our property “your home away from home”.

We are located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, which is the perfect starting point for all of your day’s adventures.

All of our studio suites are equipped with a full kitchenette that includes a dishwasher, stove top, fridge and microwave. Our laundry, fitness and business centers are open 24/7 for the convenience of our guests and our Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the building.

A hot and cold breakfast is served every morning, which is included in all reservations. We welcome our guests not only to join us for breakfast, but also to our weekly social hours. Every Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday we host a social, where we serve complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres. It is a great event here at the hotel that offers a unique opportunity to our guests to mingle and interact with each other.

As a member of our Priority Rewards Program, recognition is something we hold true here at the hotel. It is important to us that our guests feel acknowledged, welcomed and comfortable. Enrolling in our Priority Rewards Program is free, and points are accumulated based on the amount of nights stayed here at the hotel.

We thank you very much for using your hard earned reward points here with us as well as taking time out to write such a great review. We welcome you back here any time. Happy Holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed there 4 nights in November. The hotel is quiet, well run, rooms modern and clean, with a handy kitchenette complete with dishes, dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, etc. Breakfast had many choices and while the dining room was small as some have noted, staff quickly cleaned spaces when available and food was plentiful. I never saw them run out of anything or people not being able to find seats.

The concierge had good recommendations for dining, both pre-theater and in a local cafe. I noticed some people commented on the area. No bother for me as a single woman of 65. I've been to much worse areas in my midwestern home town with no problems.

Great location close to Times Square! It really feels like a home away from home.

Kudos to staff for making this a VERY pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Someone had recommended an upper level room, which I got, and it was very quiet. (But the lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi and thank you so much for your review. The name of your review is the end result that we look for from each of our guests stays. Our motto is “Get Comfortable.” We are so glad that you were able to.

The Staybridge experience was designed to accommodate extended stay travelers and is always family friendly. We have rooms equipped with full kitchenettes, including microwaves, stove-tops, and fridges, and our beds have a notorious reputation of being comfortable according to our guests. Our complimentary breakfast buffet which runs 7 days a week may get crowded at times, but our kitchen staff is very efficient at making room for all of our guests.

We’re glad that you got to interact with our concierges. They are a wealth of knowledge and they give out some wonderful advice and recommendations. This is a free service that we highly recommend our guests use to navigate through New York City.

Thank you for commenting on our location. We are located in the heart of midtown Manhattan, and with the amount of people that walk through this area a day there is literally no reason to worry when walking about. The location of this hotel in NYC is nothing but positive, considering we are just blocks from Times Square and one block from the biggest subway hub in Manhattan.

The Staybridge Suites Times Square staff thanks you very much for your kind review. We would love for you to make our hotel your home away from home again!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there last week for 4 nights, room clean staff friendly and helpful but not over the top. Nothing to much trouble. Food lovely and plenty of it. Really is home from home. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay!

Here at Staybridge Suites we always do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is great to know you found our staff to be friendly and helpful because that’s what we’re here for!

The Staybridge Suites experience is intended to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed, so we are glad you felt at home. Our housekeeping staff works diligently to make our rooms spotless, so our guests can feel at home after a long day of sightseeing. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our breakfast and social receptions. These are two of our most raved about amenities we offer on the house! The social receptions are held (Tue -Thurs 5pm-7pm) including beer, wine, salads and a changing menu of finger foods. Our all American breakfast buffet also offers a wide range of hot and cold items to chose which is served daily (M-F 6:30-10 Sat &Sun 7-11).

Thank you again for all your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge Suites next time you visit the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.