We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, good location...always glad to use this property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #48 of 453 Hotels in New York City
rwoman11
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great rooms, good location...always glad to use this property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I chose this property because of pleasant past stays, location, and good value (points plus cash). It is located on 40th between 8th and 9th.

Check In: I came in around 5pm and checked in within minutes.

Room: I was given a queen room on the north side of the building and on the 29th floor.

The bed was very comfortable with soft linens and numerous pillows. The room was also appointed with a desk and a flat screen tv with a wide assortment of channels.

The kitchenette includes a small stove top, refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, and microwave, as well as dishes and cookware.

The bathroom was not too tiny with a walk in shower. There were plenty of towels (including washcloths$, a great hair dryer, and toiletry items included body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and bar soap.

Priority Club elite recognition: They recognised my status at check in and gave me a welcome bag with a note and package of pretzels.

Amenities:

A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. I did not take advantage of it on this visit.

The property has a fitness centre and business centre on site.

Wifi is complimentary and works pretty well.

Room Tip: High floors on the south side of the building can provide a view of the Empire State Building. On t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. It delights us to read that you have chosen to return to the Staybridge Suites Times Square. Our hotel thrives based on the customer service we provide our guests, and only wish to make our property “your home away from home”.

We are located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, which is the perfect starting point for all of your day’s adventures.

All of our studio suites are equipped with a full kitchenette that includes a dishwasher, stove top, fridge and microwave. Our laundry, fitness and business centers are open 24/7 for the convenience of our guests and our Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the building.

A hot and cold breakfast is served every morning, which is included in all reservations. We welcome our guests not only to join us for breakfast, but also to our weekly social hours. Every Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday we host a social, where we serve complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres. It is a great event here at the hotel that offers a unique opportunity to our guests to mingle and interact with each other.

As a member of our Priority Rewards Program, recognition is something we hold true here at the hotel. It is important to us that our guests feel acknowledged, welcomed and comfortable. Enrolling in our Priority Rewards Program is free, and points are accumulated based on the amount of nights stayed here at the hotel.

We thank you very much for using your hard earned reward points here with us as well as taking time out to write such a great review. We welcome you back here any time. Happy Holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    1,008
    181
    29
    15
See reviews for
894
1,118
127
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed there 4 nights in November. The hotel is quiet, well run, rooms modern and clean, with a handy kitchenette complete with dishes, dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, etc. Breakfast had many choices and while the dining room was small as some have noted, staff quickly cleaned spaces when available and food was plentiful. I never saw them run out of anything or people not being able to find seats.

The concierge had good recommendations for dining, both pre-theater and in a local cafe. I noticed some people commented on the area. No bother for me as a single woman of 65. I've been to much worse areas in my midwestern home town with no problems.

Great location close to Times Square! It really feels like a home away from home.

Kudos to staff for making this a VERY pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Someone had recommended an upper level room, which I got, and it was very quiet. (But the lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi and thank you so much for your review. The name of your review is the end result that we look for from each of our guests stays. Our motto is “Get Comfortable.” We are so glad that you were able to.

The Staybridge experience was designed to accommodate extended stay travelers and is always family friendly. We have rooms equipped with full kitchenettes, including microwaves, stove-tops, and fridges, and our beds have a notorious reputation of being comfortable according to our guests. Our complimentary breakfast buffet which runs 7 days a week may get crowded at times, but our kitchen staff is very efficient at making room for all of our guests.

We’re glad that you got to interact with our concierges. They are a wealth of knowledge and they give out some wonderful advice and recommendations. This is a free service that we highly recommend our guests use to navigate through New York City.

Thank you for commenting on our location. We are located in the heart of midtown Manhattan, and with the amount of people that walk through this area a day there is literally no reason to worry when walking about. The location of this hotel in NYC is nothing but positive, considering we are just blocks from Times Square and one block from the biggest subway hub in Manhattan.

The Staybridge Suites Times Square staff thanks you very much for your kind review. We would love for you to make our hotel your home away from home again!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there last week for 4 nights, room clean staff friendly and helpful but not over the top. Nothing to much trouble. Food lovely and plenty of it. Really is home from home. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay!

Here at Staybridge Suites we always do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is great to know you found our staff to be friendly and helpful because that’s what we’re here for!

The Staybridge Suites experience is intended to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed, so we are glad you felt at home. Our housekeeping staff works diligently to make our rooms spotless, so our guests can feel at home after a long day of sightseeing. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our breakfast and social receptions. These are two of our most raved about amenities we offer on the house! The social receptions are held (Tue -Thurs 5pm-7pm) including beer, wine, salads and a changing menu of finger foods. Our all American breakfast buffet also offers a wide range of hot and cold items to chose which is served daily (M-F 6:30-10 Sat &Sun 7-11).

Thank you again for all your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge Suites next time you visit the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clean, in a great location (not right on top of Times Square), fab free breakfast and the rooms are a good size with a fully fitted kitchen. Would definitely stay here again if in New York.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review, we certainly appreciate it!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location and what our hotel has to offer. The all American breakfast buffet is served daily from 6:30-10 M-F and 7-11 on weekends which is definitely a favorite among our guests. We are only steps away from the center of Times Square and all the major subway stations, granting you access to all the attractions NYC has to offer; as well just far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but just a minutes’ walk to be back in all the action!

We can’t wait to welcome you back next time!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed last week for five days and had the time of our lives. The room size, for New York is massive and comes with a kitchen and great service. The breakfast was very good and plenty of options. The bus station is directly facing the front doors and Times Square one block. This is great value, great service with excellent views, don't pass it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi and thanks so much for your review! We here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square are SO proud that we could provide such an amazing time for our guests.

Our room size really does differentiate ourselves from other local hotels, and every single one of our rooms has a full kitchenette, so the guest doesn't have to go out to eat every night. Our complimentary breakfast buffet is served on M-F 6:30-10am and Sat/Sun 7-11am, which is a big hit amongst our guests, so we are glad you got to take part in that too.

The fact that our location is so centralized in midtown Manhattan really makes the Staybridge an optimal place to stay when you are exploring New York City, being just blocks away from Times Square and the subway at the end of our street!

We thank you again so much for your review. As you mentioned, the services we offer along with the value of the experience we provide our guests are second to none here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square!

Warm regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to break our journey from Los Angeles to London and cut down on the jet lag. New York is a crazy place but the Staybridge was an oasis where we could re-charge after our day sightseeing. The reception from all of the staff was excellent and they helped with our sightseeing itinerary, pointing out that some places were closed due to the after effects of Hurricane Sandy.

Our suite was very comfortable, clean and up to date. There was a 'happy hour' where the guests could mingle and talk to each other and snacks and wine were free!

We do need to go back to NY and the Staybridge will be at the top of our list.

Well done to everyone there; it really made a perfect end to our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and 40th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Considering this review is coming from someone that names themselves grumpy, you can imagine that we here at the Staybridge Suites are more than enthusiastic to receive a review like this from you!

We thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your break between journeys. The fact that our hotel became a literal oasis for you as part of your NYC experience is a great compliment. Our ultimate goal is to make our guests feel like they are at home. Our reception staff is truly unique and amazing, and our concierges are full of helpful knowledge to get you around New York City in any situation.

We are happy that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and clean as our housekeeping staff takes great pride in what they do. We are also very glad that you enjoyed our Social, which offers complimentary wine, beer and appetizers on Tuesday Wednesday and Thursday nights from 5pm-7pm. It is one of the main attractions here at the Staybridge Suites.

On a closing note, we really appreciate that you took time out to review our hotel, and say such kind things about us. We do read every review we get and yours stands out as truly genuine and heartfelt. We feel lucky to have made your holidays special and can’t wait until you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent - when you emerge from the Lincoln Tunnel, to the left, you take the first right turn to 40w st., and the hotel is right near there. It's within a short walking distance (4-5 blocks) to Times Square or to Bryant park and the library. Since it's between 8th and 9th avenues, in the late evening it may be a little bit less pleasant to walk there, but it's alright - nothing happened.
Parking is in a garage right beside the hotel (by car it's located before the hotel) - 28$ per day.
The breakfast is great - omlette, sausages, cottage cheese, fruits and more. Unfortunately there are not enough places to sit at breakfast when it's crowded, but they try to solve the problem allowing to sit in several areas.
The elevators are quick, but during checkout and breakfast times you wait quite a lot, as many people use them.
The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable - 2 big beds, a kitchenette, an AC (although it may make you cold as it's directed to the beds), many electrical sockets, spacious for 2 people (the first time we were there, we stayed 4 people in a room, and it was too crowded. This time we took 2 rooms, and it's good for 2 people in each room). The view from the room (17th floor) is nice.
Free wi-fi.
All in all - very good hotel. It was our second stay there, and we will probably return if we visit that area in NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed at rooms 1703 and 1704
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your very detailed review of the Staybridge Suites Times Square.

We are glad that you realized just how good the location of our hotel is in. For our guests who drive into the city we are just a few blocks away from the Lincoln Tunnel. For our guests that come in via public transportation, we are just one block away from the major subway hub located in Times Square. Tourism wise as well, the heart of Times Square really is only minutes away, and the other major NYC tourist attractions are only a short taxi, subway ride or walk away as well!

Thank you for visiting our complimentary breakfast. As you could tell, this is by far the most popular amenity that we offer our guests, and we do our very best to alleviate the crowding issue by opening multiple areas up to eat in. We appreciate your patience with the elevators in the morning as well, as we generally have a good amount of guests checking out at the same time on most days.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms as well. Our kitchenette studios are very contemporary and all the appliances and adapters in the rooms are new and up to date. We have a full fridge, stove top and microwave available to our guests in every room.

We thank you again for your review, and are looking forward with anticipation to your third stay with us here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.