We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New York venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 451 hotels in New York City
Belfast
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great New York venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed last week for five days and had the time of our lives. The room size, for New York is massive and comes with a kitchen and great service. The breakfast was very good and plenty of options. The bus station is directly facing the front doors and Times Square one block. This is great value, great service with excellent views, don't pass it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi and thanks so much for your review! We here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square are SO proud that we could provide such an amazing time for our guests.

Our room size really does differentiate ourselves from other local hotels, and every single one of our rooms has a full kitchenette, so the guest doesn't have to go out to eat every night. Our complimentary breakfast buffet is served on M-F 6:30-10am and Sat/Sun 7-11am, which is a big hit amongst our guests, so we are glad you got to take part in that too.

The fact that our location is so centralized in midtown Manhattan really makes the Staybridge an optimal place to stay when you are exploring New York City, being just blocks away from Times Square and the subway at the end of our street!

We thank you again so much for your review. As you mentioned, the services we offer along with the value of the experience we provide our guests are second to none here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square!

Warm regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,007
    175
    29
    14
See reviews for
846
1064
119
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to break our journey from Los Angeles to London and cut down on the jet lag. New York is a crazy place but the Staybridge was an oasis where we could re-charge after our day sightseeing. The reception from all of the staff was excellent and they helped with our sightseeing itinerary, pointing out that some places were closed due to the after effects of Hurricane Sandy.

Our suite was very comfortable, clean and up to date. There was a 'happy hour' where the guests could mingle and talk to each other and snacks and wine were free!

We do need to go back to NY and the Staybridge will be at the top of our list.

Well done to everyone there; it really made a perfect end to our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and 40th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Considering this review is coming from someone that names themselves grumpy, you can imagine that we here at the Staybridge Suites are more than enthusiastic to receive a review like this from you!

We thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your break between journeys. The fact that our hotel became a literal oasis for you as part of your NYC experience is a great compliment. Our ultimate goal is to make our guests feel like they are at home. Our reception staff is truly unique and amazing, and our concierges are full of helpful knowledge to get you around New York City in any situation.

We are happy that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and clean as our housekeeping staff takes great pride in what they do. We are also very glad that you enjoyed our Social, which offers complimentary wine, beer and appetizers on Tuesday Wednesday and Thursday nights from 5pm-7pm. It is one of the main attractions here at the Staybridge Suites.

On a closing note, we really appreciate that you took time out to review our hotel, and say such kind things about us. We do read every review we get and yours stands out as truly genuine and heartfelt. We feel lucky to have made your holidays special and can’t wait until you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent - when you emerge from the Lincoln Tunnel, to the left, you take the first right turn to 40w st., and the hotel is right near there. It's within a short walking distance (4-5 blocks) to Times Square or to Bryant park and the library. Since it's between 8th and 9th avenues, in the late evening it may be a little bit less pleasant to walk there, but it's alright - nothing happened.
Parking is in a garage right beside the hotel (by car it's located before the hotel) - 28$ per day.
The breakfast is great - omlette, sausages, cottage cheese, fruits and more. Unfortunately there are not enough places to sit at breakfast when it's crowded, but they try to solve the problem allowing to sit in several areas.
The elevators are quick, but during checkout and breakfast times you wait quite a lot, as many people use them.
The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable - 2 big beds, a kitchenette, an AC (although it may make you cold as it's directed to the beds), many electrical sockets, spacious for 2 people (the first time we were there, we stayed 4 people in a room, and it was too crowded. This time we took 2 rooms, and it's good for 2 people in each room). The view from the room (17th floor) is nice.
Free wi-fi.
All in all - very good hotel. It was our second stay there, and we will probably return if we visit that area in NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed at rooms 1703 and 1704
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your very detailed review of the Staybridge Suites Times Square.

We are glad that you realized just how good the location of our hotel is in. For our guests who drive into the city we are just a few blocks away from the Lincoln Tunnel. For our guests that come in via public transportation, we are just one block away from the major subway hub located in Times Square. Tourism wise as well, the heart of Times Square really is only minutes away, and the other major NYC tourist attractions are only a short taxi, subway ride or walk away as well!

Thank you for visiting our complimentary breakfast. As you could tell, this is by far the most popular amenity that we offer our guests, and we do our very best to alleviate the crowding issue by opening multiple areas up to eat in. We appreciate your patience with the elevators in the morning as well, as we generally have a good amount of guests checking out at the same time on most days.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms as well. Our kitchenette studios are very contemporary and all the appliances and adapters in the rooms are new and up to date. We have a full fridge, stove top and microwave available to our guests in every room.

We thank you again for your review, and are looking forward with anticipation to your third stay with us here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our second visit to the city in a year so decided to spend a little more on our accommodation than we had on our initial trip.

Overall the Staybridge Suites was decent value. No issues with cleanliness of the room, nor any noise problems at night.

My only criticism would be that although breakfast was included in the tariff, the dining area was not adequate for the volume of guests which meant you had to sometimes try to eat your breakfast on your lap!

The location is well placed as a base, though with the bus station opposite, it's not quite the best if you prefer a location that looks more attractive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello Kevin and thanks very much for your feedback.

We tend to think of the Staybridge Suites Times Square as one of the best values offered in all of New York City. Our cleanliness, we owe that to our amazing housekeeping staff and the amount of amenities that we offer to our guests are truly second to none. From our Social, where we serve wine beer and appetizers three times a week, to our self laundry services and WiFi, to our hot breakfast buffet, it would be hard to find another hotel that offers as much as we do, much less free of charge!

We do apologize about the volume of guests we had at one time during breakfast, but we often do open up a completely separate room in order to handle the overflow that we get from the main breakfast room.

Our location in midtown Manhattan is perfect for anyone seeking to explore Manhattan. We are just blocks from the heart of Times Square, and walking distance to the nearest subway, which happens to be the main transportation hub of NYC.

We do thank you again for your review, and hope you stay with us again if you come back to New York.

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Staybridge on four different occasions and have found the rooms to be exceptionally clean and the beds SO comfortable, the staff exceptionally friendly, helpful, and courteous (Sunny and Jamie are THE BEST!), the hotel facilities to be comfortable and pleasant, and the walking distance proximity to Times Square and Hells Kitchen is perfect. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: No complaints--never had a problem with any of my rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Chris, thank you so much for your great review!

When our guests’ reviews stand on their own as a walking advertisement for the Staybridge Suites Times Square, I don’t think anyone can complain.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations so much, and were able to use the hotel location to the best of your abilities.

Most importantly though, are the interactions you had with our bellman. Sunny and Jamie are two of the best bellman in Manhattan, and it really shows, based on the amount of positive feedback we receive based on their rapport with our guests. We are so glad that you appreciate their genuinely unique and fun personalities.

We can’t thank you enough for your review Chris, and we will hopefully see you again soon!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for a week on our first visit to NYC. This hotel had been recommended to us so we did not hesitate to book.
We found the location pretty good and close to Times Square. Dont worry about the bus depot over the road or the parole board next door - we felt completely safe, day and night.
The complimentary reakfast had a good choice, but was very busy..we took out breakfast back to the room sometimes.
After being in the US for 4 weeks, my husband and I both agreed, this hotel had the best bed and the biggest.
We stayed on the 22nd floor and had a good view of the Empire State Building.
The only downside was the $15 bourbon my husband purchased from the bar..glad I didnt want one..could of bought a bottle up the road for that price - it was his 1st and last drink there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

It’s nice to hear you booked through a recommendation as that is truly the best way to choose!

All of our rooms are equipped with the modern conveniences you would expect to receive at home! As you mentioned, the beds are one of the many favorites in our rooms because they are extremely comfortable (just in case you were wondering they are made by Serta Hotel Suite)!

We are happy you took full advantage of the amenities of the hotel and what our location has to offer. Our complimentary all American breakfast buffet is served daily on M-F from 6-10am and Sat & Sun from 7-11am, offering a wide variety of items for our guests to enjoy!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge Suites on your next visit to NYC!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed 2 nights and have another eight nights. We carefully booked this hotel some 6 moths ago, as, as a result of a review in our local newspaper. We were nervous but we were reassured by the response to mostly positive reviews on Tripadvisor by the manager - she appeared to. It only acknowledge all compliments, but also honestly address concerns raised.

Well! We were so pleasantly reassured and surprised. This is a seriously great place to stay for the following reasons:
1. Great location- about 2 blocks from Times Square;
2. Friendly staff - not only checkin staff but staff all over are very friendly and helpful;
3. There is free and uncomplicated (password free) wi-fi to all guests;
4. Free breakfast (although I acknowledge previous reviews concerns about lack of space;
5. Social hour (which is free beer and wine) for 2 hours is great (although food is not fabulous - but who cares?)
6. Outgoing calls are free.

Best of all though, is the bed - seriously comfy, white good quality linen, and warm doona. This bed rivals the Westin bed (I stay in the Wesrin chain at least twice a month in Sydney, Australia) and is just fabulous.

We are here for another 8 nights - just happy to be here. A good place!

Cheers Christina Turner

Room Tip: We asked for a 'high room' because we had bee told that there was noise from the uses below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idriss K, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you heard about us through your local news paper and at the Staybridge Suites we take all our reviews into consideration to help improve our guest`s experiences and satisfaction.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and acknowledging our good location as well as our friendly and helpful staff! We truly appreciate you mentioning the complimentary amenities provided by the hotel such as the free WIFI throughout the building, the outgoing local calls, the daily breakfast buffet and the social receptions every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

We are delighted to provide one the best beddings and high quality linen to insure a maximum comfort and quality of sleep for our guest (just in case you were wondering they are made by Serta Hotel Suite)!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming at the Staybridge for your next trip to the big apple.

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.