We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #65 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for a week on our first visit to NYC. This hotel had been recommended to us so we did not hesitate to book.
We found the location pretty good and close to Times Square. Dont worry about the bus depot over the road or the parole board next door - we felt completely safe, day and night.
The complimentary reakfast had a good choice, but was very busy..we took out breakfast back to the room sometimes.
After being in the US for 4 weeks, my husband and I both agreed, this hotel had the best bed and the biggest.
We stayed on the 22nd floor and had a good view of the Empire State Building.
The only downside was the $15 bourbon my husband purchased from the bar..glad I didnt want one..could of bought a bottle up the road for that price - it was his 1st and last drink there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

It’s nice to hear you booked through a recommendation as that is truly the best way to choose!

All of our rooms are equipped with the modern conveniences you would expect to receive at home! As you mentioned, the beds are one of the many favorites in our rooms because they are extremely comfortable (just in case you were wondering they are made by Serta Hotel Suite)!

We are happy you took full advantage of the amenities of the hotel and what our location has to offer. Our complimentary all American breakfast buffet is served daily on M-F from 6-10am and Sat & Sun from 7-11am, offering a wide variety of items for our guests to enjoy!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge Suites on your next visit to NYC!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,318
    1,355
    241
    37
    17
See reviews for
1,144
1,489
165
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed 2 nights and have another eight nights. We carefully booked this hotel some 6 moths ago, as, as a result of a review in our local newspaper. We were nervous but we were reassured by the response to mostly positive reviews on Tripadvisor by the manager - she appeared to. It only acknowledge all compliments, but also honestly address concerns raised.

Well! We were so pleasantly reassured and surprised. This is a seriously great place to stay for the following reasons:
1. Great location- about 2 blocks from Times Square;
2. Friendly staff - not only checkin staff but staff all over are very friendly and helpful;
3. There is free and uncomplicated (password free) wi-fi to all guests;
4. Free breakfast (although I acknowledge previous reviews concerns about lack of space;
5. Social hour (which is free beer and wine) for 2 hours is great (although food is not fabulous - but who cares?)
6. Outgoing calls are free.

Best of all though, is the bed - seriously comfy, white good quality linen, and warm doona. This bed rivals the Westin bed (I stay in the Wesrin chain at least twice a month in Sydney, Australia) and is just fabulous.

We are here for another 8 nights - just happy to be here. A good place!

Cheers Christina Turner

Room Tip: We asked for a 'high room' because we had bee told that there was noise from the uses below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idriss K, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you heard about us through your local news paper and at the Staybridge Suites we take all our reviews into consideration to help improve our guest`s experiences and satisfaction.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and acknowledging our good location as well as our friendly and helpful staff! We truly appreciate you mentioning the complimentary amenities provided by the hotel such as the free WIFI throughout the building, the outgoing local calls, the daily breakfast buffet and the social receptions every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

We are delighted to provide one the best beddings and high quality linen to insure a maximum comfort and quality of sleep for our guest (just in case you were wondering they are made by Serta Hotel Suite)!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming at the Staybridge for your next trip to the big apple.

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed with my wife for 3 nights while visiting NYC. We used Priority Club points for the stay and chose Staybridge Suites over other PC properties in the same category due to tripadvisor ranking and proximity to places we wanted to go. The included breakfast also helped seal the deal on the hotel decision.

The property was generally clean (except lobby bathrooms had a bad odor one day) with a modern decor. Staff was friendly and helpful. One complaint: they booked a private car for us to the airport and said driver gratuity was included. Upon arrival at the airport, the driver said no gratuity was included in the price, so we ended up paying him more. I think the driver was being dishonest and I reported the incident to the hotel.

Rooms are somewhat small, but with a smart and efficient use of space. Bed was comfortable, and wifi is included. We were on a high floor and didn't find the elevator wait to be an issue. Seems like it would be worse for those taking the elevator down from a low floor, because the elevator would sometimes be full by the time it got down there.

We were in one of the rooms (3 out of the 10 rooms on each floor) that are directly adjacent to an elevator. The sound of the elevator could be heard from the room, but it wasn't too bad. Very light sleepers may want to ensure they're not in one of those rooms.

Breakfast was okay; nothing special but that was fine. We managed to do plenty of eating outside of the hotel. We arrived in time for the Thursday social hour so were able to enjoy a couple drinks in the hotel after several hours of traveling.

Overall a great choice and would stay here again if I wanted to be near Times Square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just visited NY with a bus trip. Stayed at the Staybridge. The service, complimentery breakfast was great. The hotel was immaculate; I would stay their again!!

Two of the hotels employees, Jaimie and Sunny, were warm and friendly. They were an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Patricia, thank you for your review!

We really think that customer service is the most important part of a guests stay at any hotel and that’s what we try to do best here. Jamie and Sunny are two of the best assets any hotel could ever have. Their unique and amazing service really leaves our guests with stories to tell their friends and families when they get back home.

We’re glad that you got to our complimentary breakfast, which is served every day for our guests. That and our social hour, which is when we serve beer wine and appetizers, free of charge from Tues-Thurs 5pm-7pm, are two of the most popular amenities that our hotel offers our guests.

We appreciate the time you took out to write a review for us, and look forward to you staying with us again. Happy holidays!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location. Very nice rooms and a wonderful staff. Stayed here 3 nights after disappointing stay at Hampton Inn Times Square. Hotel was nice enough to accomodate us even during Sandy while other hotels were charging enormous rates. Will stay here again for next visit to NY. Hopefully we will then get to run marathon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you found us after your less than fulfilling experience at a different midtown hotel.

We are always glad to accommodate our guests, even in times of natural disaster. Our hotel takes pride in being one of the best values that NYC has to offer, by providing great accommodations and service, while keeping our rates affordable.

We look forward to you coming back to stay with us again, and with the best of luck, there will be a marathon for you to run next time. Thank you!

~Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Staybridge Suites for three nights and found the hotel to be in a great location on 40th street between 8th and 9th avenues.The room was very nice and quite spacious for New York having two very comfortable double beds a good size bathroom and kitchen facilities. The hotel serves breakfast in the morning and also has a social event on tuesday wednesday and thursday evenings between 5pm and 7pm when they serve red wine, white wine, beer,soft drinks and light food ie pizza, salads, chicken wings, free of charge. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again on my next visit to New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I got in tired after a long day of traveling and they were happy to accommodate me with friendliness and ease. the lobby although small has a nice atmosphere. The rooms have plenty of room in them and a good amount of dishes so that if you want to cook you can! Free wifi is definitely a plus too! Great night sleep as well. Iron in the room worked well and check out in the morning was very smooth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay!

We always do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is great to know you found our staff to be friendly and helpful because that’s what we’re here for!

At the Staybridge Suites Times Square we offer the whole package; an array of complimentary amenities, services, a wonderful location and the modern comforts and conveniences you would expect at home, all at an amazing value. The kitchenettes in the rooms provide for that extra functionality and convenience unlike most hotels would offer; the ability to store additional items (drinks, food, etc), prepare a home cooked meal or even heat up your morning coffee without even leaving your room.

Again, thank you for commenting on our hotel and we look forward to having you back next time!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#94 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,085 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,601 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#172 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#283 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,958 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#147 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#95 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.