We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, comfortable, clean and tidy room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #43 of 447 hotels in New York City
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“excellent location, comfortable, clean and tidy room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location.
You can easily get to Time Square and to any point in Manhattan.
Subway station two minutes away.
Rooms are very good, comfortable, clean and tidy. Staff very kind, helping each request and question.
Because Sandy storm, we stayed another three nights at the hotel not planned. The staff was very kind and tolerant to all our requests.
Highly recommend hotel.
I am Sure that we return to this hotel for our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,756
    946
    157
    29
    13
See reviews for
792
996
116
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Location is right in the heart of Manhattan two blocks from Times Square. Like others have said the street outside can look a bit seedy but no-one ever bothered us, and you very quickly reach the biz and the Subway.

The room was clean, fresh, well appointed with kitchen, great shower, TV. We even, if you knew to lean right then look left, had a view of the top of the Empire State Building, total bonus! And it was quiet through the night.

Boy, the breakfast room was busy, even saw someone eating standing up, although there was an overspill area which we never actually had to explore. We were lucky enough to enjoy the Sundowner Reception that they have midweek nights; similarly busy but people were friendly and happy to chat.

The concierge desk was very helpful, especially Cari who fixed us up with maps and tours when we didn't quite know where to start. We wouldn't recommend the City Sights blue hop on/off bus however. We missed our city cruise waiting for a blue bus while about 3 red ones came and went. We discovered through overhearing another guest that the concierge could arrange a shared van transfer to Newark Airport, and that saved us about 30 bucks over a taxi.

One or two minor problems; one day our room wasn't cleaned, but housekeeping came as soon as we contacted them. We were billed twice for renting one movie, but that was easily corrected. On the other hand the two bell guys gave an amazing impromptu rendering of Hit the Road Jack while we waited in the lobby for our airport van. So cool, Jersey Boys watch out!

Minor complaints sound really lame knowing how badly New York has suffered since Sandy hit. Anyway, what is needed is to get back working and showing off their great city to a slew of tourists, so good luck to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello Charles! Thanks for reviewing our hotel so quickly after staying here. We always appreciate a well informed traveler.

The location of the Staybridge Suites as you said, is indeed in the heart of Manhattan, which provides our guests the unique opportunity to travel nearly anywhere in the city with the greatest of ease. We always mention that our area is always improving and being modernized, and the amount of tourists and travelers on the street at any given moment proves that.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. We take pride in the cleanliness and size of our rooms as well as the amenities it offers, such as a full kitchenette, 37’ flat screen television, desk level jack pack, I-Home, and free Wifi throughout. The fact that you got a view of the Empire State building must have been very exciting and is something that guests can request ahead of time or when checking in (based on availability)!

The amenities that we provide beyond the room itself are some of the biggest attractions that the Staybridge Suites Times Square offers. We are very happy that you got to partake in our complimentary breakfast. We do realize that it can get crowded at times, but we do have a second room for our guests in case that “overflow” that you mentioned, does occur. I believe you were able to capture the true concept of our Social Receptions we offer Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 5pm-7pm, in which guests our brought together uniquely to chat and share their experiences with each other.

Our concierge service is excellent and I’m glad you had the chance to meet Cari, she is one of the best you will meet! I’m sorry that you had a bad experience with the city tour, and we will be passing that information on to the concierge directly. I am glad that the overall experience with our concierge was positive though.

I’m very sorry about the service issue that you brought up. Hurricane Sandy affected us all in NYC greatly, including our housekeeping services. We did provide a note to all of our guests regarding limited housekeeping service during that time, and we serviced every guest room that was requested. As per the billing issue, I’m glad we were able to resolve this glitch easily.
Finally, we are so glad that you enjoyed the special treatment our bellman gave you! The bellman and their personalized guest service truly represent what the Staybridge Suites Times Square is all about.

Thanks again for your review, we really appreciate your well wishes and feedback and would love to have you again as our guest!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights during Hurricane Sandy. Kept up to date about room servicing, internet access etc but standards pretty much maintained during our stay. Great location, good breakfast, nice touch - the wine and snacks - which were pretty substantial. Room perfect for family, with fridge, microwave etc. Yes the lifts are a bit slow, and yes it is busy at breakfast but life is really to short to worry about such things!! Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the higher floors - above about 15 to get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi and thank you for your review! We always appreciate it when a guest of ours shares their feedback with future guests.

We had a very unique situation last week as Hurricane Sandy hit Manhattan and many other areas surrounding us. Fortunately, our hotel was lucky enough not to be impacted too negatively. The most important thing to the staff during this time was to keep our guests satisfied, and as happy as possible. From your review, I gather we were able to make that happen.

We did issue a notice to all of our guests about limited housekeeping service during the hurricane, and we are glad that you were very understanding about this. Beyond the problems at hand, we are so glad that you were still able to enjoy our prime location in midtown, our sizeable, efficient rooms (with full kitchenette) and our complimentary amenities such as our breakfast buffet and social receptions.

We really do appreciate your upbeat attitude and positive comments. We put in a great amount of effort to maintain our quality and standards no matter what is going on, and it’s great to see it was noticed. We hope you come back soon!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in this Times Sq hotel for 8 nights in August 2012 a standard room, and I left really pleased!
The room: full equipped kitchen, full fridge, oven, just what you'd need if you'd rather eat in the room than in a restaurant. Big comfy bed, confortable bathroom (shower, no tub), big TV, desk... everything clean, new, in perfect shape! Closet was tiny, and the room could've been a little bit bigger but overall it's a very nice room. The room was on the 22nd floor on a corner, so it was quiet, and we even had a small window with a view!
Location: it's perfect, 42nd St Station was right on the corner!! A Duane Reade shop on the same corner made so easy to grab a snack on the way back
The hotel in general: service was great, staff was always available for us. We loved the free laundry machines downstairs, the gym looked so new I thought it has never been used, a few PCs with a printer, breakfast was good, and they also had this "Social Events" with free food and drinks from Monday to Thursday. Some areas could great crowded depending the hour of the day (elevators and breakfast mostly).
Would totally stay here again given the chance!

Room Tip: Higher floors and corner rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review the Staybridge Suites Times Square hotel! We are very happy to hear you left without disappointment!

We take a lot of pride in our rooms at the Staybridge Suites because they were specifically designed to cater to our long term guests in order to make them feel comfortable and as if they were home. Not only are they larger than the average NYC hotel room, but they all have a fully equipped kitchen! Everything in the room is very modern and new, and we get rave reviews about how comfortable our beds are, and we’re glad to see you agree.

I cannot say enough about our location. I appreciate that you enjoyed it as well. We are so close to the subway, which will take you almost anywhere in Manhattan and 2 blocks from the heart of Times Square. There’s not much more a visitor to NY could ask for.

We really do appreciate your kind words about our staff, as our guests are always the main focus for us. We will certainly pass your review on to them.

Finally, the complimentary amenities that we offer our guests are very well known, and we are so glad that you were able to take advantage of most of them. Our social hour (Wine, beer, and appetizers Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday 5pm-7pm), complimentary breakfast buffet, and free laundry facilities make the Staybridge Suites Times Square a great value for any visitor to New York City!

Once again we truly appreciate your wonderful review and would be delighted to have you back as our guest!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Came back today after our eventful trip during Hurricane Sandy. Hotel staff were friendly and really helpful and their customer care during Hurricane Sandy was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and they were happy to help secure us another night if it was needed. Luckily JFK opened on Wednesday so we were able to catch our original flight but their reassurance certainly calmed a few nerves for us. Breakfasts are really good with a choice of hot and cold buffet which is included in the cost of the stay - can be a bit crowded at peak times but they do have extra seating in the bar, so we tended to have an early breakfast to avoid the rush. Location is good just a few blocks from Times Square - I did read the review about the area before we went - but no problems for us at all. To be honest I would have not have even known there was a parole office on the same street if I had not read about it beforehand. Room was clean and and the kitchen area is well equiped (only small thing I could mention was there was no kettle and when we asked there was not enough to go around) the beds are really comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Most of the time at this hotel was very enjoyable. Started out rough as we were with a tour and the hotel delivered my luggage to the wrong room and didn't help at all in locating it for me. Luckily another member of our group on another floor had it delivered to her room. One of the staff members at the front desk was not helpful. The manager took my name and info but didn't check back with me to let me know anything. Aside from that bad start, the hotel itself was in a good location within a short couple of blocks walk to Times Square, Broadway theaters, restaurants and shopping. The immediate neighborhood did have some seedier looking area, a shop with lingerie, a homeless person lying sleeping on the sidewalk across the street but all in all, a good hotel. The nice included breakfast and wine and snack buffet were very nice. The place was clean. The kitchenette with full size refrigerator, and fully stocked cupboard would be super for someone staying in New York for a longer period of time. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in New York Ciy near Times Square!

Room Tip: As for a room with a view - so nice to see the skyscrapes from your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We found Staybridge Suites through Trip Advisor so it helped manage our expectations of room size, elevator wait time, etc. We were pleasantly surprised because we had a great time at the hotel. We spent three nights there recently and we were blessed to be there just before Hurricane Sandy hit NY. Positives: room size was comfortable for my husband and I and our two daughters; free breakfast was quite adequate to fill you up for a day's activities; cocktails were good enough to serve as a pre-play snack (We had dinner after watching Wicked and just had pizza because we were still full from cocktails); free guest laundry which included free detergent (most hotels usually charge for this); full kitchen in each room, although we didn't get to use it, it's good to have it as an option; friendly and helpful staff, special mention to Joan from Housekeeping who went out of her way to help me on some laundry concerns. Areas for Improvement: WIFI connection is slow and often gets disconnected, you have to keep on reconnecting; elevators were still slow; computers and printers at the business office were also slow, but the front desk staff made up for it by printing our boarding passes for us. Overall. We were happy with our stay and will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.