We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #47 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We just got back from a long weekend in NYC. We stayed at Staybridge Suites Times Square and I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC. It was quiet, exceptionally clean, and has the most efficient, friendly staff. The free breakfast was also a nice perk. This hotel is within walking distance of many attractions, including Broadway. We want to return to NYC and will most assuredly stay at Staybridge Suites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    1,033
    185
    30
    15
See reviews for
911
1,151
128
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
525 reviews 525 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We spent 3 nights here and from the moment we checked in we were very impressed. Very efficient and friendly check-in and a lovely suite on the 4th floor (with the only down side of a low floor being a view of the Port Authority bus station and a bit of street noise).

The room was a good size by New York standards with a great very comfortable king size bed; the room was modern and spotlessly clean. The suite includes fridge freezer, microwave, hob, dishwasher and everything else you need to cater yourself. Not sure how many visitors to New York would use much more than the fridge though! The downside of the fridge is that it made a fair bit of noise at random times overnight and as it's only 2 foot from the bed you'll hear it.

Sundowners (free booze and nibbles) between 5-7pm was great (shame they only do it Tuesday to Thursday). Breakfast can be a bit busy with clearly too little space to accommodate the number of guests, but there is a choice of a couple of juices, cereals, ham, eggs, potatoes, muffins and fresh fruit and it's included for everyone.

Location is about 10 minutes walk to Times Square; we even walked through Chelsea and Greenwich Village down to Ground Zero which took around an hour.

Also free wi-fi and free use of 3 PCs on the ground floor. Staff were great too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

This hotel made our trip even more perfect, from beginning to end! The location was so close to everything- the port authority was literally across the road (perfect for going to the Jersey Gardens Outlet for shopping), the subway was located at the end of the street which is really handy too if you're planning on making your way to Soho, etc. Because the hotel was so close to Times Square, myself and my boyfriend walked everywhere as it was dead quick and easy. The breakfast is included in the price, and believe me it is worth it! Bagels, bacon, eggs, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurts- you name it! And you can take as much as you care to, with take away bags available too! The social evening tues-thurs 5pm-7pm is definitely worth a go, with hot food appetisers a and alcohol for free and in abundance. Beds were amazing, rooms spacious, spotless and fitted with a kitchen and everything that you need. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

One of my best experiences r/t hotel stay - great value - extremely clean (even smells clean) - for NY room size more than adequate - had great coffee maker - micro - full size refrig. THe beds were phenomenol - pillow top mattress - I am heading out to buy one for my home immediately!!!Location was great - within walking distance of most of great NY experiences. Complimentary breakfast was very good - diverse; Happy hour with wine and goodies!! Great way to mingle with other guests - met soo many wonderful people from many other countries.

BEST part of staying at this hotel was the staff - from the manager (who was sooo personable) to each person on the staff - absolutely "home like" experience. They were all so warm and friendly - they make you want to return every week. Went out of their way to make your visit a great experience. Won't even think twice about where I will stay when I go back to NY for a visit. I had emailed before I visited that I needed help with getting transportation to New Jersey - on my arrival they handed me an envelope with all the info I needed - How great was that !!!! THANK YOU TO THE ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL STAFF!!! YOU FOLKS ROCK!!
On a scale of 1 to 5 -- they are a 10!!
Nancy O

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My wife and I visited New York for the first time on 17th November 2011 and loved everything about the place.

Our decision to stay at the Staybridge Suites was made certain after reading the reviews here, and most are absoluetly correct.

The rooms are a good size and the hotel is very centrally located, only a few minutes from Times Square, but far enough away to not have all the noise. The staff are very friendly and very willing to help.

The sundowner drinks were great - free drinks and bites to eat were a real treat after arriving that evening.

The breakfast is also really good, with eggs, bacon/ham/sauasge and home fries every morning, with cereals, bagels, toats, muffins etc. Again, as an included benefit it's brilliant. If you want to get something different, there are plenty of places to walk to nearby.

We were on the 25th floor, which meant we had a view of the Hudson and could see above the Port Authority car park which is directly oposite. People have said that the area could be seen as unsafe, but we never felt uneasy - you are never alone in New York and I would have no issues in recommending the hotel.

The negatives people mention are true, but in the grand scheme of things are very minor. I wouyld hesitate to even call them negatives, just minor irritations:

The lifts can be slow, but we only had a problem 1 day, for which I waited for two lifts to pass before getting one. I would say a lower or top floor mean you get the best chance to get in - floors 10-20 probably get most lifts passing full of people, which would be frustrating. On the 25tyh floor, we didn't have a problem.

The rooms aren't what I would call a 'suite', as no separate sitting area etc, but they are perfectly nice, and from what I hear are spacious for New York. The bathroom door being frosted glass is odd if you use the bathroom in the night as it does flood the room with light even with the door closed!

Breakfast is busy, so you may have to wait a minute or so to get seated. We never waited more than that, and it was full every morning.

So all in all, we thought the hotel was excellent value, clean and spacious, conveniently located and with very friendly staff. Nothing more that I want really (as our days were spent exploring), and on our next trip to New York we won't even look anywhere else for accomodation - we'll book our room in the Staybridge.

Thanks for making our trip great!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the front of the hotel - these have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The hotel is in a great spot! We were in room 1610 large room with King size bed...it was fantastic.....the room had a small kitchen with fridge, and stove. I had bought some dessert so it was perfect to store any foods from the day. The staff was very friendly and would go out of your way to ensure you are satisfied. The hotel was programming new the locks for all the doors and our room did malfunction. We had very quick service and to boot a lot of laughter. We joked around about sitting in the hallway and wishing we could have a glass of wine and some chocolate and within minutes me and my 2 girlfriends each had a bottle of wine AND a box of chocolates!! Realistically we could have been really mad but they didn't hesitate to keep us happy. We tried the breakfast buffet ~ nothing to brag about but it was great to get your day started and included in the price. Every morning we'd ask either front desk or the information desk and the people were all so nice. Never was it a problem to get a cab or get detailed directions with the subway or on foot. Overall, it was my first time to NY as it was for another friend of mine and if we had to go back again either together or with our husbands we'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx, usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

NYC hotels can be pretty variable in quality, even those that are part of usually dependable national chains. So I wasn't sure what to expect, but in the end, I was quite pleased with the Staybridge.

This was a one-night stay over Thanksgiving weekend 2011. Check-in was efficient. We had reserved a Queen room, but were given a room with a King. It was clean, with modern decor, seemed to be either new or recently refurbished. The kitchen is always nice to have, and as a caffeine addict, I like that it had a full-sized coffee maker instead of the usual 4-cup or single serving machines that most hotels have. Our late checkout request was granted without problem.

Minor quibbles - although the room size is okay, the bathroom is small with little counter space. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up (for men using it while standing). And the bathroom door was frosted glass instead of solid wood, so when using it in the middle of the night, even with the door closed, the light illuminates the dark bedroom. But if these things are all I have to complain about, that means the hotel is pretty good.

There's no mention of parking on the hotel website, but if you do have a car, they offer discounted parking at a garage just west of the hotel on W 40th (before you get to the hotel as you drive down W 40 from 9th). Hotel guests can get their ticket validated at the front desk, and park up to 24 hours for $28 (about a $10 discount).

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.