We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights in NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Water Street, New York City, NY 10005 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #298 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 nights in NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Nice hotel with good location downtown Manhattan in corner of Wall street!
Inc. breakfast and good wireless internet in rooms.
Close to ferries to Liberty- and Ellis- and Staten Islands and South street Seaport.
Recommend, no five star quality but nice and quiet. Rooms OK and NO bed bugs!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    159
    61
    16
    16
See reviews for
77
77
29
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed a week at the Holiday Inn Express, Wall Street using our accumulated hotel points. Check in was fine and we were given a room immediately at 12 Noon, much ahead of the check in time posted (4:00 pm). When we got to our room on the 7th floor we immediately noticed the carpeted floor directly in front of the bathroom was wet. So we notified the front desk and we were sent to a better room higher up in the building. I met with the housekeeping staff about the "wet floor room" and found out that because the building was so new the staff had maintenance issues with a number of the rooms. Most notably the ceramic soap holders in the tile showers were falling off! Even in our "better room" the soap holder was no longer in the shower. But, these are all small issues and the real value in this hotel is that it is clean and new. The breakfast offered is the same old Holiday Inn Express fare that a traveler finds in every single Holiday Inn Express. The staff at this hotel tries very hard to be helpful and they are sincere. If possible, get a room away from Water Street. The road and construction noise could be heard all night long. I am used to very busy street noise but some travelers would find this unacceptable. I will stay at this hotel again and loved the convenience to the subways. Also, the neighborhood is safe and there are enough conveniences nearby to make this a fairly good spot for an extended, moderately priced hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel twice now, both times we checked in at midnight if not later so they had plenty of time to prepare the room for us. The first time we had no hot water & four out of the seven lights in our room were blown, when asked to fix the water the "engineer" who was actually the towel boy stole my engagement ring off the bathroom sink!! The second time we had a complimentary stay as the first was absolutely terrible, they put us up in the same room & this time I found blond hair on the bed & the floor (we're both redheads). Then to my absolute shock & disgust I found a pair of dirty mens UNDERWEAR underneath our bed!!!! I would not get within 20 feet of this place again even if someone paid me!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

As a seasoned traveler, I have to say that this is one of the best basic hotels I've visited in the New York City area. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and have all the basic amenities. Every member of the staff I met - from the front desk to housekeeping - was friendly, helpful and exceptionally professional. A problem with the lamps in my room was promptly addressed and my bill adjusted in my favor for the inconvenience.

The Breakfast Bar deserves a review of its own. Full of fresh hot and cold items (including eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereal, coffee, orange juice, apple juice and much more), makes this one of the best offerings I've seen in a complimentary breakfast. The bar and the dining area were spotless and inviting, and the attendant was friendly and always available to help the guests.

As with most hotels, prices vary depending on when one books a room. I happened to require a room when the rates were a little higher than usual, but I still felt I received a good deal for my money. I enjoyed my stay at this centrally-located hotel and would gladly visit again. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Located really cloe to the metro line, the Holiday Inn Express is a really good place to stay.
Breackfast being included in the room price make the price of the room a great deal (and the morning waitress is really nice and helpfull!)
For a week-end in NY it is a great plca to stay because you're close to everything with the metro, but at walking distance from SouthStreet Seaport, a morning Sunday markt, Pier 17, Battery Park...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

The hotel is fine for what we paid. It is clean. It is small but not closet size. The rooms were nice. It is very close to the Seaport but not convenient if you like Midtown area and want to be there all the time. Try to get a room that faces the back of hotel otherwise you will have incredible street noise. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in mid-September and were very satisfied indeed. Actually, a power outage happened during our stay, making our TV set and Internet access unavaliable for a night, but the hotel handled the situation the following day and more importantly, they have compensated us for the temporary lack of these services at check-out. We are really thankful for their service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street

Address: 126 Water Street, New York City, NY 10005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Manhattan is conveniently located on Water Street close to Wall Street. We are just a short distance from NY Stock Exchange, City Hall, Federal Reserve Bank, and World Trade Center. Lower Manhattan will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of attractions including South Street Seaport, Battery Park, Little Italy, Chinatown, and walking distance from the South Ferry which connects to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We offer 112 luxuriously appointed guest rooms equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection amenities, wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an exercise room, business center, and hot breakfast bar. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.