We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   326 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #199 of 452 hotels in New York City
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice but small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good location, although being right next to the port authority (bus station) means you can see a variety of characters. Hard to get a taxi at the hotel since the taxi stand is at the port authority (1 block away), but that always has lines of people waiting. Staff was pleasant and helpful if asked. Lobby is very cramped. Rooms are small but comfortable. If you can get a good price its a good place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you to the reviewer for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for pointing out our "very good location." If you do choose to stay with us again in future, which we hope you do, a bellman would be more than happy to assist you in catching a cab in front of the hotel. I am also happy to hear you found our staff to be "pleasant and helpful," We do hope you choose to stay with us again and once again thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    478
    173
    48
    21
See reviews for
229
322
98
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

front desk welcomed us with a smile and provided ample security in the lobby.room was comfy,quiet with free wifi and plush towels.elevators were fast and smooth.yes there is a parole office alittle ways down the street but that meant a police presence.as far as the nudie bar nothing was visible from the street and noone was hanging around the front.I feel this is just another Sheraton property that lived up to its standard.for the record I do not have any affiliation with Sheraton I just like their product.

Room Tip: only there once but I didnt hear any complaints about rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I would like to the tctommy for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you to the reviewer for pointing out our "great location" and assuring furture guest regarding the safety and police presence in our area. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imola, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a decent accommodation in Manhattan, not luxury, yet well positioned to walk to Times Square. Tiny rooms, clean. Common areas need better maintenance. Overall recommended, if priced right. Staff member very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I would like to thank the reviewer for pointing out that our location is "well positioned to walk to Times Square” and also for pointing our staff members as being "very friendly and welcoming" We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future and we can make up for any expectations that were not meet for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to new York so wanted something in a good location. This hotel is perfect if you want to be near times square. It's about 2 blocks away. The staff in the hotel were really friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and really easy. The room was a really good size and the bed was extremely comfortable. Don't let the parole office put you off we didn't feel any threat whatsoever. Overall I really enjoyed my stay. I am a travel agent and will definitely be recommending this hotel to my customers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you cbean1992 for taking the time to review your first trip to New York and for letting us be your choice while you were here. I am happy to hear that our staff members were friendly and helpful while you stayed with us. Thank you for also assuring potential future guest of the hotels safe location. Coming from a travel agent we are happy to hear you will be recommending our property to your customers. Hope to see you soon for your 2nd trip to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My fiance & I ended up staying here as a last minute decision to spend a night in NYC since we were visiting a family member in Jersey & the city was only 20 min. away rather than driving back to PA. We booked through Hotels.com & got a decent deal. We weren't too sure what to expect as it was a last minute decision but we couldn't have been more pleased! From the time we arrived to the moment we left, it was a pleasant experience. The staff were extremely kind and helpful and our room was wonderful & clean. I'd say it was spacious for NYC. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We only stayed for one night so we weren't able to visit the restaurant or bar but we did order breakfast in the morning & it was delicious! You can't beat the location either, it's within walking distance to a lot of popular spots in the city. We will definitely be staying here again when visiting NYC!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you Lauren4172 for your review of our hotel. Thank you for pointing out our friendly staff and location. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future and hopefully you can stay more than one night so you can have time to experience all outlets of the hotel. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the NY parole office or nudie bar next door. The street is full of garbage and lowlifes. Please don't let this be your view of NYC NYC is a great place this is a dump.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I would like to respond to the reviewer first by acknowledging their concerns as expressed in their review. The feeling in a neighborhood is a subjective and individual thing. In a short time this block has transformed in to a prime example of what can be accomplished to rejuvenate a neighborhood. Our street is now home to a rejuvenated port authority that has many shops and restaurants and also serves as a transportation hub within close proximity to our hotel. We share pride and partnership with the Times Square and Fashion business improvement districts, as well as the city. Our location, as stated in our name is prime in the midtown -Times Square area. We are within close walking distance to most attractions, and near rail, taxi, and bus transportation for those that are not so near.
The transformation and improvement of the area continues as new venues for shopping and entertainment continue to open. A strong police presence monitoring the street I can also assure is safe at all times. If you combine this with the value provided by our hotel, I think that there are vastly more reasons to come than to stay away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is not the usual hotel I stay at in New York but I was on a belt tightening kick for business so I chose it because it was about the only place under $400/night. I was not expecting much given the mixed reviews and the fact that it's a Four Points but it turned out to be a nice surprise.

The Four Points Sheraton Midtown is conveniently located to the Lincoln Tunnel if you are driving into NY or arriving by taxi from Newark. There's a parking lot a few feet away from the entrance of the hotel.

The hotel is short on amenities. The lobby (if you can call it that) is tiny. There is a gym though but no restaurant (but who cares in New York with so many choices). But the staff makes up any of this by being very friendly and helpful . The concierge was very nice as well. The rooms are nice and modern, clean and have great internet service. The hotel consists of 33 floors so it's very tall and thin (only a few rooms per floor). I would recommend a room on the upper floors to avoid the noise of the streets.

On top of the hotel is a great roof top bar.

Your stay here won't be memorable but there's so much more in NY to make your trip memorable that if you are just looking for a reasonable, comfortable, clean room/bed that's centrally located, this is a good place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I would like to thank the reviewer for reviewing our property. Thank you for pointing out our convenient location as well as our "very friendly and helpful" staff. I am sorry you were not aware of our Gotham Bistro Restaurant which is located to the rear of our lobby. We do hope you choose to stay at our property and we can deliver a more memorable stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square

Address: 326 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square hotel is in the heart of Manhattan near the Broadway Theater District, Port Authority, Hell's Kitchen, Central Park. We offer free wifi, a Starbuck's Grab and Go with pastires in the morning, the Gotham Bistro, Lobby Bar, Room Service, Fitness Center and our staff is ready to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square Hotel New York City
Four Points Midtown
Four Points New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.