We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but not value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W New York - Downtown to your Saves list
W New York - Downtown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #193 of 468 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff but not value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location for business but quite far from anything else. Staff is great but for what tgey charge a night I would expect at least complimentary WiFi in the room. Breakfast is also not included and lacking substance. Overall good design, good room size, very comfy bed but more style than substance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi MrsAnonymous,

We appreciate you taking a moment to let us know about your recent experience at our property. It is great hearing about the memorable moments that we helped to create. We do hope that we can serve you again in the future. If there is anything you need feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    292
    119
    49
    19
See reviews for
123
245
65
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great downtown location right next to the World Trade Center site. Eclectic and stylish design, including a great modern window seat in the room. Large bed and bedroom and bathroom (by New York standards). Nice breakfast restaurant in a bistro style with really good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Travelling_DE,

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your stay. We strive to make our guests escape with us as enjoyable as possible. We are glad that we were able to do so in your case and hope to do so again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of further assistance.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just spent the weekend in NYC and stayed at the W downtown. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I arrived before the stated check in time, but was given a room straight away. Room size was good for NYC, and and a pretty decent sized bathroom also. I have stayed at a number of W hotels before, and as always the bed was very comfortable.

To mirror some of the previous reviews, the downside for me, was the noise level from the room. Walls seemed to have been made from paper, hearing full blown conversations on the corridor outside at 3am. My room also seemed to suffer from being right beside the elevators. So there was a constant "ping" everytime one stopped on the floor. Also the lack of a plug socket beside the bed is annoying, with only being able to use the ones under the TV to charge devices.

I didnt eat or have any drinks at the hotel so cannot comment on those, and was unable to use the Accura car service during my stay as it was fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi eaj19787,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate that you highlighted the points that were pleasing to you. We also are thankful for the constructive comments as it will help us to place more focus on areas that are most important to our guests. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was there for only 3 nights but I had the best service. Nicole and Robert (concierges) were very helpful. The Accura experience was outstanding. My room was clean and very comfortable. I am sure it is family oriented though...The lobby and terrace have open Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi maria p,

We appreciate you taking a moment to let us know about your recent experience at our property. It is great hearing about the memorable moments that we helped to create. We have shared your comments with our team about how happy you were with their service. We do hope that we can serve you again in the future. If there is anything you need feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Jason, Marlonn, and Mateo went above beyond the call of duty and showed a level of customer service and hospitality to us (non-guests of the W) that will ensure our guaranteed future patronage, and our whole-hearted recommendation.

Please commend your staff for an EXCELLENT experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi jlsjess0529,

Thank you for your glowing comments about our team. We are indeed fortunate to have them on board. We are glad that they provided to you the level of service that we strive to give to all of our guests. If I can be of further assistance in the future, please contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The W Downtown, like other hotels in the area (Andaz Wall St., Millenium Hilton, Conrad, Ritz Carlton Battery Park etc.), should really only be considered if you need to be downtown. If you are coming to New York to visit the sites, downton is not where you want to be. Subway access is fine, but restaurant/bar options are limited and the area becomes a ghost town, by New York standards, after 9:00 PM.

Assuming you need to be in the area, the W is a decent choice. Better than the Millenium Hilton. Not nearly as nice as the Ritz Carlton or Conrad, but better access to transportation, etc. On par with the Andaz. Like most Ws, the rooms are on the small side and dark, but laid out fairly efficiently. Plenty of desk space, although you may need to order a light to actually see. Stay on the north side of the hotel for views over the WTC Memorial. Construction noise has not been bad during my visits. Business center is passable, but the computers are on stands with no desks, so it is largely limited to online work or printing materials. The BLT Bar and Grill has been good in the past, especially the burger, but last call for food and drinks is as early as 10:00 PM. Worse, on my last visit it had a "B" rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi TorG,

We appreicate you taking the time to post a review about our property. It looks like we have some room for growth. We would love for you to be a part of that growth. Thank you for your suggestions. We hope to serve you again in the future.


Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Still feels like new. Very clean and comfortable. More a business hotel than anything. Poor location for families -- except for WTC of course. As a Plat member I wasn't upgraded despite eligible rooms being available. But didn't fight it. Just remember this if your a Plat member. You might have to fight your way into the upgrade you deserve.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi mpolka

We appreicate you taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. Thank you for the kind words. Please allow me to apologize if our property was not completely comfortable for you and your family. We would love to see you again and provide you with a great stay. If I can be of any assistance, please contact me at directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#324 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,182 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#205 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
Gramercy Park
W New York - Union Square
W New York - Union Square
#191 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters, World Trade Center
Club Quarters, World Trade Cente...
#124 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#64 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#48 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.