We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stylish hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W New York - Downtown to your Saves list
W New York - Downtown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #189 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable stylish hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great downtown location right next to the World Trade Center site. Eclectic and stylish design, including a great modern window seat in the room. Large bed and bedroom and bathroom (by New York standards). Nice breakfast restaurant in a bistro style with really good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Travelling_DE,

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your stay. We strive to make our guests escape with us as enjoyable as possible. We are glad that we were able to do so in your case and hope to do so again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of further assistance.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    238
    105
    38
    17
See reviews for
93
196
54
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just spent the weekend in NYC and stayed at the W downtown. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I arrived before the stated check in time, but was given a room straight away. Room size was good for NYC, and and a pretty decent sized bathroom also. I have stayed at a number of W hotels before, and as always the bed was very comfortable.

To mirror some of the previous reviews, the downside for me, was the noise level from the room. Walls seemed to have been made from paper, hearing full blown conversations on the corridor outside at 3am. My room also seemed to suffer from being right beside the elevators. So there was a constant "ping" everytime one stopped on the floor. Also the lack of a plug socket beside the bed is annoying, with only being able to use the ones under the TV to charge devices.

I didnt eat or have any drinks at the hotel so cannot comment on those, and was unable to use the Accura car service during my stay as it was fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi eaj19787,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate that you highlighted the points that were pleasing to you. We also are thankful for the constructive comments as it will help us to place more focus on areas that are most important to our guests. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was there for only 3 nights but I had the best service. Nicole and Robert (concierges) were very helpful. The Accura experience was outstanding. My room was clean and very comfortable. I am sure it is family oriented though...The lobby and terrace have open Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi maria p,

We appreciate you taking a moment to let us know about your recent experience at our property. It is great hearing about the memorable moments that we helped to create. We have shared your comments with our team about how happy you were with their service. We do hope that we can serve you again in the future. If there is anything you need feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Jason, Marlonn, and Mateo went above beyond the call of duty and showed a level of customer service and hospitality to us (non-guests of the W) that will ensure our guaranteed future patronage, and our whole-hearted recommendation.

Please commend your staff for an EXCELLENT experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi jlsjess0529,

Thank you for your glowing comments about our team. We are indeed fortunate to have them on board. We are glad that they provided to you the level of service that we strive to give to all of our guests. If I can be of further assistance in the future, please contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorG
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The W Downtown, like other hotels in the area (Andaz Wall St., Millenium Hilton, Conrad, Ritz Carlton Battery Park etc.), should really only be considered if you need to be downtown. If you are coming to New York to visit the sites, downton is not where you want to be. Subway access is fine, but restaurant/bar options are limited and the area becomes a ghost town, by New York standards, after 9:00 PM.

Assuming you need to be in the area, the W is a decent choice. Better than the Millenium Hilton. Not nearly as nice as the Ritz Carlton or Conrad, but better access to transportation, etc. On par with the Andaz. Like most Ws, the rooms are on the small side and dark, but laid out fairly efficiently. Plenty of desk space, although you may need to order a light to actually see. Stay on the north side of the hotel for views over the WTC Memorial. Construction noise has not been bad during my visits. Business center is passable, but the computers are on stands with no desks, so it is largely limited to online work or printing materials. The BLT Bar and Grill has been good in the past, especially the burger, but last call for food and drinks is as early as 10:00 PM. Worse, on my last visit it had a "B" rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi TorG,

We appreicate you taking the time to post a review about our property. It looks like we have some room for growth. We would love for you to be a part of that growth. Thank you for your suggestions. We hope to serve you again in the future.


Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Still feels like new. Very clean and comfortable. More a business hotel than anything. Poor location for families -- except for WTC of course. As a Plat member I wasn't upgraded despite eligible rooms being available. But didn't fight it. Just remember this if your a Plat member. You might have to fight your way into the upgrade you deserve.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi mpolka

We appreicate you taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. Thank you for the kind words. Please allow me to apologize if our property was not completely comfortable for you and your family. We would love to see you again and provide you with a great stay. If I can be of any assistance, please contact me at directly.

Best Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

For how much it costs, the W downtown is really poor value and poorly designed. The checkin took forever, and our rooms weren't ready for the check in time. The desk clerk couldn't follow simple instructions or requests, like to have the bags taken up to the room ps as soon as they were ready.

In order to get to the rooms, you have to go through the bar. So every time you go in and out, you feel like an inconvenience because the staff are more interested in serving the clubbers, who are paying $250 for a take on the bar balcony. Rather than looking after the hotel guests who've paid to use the facilities.

Then when we got in the room the style over substance continues..
1. There were no sockets next to the bed.
2. The radio didn't work
3. There are only two small draws in the entire room, 1 under the bathroom sink and one next to the bed.
4. The head board doesn't extend the full length the bed, so one person can't sit up comfortably.
5. The bathroom door handle was loose
6. The sockets in the bathroom were loose
7. The walls were scuffed, and not just low down high up as well. So need repainting
8. There is loads of space, and no where to put anything!
9. If you want a coffee, its $6+ $6 delivery +20% gratuity! No hot drink facilities anywhere!
10. There is one mirror In the bathroom and no seat near a mirror for make up etc, and you can't do a full length check in the bathroom mirror.
11. There's this great big bedside lamp, that doesn't swivel or do anything useful apart from take up precious space.

Overall we felt like an inconvenient unwanted guests to some trendy NYC night club. Go stay at the Yotel, its far superior.


1. There is no greeter or valet to welcome you to the hotel.
2. It

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hello TheKitten,

I'm sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced during your stay. It is clear that we failed to meet your expectations. We know we can provide you with a better stay and would love the opportunity to do so. Please contact me directly so that I can start on restoring your faith in our hotel.

Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 123 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York – Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Freedom Tower. Power wheel and deal at BLT, or be seen at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever® makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.