We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W New York - Downtown to your Saves list
W New York - Downtown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #192 of 459 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

From our room we could look down at the two reflecting pool of the World Trade Center Memorial ... We could see it at all different times of day plus got to watch the building activity! The food was great as well as a wonderful bar with amazing views from it too. Due to construction not the easiest to get to BUT accommodation and view make up for it. Easy walking to shopping and restaurants. I will be going there again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the more you will see
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    246
    110
    38
    19
See reviews for
96
208
55
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Is a nice hotel, modern and clean. We stayed two nights. The lobby is awesome!!! Rooms are nice for a couple or a single person. There is coffee and tea complementary during the mornings. The beds are very confortable. The closer train station is not working because of Sandy. Is just in front of the Memorial. The staff is great!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The W Downtown is a great hotel that has very small (but normal for NYC) rooms, with beautiful bathrooms, and great views. As some other reviews have stated, it's very trendy, with the lobby being on the 5th floor with a really neat ceiling. You do have to go from the street to the 5th floor, and then around the corner to room floor elevators, and at night you do have to walk through essentially a night club/lounge. These things really didn't bother me though, it's just worth noting. The staff was really friendly and helpful. My only 2 complaints were that 1. the wireless internet was only free in the lobby, not the rooms (this seems to be normal practice though), and 2. the hotel is a little far downtown. There are a few subway stops very close though, and they were easy to navigate. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Every room (except the suites) either adjoins the elevator shaft or is directly across from the elevator doors. Don't get an "11" room. It has 2 common walls with the elevator and 1 common wall with the ice machine. They turn off the elevator "ding" at night, but it is quite disturbing during the day. Both people at the concierge desk were helpful and pleasant. Stunning view of the World Trade Center site from the fifth floor bar. The front desk in on 5 and the ceiling is an undulating art piece. You need a flashlight to find the button for the elevator to the rooms. Low light, black granite floors and walls. I don't need a dj in the lobby or a $20 glass of California cabernet.

Room Tip: Don't get an "11" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent experience with us. You’ve made some very valid points which we certainly appreciate. I would be happy to discuss this further with you so please reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were upgraded to a room with a breathtaking view of the World Trade Center site. Got a good deal on our stay, and considering the prices of poor-to-average hotels in NYC, we considered the W a great value and well worth the cost. The staff, in particular, were absolutely fantastic. People might expect snobby service in a hotel that looks as great as this one, but they'd be wrong. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Hotel is in a great location and the staff are pleasant and unobtrusive, which is welcome as American service, good as it is, can be overbearing.

Low lighting hides tired walls and fixttures and ho hum 10 years on trendiness thats boring and pedestrian. Ok mid priced for Manhattan, no wow factor but serviceable and all that low lighting hides late NY nights better than cover girl.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside are loud no matter how high, NY is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Got a fantastic deal for a 5 night stay at the W Downtown this October. The hotel is very modern, the bar wasn't our cup of tea, but the rooms and service were all brilliant throughout our stay and we don't have a bad word to say about the place.

Room Tip: If you can, get a corner room on a higher floor for great views of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 123 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York – Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Freedom Tower. Power wheel and deal at BLT, or be seen at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever® makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.