We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W New York - Downtown to your Saves list
W New York - Downtown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #191 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Oakland, California USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great bed and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I would definitely recommend getting a room on the south-facing side of the hotel, since the north side faces directly on the 9/11 site and there is pretty much constant construction going on in the area.
The bed and bedding is really very special. We slept so well. The bathroom is best for tall people since the toilet paper is across the room from the toilet (!) and I never got within a foot of the shower head in order to adjust it (I am 5'2".
We also loved the free coffee in the morning and the complimentary New York Times every day we were there.
The location is close to Wall Street, Battery Park and the Staten Island ferry. It doesn't have the best subway access, since there is only the E train close by.
The DJ music in the lobby was just annoying--lots of electronic noise without much talent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    246
    110
    38
    19
See reviews for
96
208
55
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice room. clean and good view over ground zero. Stayed 5 nights, traveling with a friend. 16th floor, 2 double beds.
Thi hotel is announced as one of THE best... well I've stayed at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square and Hilton on 6th ave before and both those hotels are way better.
Not ideal location if you want to see a lot of Manhattan - better to stay in midtown.

Cons:
- One of the lamps in bathroom did not work and we did ask for a replacement twice but it did not happen.
- For space saving reasons (probably) there was a sliding door to the bathroom, this was hard to close.
- Not enough power outlets in the room.
- AC was very hard to adjust, too hot or too cold.
- When asking for help with luggage this took 30 mins.
- There is a complimentary car service that can take you up to around 80th street - it is never available though so why announce?!
- Small fitness room - and 2 of the cardio machines were out of order.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback about your most recent experience with us. You’ve made some very valid points which we certainly appreciate. I would be happy to discuss this further with you so please reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

In the W Hotel, BLT Bar and Grill offers burgers, sandwiches and salads for lunch. The waitstaff needs more training. The kitchen staff should not be making food before diners place their orders. The food is tasteless but I understand there are so few places to eat in the area that business people eat here. We won't be returning. They need an entire overhaul in training staff, from management to kitchen staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hello

I'm terribly sorry to hear this! Please contact me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com so that I can work to restore your faith in our hotel.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

After reading a lot of comments about how 'hip and trendy' this hotel was we weren't quite sure what to expect but to be honest the majority of the people staying here are families and a few business people. There was music with a DJ in the lobby at night but only on the weekends. I think the hotel is trying to create a cool bar vibe but it doesn't work - the area is too small and it doubling as a lobby kind of spoils the mood.

Anyway... We chose this hotel due to its downtown location as we didn't want to stay midtown. The location for us is excellent, near to little Italy, soho, battery park etc. It is minutes from several subway stations so has excellent access to many lines.

The rooms were very nice with lovely bathrooms. Yes there was dust on the mini bar items as other people have said. The Bliss toiletries smelt nice but really dried out our skin so take care. The beds are amazing and we slept very well indeed.

Tip - book through Hotwire for good deals.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend to people who want a great downtown location.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a fantastic view of the world trade centre redevelopment.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here for the Easter long weekend with my girlfriends and originally booked a room with 2 double beds. I booked the hotel on sale so it was a decent price for NYC. I've listed the pros vs cons of this hotel below:

Pros:
- Decently close to a major subway stop (Rector) which has access to good line that takes you into the central part of the city.
- Duane Reade and a small convenience store (Joe's Gourmet) is reasonably close by to pick up water and such.
- Easy access to Taxi (via intersection of the hotel) or via the doorman in the front of the hotel.
- Modern decor inside and very clean.
- LOVE the Bliss toiletries. No need to bring your own favourite ones b/c this one is high quality (Also sold in Sephora and it's not cheap)
- washroom was nice and modern. The shower area was quite roomy.
- Front desk was very friendly.

Cons:
- Construction noise outside (rebuilding of the WTO site) is VERY loud in the morning. You have to use earplugs, or else you will be awake quite early.
- We were told that the "double beds" room was sold out (first time it ever happened to me that a hotel told me this --i guess i have been lucky with my hotels until NOW). Front desk man squeezed 4 girls into a corner unit with a king sized bed and a rollaway bed. I mean, he was nice about it but we did not pay like almost $300 to sleep on an uncomfortable rollaway bed for 1 night each. was VERY disappointed with this. Also, their "corner unit" large room was not large at all. But this is prob b/c of the size of all NYC hotels.
- location was definitely not the most convenient if you are there to shop (not sight see).
- on the last day of our stay, the wind was so strong in NYC that it blew our 19th floor window open (approx 25 degrees in angle). Mind you, you can sit on the ledge (cushioned ledge couch style windows) so imagine if someone was actually sitting and leaning on the ledge/window at the the time the window all of a sudden gave in "by itself"... getting shivers thinking about this.

Overall, the was a decent stay but I don't feel the need to go back to W, considering that there are a lot of hotel options in NYC.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room that is not facing the construction site of TWO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hello

I'm sorry to hear this. I wish we had had the opportunity to discuss this while you were here. I can assure you that this is not typical of the W standards we strive to uphold for our guests!


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Generally love the Starwood products and usually W's. Definitely a young vibe so may not be the most ideal for families though our kids were with us. They loved the hotel and room. Had a great view and though they only had a king for us four they brought up feather beds with ample bedding so the kids were happy. Restaurant was OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Rooms are average to small with some very oddly designed lighting (note to push the on button on the side near the base, but not on the base). As characteristic with some of the other W hotels (Times Square, for example), the lobby is on an upper floor, so that helps getting and out of the hotel (not having to worry about the traffic on the ground level). Note that the hotel is directly facing the Ground Zero construction and visitor sites, so it can be a little messy, crowded and noisy. That said, the hotel is nice and clean with good amenities. I wouldn't recommend the hotel for families, but then that isn't traditionally the market for the W hotel chain.

Room Tip: To get away from the Ground Zero construction noise, ask for the highest floor that you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 123 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York – Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Freedom Tower. Power wheel and deal at BLT, or be seen at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever® makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.