We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't disappoint on second visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #27 of 456 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint on second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the moment I was greeted like an old friend by Kevin at reception, I felt like I was home at the Eventi. Perhaps he detected my slightly frazzled demeanor after a mix up at JFK. The hotel is very handy to nearly everything being at the Chelsea end of Midtown. And it's not in the middle of a depressing "hotel row" but in a modern building on 6th Ave.

I was offered an upgrade by email a few days before arrival. It's worth it. I was given a corner room on the 12th floor with a great view of the Empire State Building out the window. Nothing says that you're in the Big Apple more than when you pull back the curtains in the morning and there it is!

The staff were always pleasant and helpful. I left a small tip each day for housekeeping and was amazed to receive a hand written thank-you note on a few occasions. (I stayed there for nine nights) Patrick at the front desk was more than happy to spend time sorting out my tangled web of reservations (I had the 9 nights spread across four separate bookings). And there was always a big smile and greeting from the doormen and the staff at the nightly wine reception.

By the way I was there during the US Tennis Open and it was great that they had appropriately themed evenings. Being able to sit on the terrace with a glass of vino, watching the tennis on a giant screen attached to the building opposite while mingling with other guests made for a really great end to each day.

Just a few things. The elevators there have a mind of their own and you often have to wait for some time during busy periods. And don't rely too much on the complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby in the mornings. On a few occasions it had run out, and despite being told more would be coming it often didn't. Especially in the last half-hour of the allotted time. But there's Starbucks and Gregory's nearby.

One final thing. There's nothing worse than trying to read in bed with only a dim bedside lamp to light the room. The Eventi has bright book reading lamps on goosenecks on both sides of the cot. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    551
    111
    27
    14
See reviews for
344
826
133
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of September.
The hotel itself is in an uninspiring location, the area around the hotel is a little rough.
The hotel in is clean and well looked after, I agree with a previous reviewer that the towels in the rooms are not great and a couple of ours were discoloured.
The beds are very comfortable, we were on the top floor so not to much road noise
Our safe in the room did not work on arrival but was fixed immediately.
The staff are excellent. Very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The top floor is 23, not much noise, but you may have to pay for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I wanted to like this hotel. We spent our anniversary here and picked it over several other nice looking hotels.

For the record, we come to NYC 1-2 times a year and have stayed multiple times at other Kimpton properties. I'm a Kimpton card holder.

Checking in, we noticed that the floors were not very clean in the room and that some things appeared a little rundown, such as the curtains which were frayed at the bottom. This hotel offers no ice bucket and no ice dispenser on the floors. When my wife called down, she was told that they would send ice up. A half-an-hour later no ice had come and we had to call once again.

The air-conditioning system was very weak and we had to open the window both nights we were there. The towels were inferior quite frankly. They looked something out of a low end chain hotel; they were discolored and felt rough. The water pressure in the shower was weak. For the entire weekend stay we were left one small bar of soap for the sink and the shower. By this, I mean one bar and one bar only; not one bar for the shower and one bar for the sink.

Having left a nice tip on the next morning we expected the room to be clean. When we arrived back at our room we discovered that the floor had not been cleaned properly, there was only one roll of toilet paper that had already been opened and was partially used, and the floor was dirty. Looking down, I noticed a red pill on the floor that neither my wife nor I had dropped.

We visited the restaurant area and were surprised to find that the carpets were dirty and stained. The hostess was not very welcoming, seeming agitated by our presence.

Unlike the Muse Hotel, when we entered this property the attendants and clerks were huddled up at the desk talking to each other and did not welcome us as the Muse hotel does. I don't mean just once, I mean on multiple occasions when we entered the hotel. In a way, I realize this is a small thing but it's a big thing too.

The worst part of our stay with this hotel involves our daughter. She called the hotel to a try to get a bottle of wine and some sort of snack sent to room to celebrate our anniversary. She told us that she eventually was sent to somebody who had an accent so thick she couldn't understand him. After some difficult communications, she was told that that was something that could not be done. When she asked if they could simply send a snack such as a room service cake to the room for our anniversary and she was told that yes, that could be done but she would have to fax her drivers license and credit card information to the hotel in order to do it. Shocked, she declined to do this for obvious reasons.

On the morning of check out, I went downstairs and talked to the clerk, Patrick. I told him that we had several problems with the hotel and I told him about the problem my daughter had. He explained to me that that was hotel policy I was left with the impression that it was the 'way it was' and there was nothing he could do about it. I don't mean to imply he was uncivil or discourteous; he was not. But he offered no apologies or other solutions. The big problem for me here is that Patrick never asked about the other problems I had told him we had. Had he done so, I would've explained about the issues with the room that were really unacceptable for the amount of money we paid.

Again, we have come to New York City many times. Unfortunately, this hotel is simply not worth it for the amount of money paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
captbanjo,
Hey it looks like we missed our mark in regards to your overall stay with us and for that we are truly sorry. We have used all of your feedback with members of our team in hopes to improve our consistency. We hope to see you again and get the chance to win you back. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Eventi in June for a few days while visiting friends. From the first moment we stepped into the hotel, we were greeted by a welcoming staff who was more than willing to go the extra mile. We arrived a bit earlier than our check-in time, but the staff was more than happy to take hold our bags and take them to our room as we explored the city. They gave us great ideas for restaurants and places to see during our stay. The room and amenities themselves were exquisite. The room was comfortable, clean and inviting with a fantastic view of the city. Everything you could want from a hotel room! I would definitely stay at the Eventi again for the friendly staff, decor and overall quality. The daily wine hour was a great way to unwind after a long NYC day!

Room Tip: The suite was a great way to stay. Very comfortable and didn't have that cramped feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I'd stay here again based solely on our reception on arrival and departure! I wish I remembered her name, because the woman who checked us in and out was so kind, genuine and accommodating, she left us with a great impression. We were celebrating a birthday, and it was icing on the cake that we were upgraded to the penthouse (23rd floor) with sweeping city views, a bottle of champagne and a cupcake!

The room was small and simple, but centrally located, comfortable and clean. The Kimpton extras of free Wi-Fi and some complimentary mini bar snacks also leaves a great impression.

The only negatives, if that, would be some mediocre dining recommendations from a concierge and a verrrrrrrry late visit from housekeeping. I'd stay here again, and recommend it to others, in a New York minute!

Room Tip: High floors have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a geat stay!
Not only was the hotel immaculate and beautiful, the front desk was Amazing. They were busy due to fashion week , but not to busy to treat me as as an individual. I was greeted with sincerity and warmth. Not just "business" sincerity. The front desk was helpful with my questions about the perfect cup of coffee and to talk about my pets, which I was ecouraged to bring with me on my next trip because the people at the desk do dog walking.they were also very professional and were able and willing to meet my needs during my stay.
I typically travel to NYC on business. , and although this beautiful hotel is located in the wholesale district of Korea town, the subway was only 2 blocks away, and they could get a cab for me any time, day or night. Although I am a smoker, it is a non smoking hotel and they have made a convenient location outside for people like me. It was not an issue.
My room was amazing! With the most comfortable bed and best view ever. This hotel was a gem, with many spa amenities, and full of kindness and comfort , and I felt rich without having to empty my pockets ! I look forward to bringing my husband! So many gret reasons to stay here, what luxury!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is great. It's a very short walk from Penn Station, so it's ideal for anyone arriving to Manhattan by train. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were great, although the walls aren't the most soundproof they could possibly be. This was my second stay at the Eventi and I would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 456 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.