We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 452 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top place in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A wonderful example of Kimpton chic - very nice place, warm and thoughtful staff, luxe amenities, quirky and interesting features like the dual (rain and hand held) shower (which is HUGE by NY standards). Rooms are also large by NY standards - unlike many other Kimptons, this was purpose built, so it's a newer (5 years or so) building with all the amenities. It's a great place and often great value - sign up for their 'in touch' program (free) and they send specials and last minute deals. Valet parking is pricey. A very well run hotel.

Room Tip: book a regular room, and if they have 'city view' (ESB) rooms available, they'll move yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    531
    110
    26
    13
See reviews for
338
796
127
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful boutique modern hotel! 10-15 minute walk to Times Square! Very clean and comfortable beds. Our room on the 21st floor overlook the beautiful city skyline! Has a very nice open deck and happy hour daily! Nice size fitness center and free bicycles (first come first served basis). The staff is very friendly and helpful. They also have many complimentary items that other hotels just don't have (too many to list). So if you happen to have forgotten to pack s omeething, it is likely on that list! They also have free delicious coffee in the lobby every morning. I would definately visit this property again!

Room Tip: Top floors are definately the better views of the NYC skyline!
See more room tips
Green Features: They are surely a "green" hotel with many environmentally friendly practices
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

As a former resident of NYC and one who visits the greatest city in the world multiple times a year, for both business and pleasure, I have had occasion to stay at many of the city's finer properties. Eventi has become my NYC home away from home. As with many Kimpton hotels, the staff distinguish their hotels from the competition. This is especially the case with Eventi. Visit after visit, Assistant Front Office Manager Gabriella Monte has gone above and beyond. On my latest visit, accompanied by my son, Concierge Kevin Rountree had created a wonderful caricature drawing of my son, drawn off of a photo that I had shared from a prior trip. Like most people, I appreciate attentive, individualized service when I travel. I especially appreciate it when my loved ones are meant to feel welcomed and special. Well done Kimpton Hotels and especially well done Eventi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Been travelling a fair bit - I LOVE the Kimpton Brand - I go back to the Epic in Miami often, but wow was the eventi a disappointment ?

From the checking-in, where at 16:00 (4pm) I was told that my room wasn't ready, that I had a common surname(wait for it) - I left to go shopping around the corner. On my return, the chap behind the check in desk could not (a) remember my common surname and (b) forgot that he tried to check me in an hour prior!

I was later joined by the rest of our group, flying in from London. Wanting to put our feet up, and have a beer to chill out, we were told that the Bar on the 2nd floor was 'a Private Event' and as such not open. When I asked our hostess if they were running a hotel (with ammenities for guests) or a conference /events centre, it was all lost on her.

Suffice to say, we were made to sit in the lobby, tried to order a beer but the waitress (probably hired on looks and not command of the english language) could not take the order.

We got some vouchers to make up for our 'inconvenience' - worth 'a drink' each. The next night we tried to redeem them for bloody mary's - only to be told that they would not cover the cost of any cocktails - house wine only. I gave them to some wine drinking folk and left.

The rooms are OK, the hotel have no character. Better bet is to stay in the Village! His area is all commercial and devoid of what i would call the 'real New York'.

In short - Kimpton is great, the Eventi isn't! !!

Room Tip: Stay in East Village!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Calvin L,
Sure looks like with missed with you on your stay with us - sorry to read. You are right we don't currently have a bar in the lobby, but that doesn't mean we won't always...hint hint! We look forward to winning you back. Have a great rest of 2013 and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I like the Kimpton brand. I like the fact that they are completely, absolutely Pet Friendly and I like the feeling that the understand that God is in the details.

We recently visited New York City on a last-minute trip, and i wanted to bring our two dogs. I made a reservation for them at the D Pet Hotel, and was pleasantly surprised to find the Eventi Hotel is two blocks away.

We were greeted warmly. Our one bedroom suite was comfortable and surprisingly (for NYC) large. I love the deep bathtub in the shower -- seems to be a Kimpton specialty (first saw this in Baltimore). We had an excellent dinner on our first night: the service was great, and the food was abundant and delicious.

The only small glitch was that they don't have ice machines, and didn't seem to have insulated ice buckets. Her Ladyship likes having ice the morning -- but is not fond of calling room service (etc.) to get it. At my suggestion the hotel sent someone out to buy a small cooler, like one you'd take on a picnic. It was a perfect solution, and kept the ice frozen for the duration of our stay.

The broadband was fast. TV's large and modern. Lots of plug sockets to charge our road warrior devices.

I have two teeny, tiny criticisms. When we checked in the bellman was more involved filling out some sort of card for the car, and left Her Ladyship to schlep the bags. I even mentioned this to him, but the form took priority over our luggage. (I also like to be vigilant with luggage on a bustling sidewalk -- lest it go walkabout.)

We checked out, but wanted to leave our baggage until later in the afternoon. The front desk told me I'd need to go back to the room with the bellman for "security reasons." I told them I was not doing this, and they arranged to (apparently) send a security guard in my place. Apparently "union rules" prohibit a bellman from going into an empty guest room. Odd rules -- I suspect it's more related to tipping rather than anything else.

Her Ladyship and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back to the Eventi.

Room Tip: We took advantage of the Kimpton upgrade program and were upgraded (for $95 per night) to a one bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at Eventi and I will say, they did not disappoint. The rooms feature outstanding views of the city with wall to wall windows facing the Empire State Building. The cleanliness is impeccable. Even the pipes under the sinks (yes I looked) I don't miss anything when it comes to cleanliness and neither does Eventi.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I cant say enough about this hotel! Talk about anticipating a guests needs and delivering beyond expectations... this hotel is fantastic!
Quiet, comfy, fairly generous room, well-appointed.
The service is absolutely terrific! I had an emergency and needed some toiletries. A sign on the bathroom shelf welcomes you to call the front desk if you've forgotten anything and if they dont have the item, they offer to go out and purchase it for you. I took them up on this offer and within 15 minutes, my disaster was averted. After being at the US Open tennis one night, we arrived to the hotel hungry, about midnight. We felt like a NY pizza and asked the front desk who was the best company for pizza delivery. They offered to send the bell man out to pick it up for us because the best pizza they knew of, didnt deliver. It was one generous offer after another and really genuine. The bed is the most comfortable bed I've slept in any hotel I've been to anywhere in the world and the room was absolutely silent. All in all, one of the best hotel stays I've ever had- and I don't like staying in hotels! Thank you Eventi, you sure know what you're doing. Congrats to you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 452 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.