We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever for Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #30 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashua, NH
1 review
“Best Hotel Ever for Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My daughter booked this hotel and my husband and I usually stay in the "Big Name" hotels, not anymore after this wonderful experience. The staff are so friendly, accomodating and just plain make you feel special. At check in the person overheard us talking about my husband's birthday. We came back from dinner that night to a lovely card, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries from the concierge - totally unexpected but very much appreciated. They have a great wine bar from 5-6 with free, good wine and fruit and cheese and again the staff welcomes you so warmly, removing plates, and making sure you find a good seat and you are not even paying for the drinks. Same wonderful service at breakfast. Rooms are very well appointed and if you forget anything they have a list of items they will give supply. Closets come with an umbrella, cozy socks, robe - just lots of nice little touches. Can't say enough good things - would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    536
    110
    27
    13
See reviews for
338
804
128
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Bridal Party stayed at this hotel for the weekend of Bachlorette celebrations and we had a great stay. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Their attraction and restaurant recommendations were excellent. The rooms were very nice and I did not want to get out of my bed. Our stay was comfortable, clean, and fun. The hotel also houses a lounge which was great and the location is extremely central to move around and explore from. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and some include a pull out couch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I would rate this hotel slightly above a 3 star. Was there for 3 nights and nothing much to say about them.

Arrived at the hotel at 11:30 a.m. after a 20 hour flight and had to wait in the lobby until 1:00 p.m. before they could give me a room.

The room wasn't too bad considering it was NYC and most hotels are cramped for space. The bathroom was very nice and spacious. If you are like me and don't like dark rooms, you will not like this hotel. lighting was very dim during the night, although the day light was nice since it was a corner room and it had windows on 2 sides.

The check in staff had an attitude and seemed irritated or preoccupied and was more busy on her mobile phone than her work, but everyone else seemed very pleasant & welcoming.

My agent wrongly booked me for a day less than I required and the hotel was nice enough to extend my stay without making any fuss over it.

The selection of food in the room service menu didn't look like much.

I have stayed at better hotels for the same price.

If you don't mind paying a little ore, stay at the London NYC, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
MuneerH,
Thanks for your feedback. We are working on improving the lighting in our guest rooms, but so glad you did appreciate all the natural light from our floor to ceiling windows that we have in all guest rooms. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

That is really a great hotel: Nice design, relatively spacious rooms, good location and a fantastic self-served bar. Service is good and you have all kinds of options for food next door. The lobby is well decorated and catchy, rooms have all the amenities expected and the value is very high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Savask,
Thanks so much for the review - who wouldnt love being called great? We hope to be your only choice when returning to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was an amazing stay at an amazing property--everyone at the hotel was beyond welcoming, always had a smile, always helped as much as they could. Kimpton does an astounding job at training their folks to really deliver in terms of customer service.

We were in NYC for a long weekend, for my girlfriend's birthday, and we got upgraded to a lovely City View room (seeing the ESB up close like that is a treat!) with floor to ceiling windows. The whole hotel is comfortable, chic, and just plain cozy. The bathroom was huge, compared to other NYC hotels.

Location in Chelsea is perfect--we walked up to Central Park one day, and down to Little Italy for dinner the next.

We'll definitely be returning to the Eventi. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Empire State Building, if one is available. Even from the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Teague B,
Thanks for the great review - we love 5 star reviews! We are so pleased to read you found everyone so welcoming. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Eventi is a fun hotel. The decor is very cool. The lobby is a great place to sit and drink the complimentary coffee in the morning. Kimpton's wine and cheese hour was fun. Our room was spacious & very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Igabe,
Thanks - we sure do love to have fun here at Eventi! So happy to read you were able to join us for our evening wine recption - how fun! We hope to see more and more of you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Second trip to NY, second stay at Eventi, no second thoughts.
Booked a suite for April 15-23, got an upgrade, free and fast wi-fi, coffee in the morning, wine in the evening and an awesome location, but that is all normal at the Eventi. What I can't seem to get used to is how friendly and helpful the staff is. From the concierge to the doormen and the maids, everybody were first to serve and with a smile. My first visit was with my girlfriend during hurricane Irene, when we were given free meals inside the hotel for a weekend. My second was with my parents. Both were superb. I am a Kimpton fan.

P.S. I really appreciated the precor machines at the gym.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Nikkostikis,
FIVE STAR REVIEW! Thanks so much! We agree with you, we have a team here at Eventi that truly loves to come to work everyday. It doesn't feel like work when we are here because we love our job and our guests. Look forward to being your only NYC hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.