We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Kimpton Gem..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #28 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey Shore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Another Kimpton Gem..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Eventi due to the fact that we had to plan a wedding close to the hotel. The wedding party had a room block at the location. As I have stated previously, Kimpton Hotel Group are some of the best hotels there are. The properties are very nice and the staff go above and beyond for their guests. This was no exception on our stay. The hotel is in a great location near everything and with mass transit you are right in the center of the city. Eventi has Print Restaurant that I can recommend. Farm to table, New American cuisine. It also has a great rooftop lounge with a beautiful view of the entire city. Very quality drinks and a very nice spot to unwind after a long day of sightseeing or being on vacation. The rooms are very nicely decorated in Kimpton style. Very chic and modern. Most comfortable beds and very nice amenities. I highly suggest any of the properties in NYC that belong to the Kimpton group.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    569
    114
    31
    14
See reviews for
356
857
136
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a great hotel. It was exceptional and a great price for what you get. My husband and I planned a trip to NYC to help celebrate my 40th bday but a few days prior to leaving we hadn't booked a hotel. I got a email for a bday special from Klimpton and decided to try their hotel again. I had previously been to one for conference in LA and it was great. I got a great bday rate. This boutique hotel was hip, clean and everyone was extremely pleasant and courteous. We got a corner room and had the most spectacular view of the city. The room was clean, hip and well appointed. It was also much larger and nicer than other 3-4 star hotels iIve been in in NYC. Shortly after we got there a bottle of champagne and cupcakes came for my bday. I thought it was so thoughtful and a nice touch. We asked for a late check out and the front desk allowed us to do that without problem. I walked everywhere, to dinner to Union square, to Chelsea/village for boutique shopping and 5th ave for the larger stores. My husband worked in the room for many hours and found it to be a great place to work, sunny, comfortable and quiet. There were also other really nice amenities, like drinks in the early evening, coffee/tea in the morning. Everything was perfect, I would stay there again next time we go to NYC. We also have recommended to many of our friends who go to NYC frequently as an outstanding place and much more than expected for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We're a couple in our 50s who stayed at the Eventi Hotel for four days in mid-December, 2012. The city was packed and 4-Star hotels in central Manhattan were going for a premium ($400+/night). The Eventi's good ratings, plus with rooms having city views, was the major draw for us.

We found the hotel to largely live up to our expectations. It has a modern boutique feel, with a smaller upscale lobby. Even though arriving around 9pm at night, we still had to wait about 40 minutes for our room to be prepared. The front desk person, Kevin, was professional, welcoming, and friendly throughout, providing a complimentary bottle of wine for our trouble.

We had a 14th floor corner room that was spacious by NYC standards. And true to advance billing, the floor-to-ceiling windows had a relatively unobstructed view - southerly in our case. We heard the northerly views of the Empire State Building are better, but we enjoyed our view, especially with the additional mini-window on the adjacent wall of our corner room - well worth requesting, if available.

Otherwise, the room was clean, well appointed in muted colors, with a marbled bathroom and a big comfy king bed featuring premium bedding. When the windows were closed, we heard very little traffic noise and slept comfortably. The lack of a bathtub comprised perhaps the only negative. If that's important, they do offer them in their handicap-accessible rooms.

Lastly, we found the location at 30th and 5th Ave to be less than ideal for our purposes. It's a bit business-oriented, with fewer restaurant/bars within easy walking distance than we desired. We also tended to spend our time ranging from the theater district north to the park, and so usually hailed a cab. But we did wind up walking 20 blocks from a theater rather than trying to grab a taxi after the show, so it can be done, but it's a hike in evening clothes.

Overall, we found the Eventi to be a quite satisfactory experience. It's not designed for children, and so would recommend for couples/singles looking to enjoy a few days in the Big Apple.

Room Tip: Suggest corner room - north facing toward the Empire State Building ideally, but south facing is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Eventi between Christmas and New Year and had a wonderful experience. I have stayed here before on business and always enjoyed the service and accommodations. This was the first NY trip for my husband and son - and they had an equally enjoyable time at the Eventi. Great location, wonderful rooms, and fantastic staff!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Julie R,
Five star review - thanks! So happy that you have found Eventi to be perfect for you on both business and leisure travel. We are thrilled to read that your husband and son enjoyed their holidays and we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night while in town for a show. I love Kimpton hotels so decided to try this relatively new one. Front desk staff was warm and friendly and granted me an early check-in. Had reserved a city view deluxe king room and got upgraded to an executive suite. Although somewhat small, the 20th floor room was very comfortable. Nice bed, pillows, and linens. Clean! And very luxurious bathroom with great Etro products. Didn't eat at the restaurant. Cool public areas and wierd huge outside TV playing football.

The neighborhood isn't anything special until you walk a couple of blocks, but it is convenient to anything in Manhattan. I will definitly stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
frackit,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed all aspects of the property and we hope to be your NYC go-to hotel for years to come. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a long road trip, it was such a pleasant feeling to be greeted with a warm welcome from Jocelyn. Upon hearing it was my boyfriend's first visit to NYC, Jocelyn upgraded our room to the 18th floor with an amazing city view with a bottle of wine and a hand written welcome note. We have stayed at several Kimpton hotels in other cities and were concerned that the rumors of NYC hotel rooms being very small was going to make our stay slightly uncomfortable. On the contrary, it wasn't tight and the bathroom was very large.

The hotel host a complimentary happy hour daily. After running out of cheese&crackers, the server personally found me and delivered a personal plate full of my favorite selections.

The location is within close proximity to Times Square in one direction and SoHo in the other providing a brief walk or short cab ride to some of the greatest bars, restaurants and shopping.

We are Kimpton rewards members; however, the quality of service and upgrades were provided to us prior to revealing our status. The management and staff at this hotel exemplified superior customer service and made every guest feel like they were first class.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Phly_gurl,
Five Star Reviews Make Us Smile! Thanks so much for your detailed and glowing review. We just read it aloud at our shift change meeting and hi-fived Jocelyn for ensuring you were welcomed so well. We hope to be your NYC home away from home for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a truly great hotel. Everybody who works here is really nice. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Shower and bathroom are huge. Whoever said this was far from everything is completely wrong. Everything is close. Next time we go to NY I will not hesitate to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
theklingon,
Boom! 5 star reviews make us so happy! We agree with you that we have an amazing group of people here at Eventi. It truly is a pleasure for all of us to come to work and be a part of such a great team. We hope to see more and more of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.