We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Double Offer
Ranked #30 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, poor location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Eventi, a boutique hotel at Sixth Avenue and 30th Street, is part of the Kimpton chain and is typically attractive, with a pleasant, helpful staff. The room was exceptionally quiet. But the neighborhood is pretty dreary -- not unsafe, but unattractive, convenient only to Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, and in the middle of a retail district offering cheap wholesale handbags and jewelry. Next time, I'll choose a better location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the Empire State Building. And don't get there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Virginia D,
Thanks for your recent review of your visit with us. So happy to read that you found the hotel and staff to your liking. We hope when you hotel needs are here in North Chelsea you come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,301
    525
    106
    25
    13
See reviews for
334
778
125
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great Staff!!

We stayed at the Eventi the first week in December, a particularly hard week to find a hotel in NYC. From the moment we checked in, we made friends with the staff. They were friendly and fun and extra nice to my 12-year old son. They recognized us each time we walked in and out, which made things really great. The great thing that we noticed is that the staff really liked each other and seemed to have a lot of fun working there. We particularly loved the restaurant manager, Tim, who took great care of us and was so funny and attentive to us.

Oh and it was my birthday so they nicely left us a note and some cupcakes in the room, which was great!

The room was not super big (but I guess this is NYC). Ours had 2 queen beds and not much room for anything else. The one negative was that it was rather dimly lit even when we turned on every last light, but from what I understand this is a green hotel and they are saving on energy and wattage. However, we would have liked to have the room a bit brighter since there was also a lot of woodwork and dark closet doors which also made the room on the dark side even during the day. The beds were extremely comfortable with nice white fluffy duvet comforters and down pillows. There were a lot of outlets and close to the bed (and located on the nightstands) which were great for charging phones and computers.

We were on a high floor with nice views. The rooms with two beds don't face the empire state building, which was a bummer because we hoped to see it from the windows. The hotel is centrally located and we walked from Penn Station and walked to Bryant Park which is beautiful around Christmastime.

The 2nd floor restaurant has a glass ceiling and is open to the sky which is beautiful at night and from what I understand the roof retracts which would be awesome on a summer night (which they said they do).

Overall we had a great stay!

Room Tip: ask for a high room and one facing the empire state building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
burplehippo,
You are right, we really do love working here and we do have a ton of fun! Thanks for your review and mostly thanks for spending your birthday with us. We hope you stay with us for years to come when you have something to celebrate, or actually stay with us whenever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having stayed at the Ink 48 a few years ago on returning to NYC i figured to try another Kimpton hotel. So full of expectation and a hard act to follow i arrived at the hotel and i was not disappointed. There we a few hiccups but they got resolved in a timely manner by the hotel staff. That was even after i return back to the UK.

The hotel itself if in a great location. A couple of blocks from the subway and stones throw from a shopping haven :)

The room was big with lots of space, all the things you need in the room, TV, iPod dock and a really comfy bed! I would of taken this home if i could of fitted it in my case :)
Lots of power sockets for charging phones etc.

Staff are really attentive and friendly and want to ensure that your stay if perfect.
The wine hour is always worth a visit even ten after a longs day sightseeing and shopping...

Room Tip: Join Kimpton intouch to get the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
schoozie,
Who wouldn't love to be called BEAUTIFUL? So thanks! Happy to read that all hiccups were smoothed out and that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see more of you in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned to the UK following a 4 night stay at the Eventi.

We were impressed from the moment we walked in - excellent check in, efficient and friendly staff. We went for my 30th birthday and I was given a little present at check in. A big thank you to Neville who sent Champagne, cupcakes and chocolates up as a special treat - what a lovely touch.

Hotel location is fantastic. Very close to the Empire State - fantastic views from the hotel. We requested a room with a view and they didn't disappoint. We were given a room on the top floor with brilliant views across the city. It's around a 10 min walk to Times Square and very close to the Subway station. Lots of nice restaurants and deli's close by.

WIne hour was marvellous! We were really impressed and the bar and atmosphere was delightful. Just what you need after a long day sightseeing.

Recommend Tony's restaurant off Times Square if you're looking for a brilliant meal at reasonable prices. The portions are enormous without skimping on quality. The steak special out-did us. Don't think we even ate half!!

Loved this hotel. Really really impressed and will definitely go back. Oh, and the comfiest bed I have ever ever slept in!!!!

Room Tip: Request a high floor. We were on 23rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Jen C,
SUPERB! Thanks, and thanks so much for staying with us to celebrate. So glad to read that you enjoyed everything from top to bottom. Comfiest bed ever - we agree! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed in four hotels in our recent trip across the US and this was our favourite. The location is great and was one of our key reasons for choosing Eventi. We arrived by train into New York Penn and it's only a short 5 min walk to the hotel. Being located on 6th Avenue at 30th Street means you're pretty central for the typical tourist area. The Empire State Building is just around the corner and Times Square is a 10 min stroll north.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern in terms of the reception area and the rooms. I was amazed, everything looked brand new. The room was very spacious with a generously proportioned bathroom. The décor made the room feel very special and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The staff were very helpful and check-in/out was a very swift process.

We paid £148 per room per night which is fairly pricey, but I didn't feel like I'd been short changed. The hotel and location were worth it.

My one issue with the hotel was the wi-fi access. Supposedly free, but we never managed to get it working. You have to fill in your details and wait for an email which gives you the necessary login details. Spot the big error here - how can I check my email if I don't have wi-fi?! 5 months later, the email still hasn't arrived...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Radioface,
So glad we are your favorite! Thanks so much for the detailed review and the 5 out or 5 star ratings! I am emailing you privately to make sure we have you all setup with our loyalty program. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Eventi in New York. It was a great location,and the staff is so professional and met our every wish. The room is so comfortable from the bed to the little details. Love every detail, the lights, the outlets for phones and computers that are strategically placed and suprisingly we didn't hear the NY noise like many other hotels. The wine hour was a nice touch...can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Jean H,
5 star ratings make us so happy! Thanks for the review and as you said, we can't wait for you to stay here again with us. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon College, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a business trip. The front desk and hospitality staff were very welcoming. The room was a little small, but not unexpected in NY. Sometimes it is the little things, I loved the plugs in the night stands for my phone!! Very clean, nice television, very comfy beds with tons of pillows. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
SherrieARC,
5 star review - BOOM! Thanks so much for your review. It's so great to see just how many business travelers love our space. We hope to be your home away from home for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Amex, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.