We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hosted Wine Hour
Ranked #30 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“top class service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at Eventi for one night to celebrate a birthday. Check in was quick and efficient, we were upgraded because of our celebration without request which was a lovely surprised. The hotel is nicely done, and the rooms are very modern but comfortable, and if your a shower fan theirs is fantastic.
The area the hotel is in is not the most beautiful in the city but its very well located for both midtown and downtown activites and close to public transport which is very convenient.
If your pay painful attention to detail there were a couple bits in the room that could use a cosmetic refresh but it was minor. The best part were the staff who were friendly and helpful as can be. If you are looking for great value and top service cant beat the eventi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
ASBNy,
Top Class - Who wouldn't like to be called that? Hey thanks for your detailed review, we appreciate the feedback. So happy to read you had a great celebration and hope that you celebrate for years to come with us. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,194
    483
    103
    24
    12
See reviews for
298
707
114
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is one I will not return to. You pay $2 to make a local NYC call. You pay $7 to use their computer simply to print a one page train ticket. It took them 4 hours to bring me the coffee maker I requested. This is supposed to be a small LUXURY hotel...well Klimpton, it is not that at all. It is the usual souless, enormous, robotic employee cavern of a place. Miniature rooms. No tub in room. No complimentary water--you pay a lot for one little bottle. Not worth the time unless you enjoy this kind of place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
molly j,
Thanks for your recent review. Seems like we weren't your cup of tea - sorry to hear. We really pride ourselves on being able to provide a personalized experience so we are sorry you didn't feel that way. Happy Holidays to you and yours and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Warm welcome from Susu upon check-in in the impressive lobby area and she immediately wished my partner a happy birthday (the reason for our visit). We had a corner room on the 16th floor overlooking the Empire State Building so great views - and great sunrises each morning! The room was larger than we expected; huge comfortable bed with lovely linens, large bathroom with enormous and excellent shower, fluffy bathrobes (even a decent hairdryer in the bathroom which is a bonus). We were very happy with our 'home' for 3 nights. The location was also easy access to Penn St Station, Madison Square Gardens, Macy's etc - easy walking distance to most sights but not as noisy an area as Times Square, etc.

We arrived pretty late on the first night so just went into the hotel bar for a quick drink and bar snack upon arrival. It has a nice ambience though the drinks were a little pricey (it is a hotel in Manhattan afterall!)

The hotel also does some nice touches for guests - inclusive continental breakfast which was very good - fresh juices, tea & coffee, wide choice of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, breads, cheese & meats. You can choose hot buffet items for an additionsl 12 dollars or choose from the menu. We found the continental breakfast was plenty for us and breakfast is served in a light & airy conservatory.

They also provide free wine hour from 5pm-6pm, again very welcome after a long day sightseeing.

When you need to check in online for your flights home, you can go to the business centre and use their PC to check in and print out your boarding card for free. That was a great, hassle-free service that meant we weren't waiting on busy staff to help us do this.

We signed up to the Kimpton InTouch membership before we visited - simply join online for free and you get perks such as free wifi and a voucher for free drinks from the minibar.

I think I've previously read complaints about maids walking into the room when guests are still in there but that didn't happen with us. There isn't a 'do not disturb' sign to hang on the outside of the door; it's a light switch change next to the door. If the room is empty then the light is orange; if you don't want to be disturbed then flick the switch and it changes to red, telling the maids not to enter. We weren't told about this but figured it out when seeing a neighbour's room light was a different colour!

Overall an excellent hotel with great rooms and friendly, professional staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the Empire State Building - great to see the building but also get the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
barbietowers247,
Boom- 5 star review - Thanks! I think the best thing about reading your review is that you called us your home. We hope to be your home away from home for years to come. And we just went down and hi-fived Susu for welcoming you appropriately. Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights for a wedding and were very pleasantly surprised at how good this hotel is especially given the relatively moderate price for a hotel of this quality in NYC. We had a very nice one bedroom suite which was more than adequate in size and quite comfortable, The staff was very friendly and the room service breakfast was very good. We also went to a brunch at the hotel for the wedding guests the morning after the wedding and it was excellent as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
c59a -
Who wouldn't love to be called excellent? We are blushing - so thanks! So happy to hear that we were perfect for your recent trip to NYC and that the wedding was a success. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and really liked the hotel. You step right in off a busy 6th Ave into a very nice lobby that relaxes you immediately. The check in was very quick. We thought the rooms very a little small but very modern and relaxing. This is a great place to stay for a night out in the city. There's a good restaurant connected to the hotel that serves many different types of food and you can sit in a movie theater style set up and watch a huge screen TV (I'm not sure if it was owned by the hotel or not, but was a nice experience).

Room Tip: We had a room facing 6th Ave which was nice to see the Empire State building lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
travelwithkids_7,
Cool name - we love kids and family travelers! So happy to read that you found our lobby to be a safe haven for you and your visit was relaxing. We look forward to seeing more of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

perfect location for city explorers!

very good bed and bed linen. clean rooms but not spacious.
I was surprised about very good breakfast in hotel. room service really fast and no mistake.

reception service friendly and helpful.

I didn't see that hotel is realy good before.
but you can see how hotel getting older and some details are broken down.

Room Tip: perfect location for city explorers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
2010moscow,
Thanks for your recent review and for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see more of you. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Kimpton Eventi is a great hotel, very nice rooms with nice views, a nice location, and great staff. One thing that seems to stand out with Kimpton hotels, and especially the Eventi, is the friendly,knowledgable, and professional staff. I was on a short business trip, accompanied by my wife. Right on Sixth ave, and an easy ride or walk to shopping and Times square. Our room was on the 17th floor, with corner views looking up and down Sixth Ave. And the bed was so comfortable, better than home. We had a great time, and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Rw0000,
Hey thanks so much for your glowing review! It makes us so happy to read that you found our staff to be so great - we couldn't agree with you more! We hope to be your NYC home away from home when you make it down from Amherst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list