We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, warm welcome & friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #28 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, warm welcome & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Warm welcome from Susu upon check-in in the impressive lobby area and she immediately wished my partner a happy birthday (the reason for our visit). We had a corner room on the 16th floor overlooking the Empire State Building so great views - and great sunrises each morning! The room was larger than we expected; huge comfortable bed with lovely linens, large bathroom with enormous and excellent shower, fluffy bathrobes (even a decent hairdryer in the bathroom which is a bonus). We were very happy with our 'home' for 3 nights. The location was also easy access to Penn St Station, Madison Square Gardens, Macy's etc - easy walking distance to most sights but not as noisy an area as Times Square, etc.

We arrived pretty late on the first night so just went into the hotel bar for a quick drink and bar snack upon arrival. It has a nice ambience though the drinks were a little pricey (it is a hotel in Manhattan afterall!)

The hotel also does some nice touches for guests - inclusive continental breakfast which was very good - fresh juices, tea & coffee, wide choice of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, breads, cheese & meats. You can choose hot buffet items for an additionsl 12 dollars or choose from the menu. We found the continental breakfast was plenty for us and breakfast is served in a light & airy conservatory.

They also provide free wine hour from 5pm-6pm, again very welcome after a long day sightseeing.

When you need to check in online for your flights home, you can go to the business centre and use their PC to check in and print out your boarding card for free. That was a great, hassle-free service that meant we weren't waiting on busy staff to help us do this.

We signed up to the Kimpton InTouch membership before we visited - simply join online for free and you get perks such as free wifi and a voucher for free drinks from the minibar.

I think I've previously read complaints about maids walking into the room when guests are still in there but that didn't happen with us. There isn't a 'do not disturb' sign to hang on the outside of the door; it's a light switch change next to the door. If the room is empty then the light is orange; if you don't want to be disturbed then flick the switch and it changes to red, telling the maids not to enter. We weren't told about this but figured it out when seeing a neighbour's room light was a different colour!

Overall an excellent hotel with great rooms and friendly, professional staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the Empire State Building - great to see the building but also get the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
barbietowers247,
Boom- 5 star review - Thanks! I think the best thing about reading your review is that you called us your home. We hope to be your home away from home for years to come. And we just went down and hi-fived Susu for welcoming you appropriately. Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    568
    113
    31
    14
See reviews for
355
857
136
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights for a wedding and were very pleasantly surprised at how good this hotel is especially given the relatively moderate price for a hotel of this quality in NYC. We had a very nice one bedroom suite which was more than adequate in size and quite comfortable, The staff was very friendly and the room service breakfast was very good. We also went to a brunch at the hotel for the wedding guests the morning after the wedding and it was excellent as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
c59a -
Who wouldn't love to be called excellent? We are blushing - so thanks! So happy to hear that we were perfect for your recent trip to NYC and that the wedding was a success. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and really liked the hotel. You step right in off a busy 6th Ave into a very nice lobby that relaxes you immediately. The check in was very quick. We thought the rooms very a little small but very modern and relaxing. This is a great place to stay for a night out in the city. There's a good restaurant connected to the hotel that serves many different types of food and you can sit in a movie theater style set up and watch a huge screen TV (I'm not sure if it was owned by the hotel or not, but was a nice experience).

Room Tip: We had a room facing 6th Ave which was nice to see the Empire State building lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
travelwithkids_7,
Cool name - we love kids and family travelers! So happy to read that you found our lobby to be a safe haven for you and your visit was relaxing. We look forward to seeing more of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

perfect location for city explorers!

very good bed and bed linen. clean rooms but not spacious.
I was surprised about very good breakfast in hotel. room service really fast and no mistake.

reception service friendly and helpful.

I didn't see that hotel is realy good before.
but you can see how hotel getting older and some details are broken down.

Room Tip: perfect location for city explorers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
2010moscow,
Thanks for your recent review and for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see more of you. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Kimpton Eventi is a great hotel, very nice rooms with nice views, a nice location, and great staff. One thing that seems to stand out with Kimpton hotels, and especially the Eventi, is the friendly,knowledgable, and professional staff. I was on a short business trip, accompanied by my wife. Right on Sixth ave, and an easy ride or walk to shopping and Times square. Our room was on the 17th floor, with corner views looking up and down Sixth Ave. And the bed was so comfortable, better than home. We had a great time, and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Rw0000,
Hey thanks so much for your glowing review! It makes us so happy to read that you found our staff to be so great - we couldn't agree with you more! We hope to be your NYC home away from home when you make it down from Amherst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon, nh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the welcome at the front desk, to the last moment, this stay was great. Service was prompt, always with a smile and pleasant greetings, everyone let us know they wanted to be of service to make our stay tops. My room had a view of the Empire State Building and it was lovely at night. Room very clean, best hotel bed I've had in a very long time, bathroom luxurious...amenities high quality.
They take making women traveling alone feel comfortable and safe very seriously.
Concierge service guided us to fabulous steak house and gave us easy directions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
carlaqLebanon_Nh,
Thanks so much for the 5 star review. So happy to found everything perfect and to your liking. Next time we are coming with you to that great steakhouse! Have a lovely Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The bed was comfortable, bathroom amazing, Kimpton Rewards coupon for minibar and the free WiFI appreciated. Also, the air in the room was amazing, but I could not have the air conditioning/heat on at night because something in the unit was rattling. So could not use as white noise.

We purchased room via Snique Away and I bought the 12th floor deluxe view room. We made one special request and that was that we only had one night in NYC and it was my daughters first time, so said we'd love the Empire State building view BUT I am also very sensitive to sound (thus the view room purchase) and specifically requested not to be next to elevator and clearly stated that our sound avoidance needs trumped desire for view. So despite this request, we ere put in a room directly in front of the elevators, not backed up to them, so I thought maybe it would be OK and didn't request to be changed. As it turns out, the elevators were not the problem; we were also next to some shaft and in the middle of the night there was this awful banging sound that went on and on. I don't know if it was pipes or something else changing temperature, but it woke me up and kept me up for quite some time. We were on the 23rd floor and directly across from the elevator, 2305 I believe. If you want a quiet room, I would ask to avoid being next to any shafts, elevator or otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid any and all shafts! Empire State Building view was great to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
eemserms,
How fun! So happy to read you had a nice mother and daughter trip here in NYC. Hope to see you again next time you ladies are on the east coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.