We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #30 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Kimpton Eventi is a great hotel, very nice rooms with nice views, a nice location, and great staff. One thing that seems to stand out with Kimpton hotels, and especially the Eventi, is the friendly,knowledgable, and professional staff. I was on a short business trip, accompanied by my wife. Right on Sixth ave, and an easy ride or walk to shopping and Times square. Our room was on the 17th floor, with corner views looking up and down Sixth Ave. And the bed was so comfortable, better than home. We had a great time, and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Rw0000,
Hey thanks so much for your glowing review! It makes us so happy to read that you found our staff to be so great - we couldn't agree with you more! We hope to be your NYC home away from home when you make it down from Amherst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    536
    110
    26
    13
See reviews for
338
804
127
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lebanon, nh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the welcome at the front desk, to the last moment, this stay was great. Service was prompt, always with a smile and pleasant greetings, everyone let us know they wanted to be of service to make our stay tops. My room had a view of the Empire State Building and it was lovely at night. Room very clean, best hotel bed I've had in a very long time, bathroom luxurious...amenities high quality.
They take making women traveling alone feel comfortable and safe very seriously.
Concierge service guided us to fabulous steak house and gave us easy directions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
carlaqLebanon_Nh,
Thanks so much for the 5 star review. So happy to found everything perfect and to your liking. Next time we are coming with you to that great steakhouse! Have a lovely Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The bed was comfortable, bathroom amazing, Kimpton Rewards coupon for minibar and the free WiFI appreciated. Also, the air in the room was amazing, but I could not have the air conditioning/heat on at night because something in the unit was rattling. So could not use as white noise.

We purchased room via Snique Away and I bought the 12th floor deluxe view room. We made one special request and that was that we only had one night in NYC and it was my daughters first time, so said we'd love the Empire State building view BUT I am also very sensitive to sound (thus the view room purchase) and specifically requested not to be next to elevator and clearly stated that our sound avoidance needs trumped desire for view. So despite this request, we ere put in a room directly in front of the elevators, not backed up to them, so I thought maybe it would be OK and didn't request to be changed. As it turns out, the elevators were not the problem; we were also next to some shaft and in the middle of the night there was this awful banging sound that went on and on. I don't know if it was pipes or something else changing temperature, but it woke me up and kept me up for quite some time. We were on the 23rd floor and directly across from the elevator, 2305 I believe. If you want a quiet room, I would ask to avoid being next to any shafts, elevator or otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid any and all shafts! Empire State Building view was great to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
eemserms,
How fun! So happy to read you had a nice mother and daughter trip here in NYC. Hope to see you again next time you ladies are on the east coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I took a girls trip to NY and stayed here. We had a phenomenal experience! The staff made us feel very safe. They were friendly and very knowledgeable. The rooms were great!! The spa was amazing! This is definitely a place I would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
hou35365,
Thanks! Its great to read you and your ladies had a great time. Make sure to come stay with us again when you are celebrating, or just because! Can't wait to see ya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lobby and elevators smell like bad cologne...they have candles going on. that might be it. Checked in..had to have someone come up and change the clock time. I could not figure that out nor could he. Television pixilating...front desk did not even know the hotel offers HBO and not knowledgable on a thing. Maintenance fixes tv...MY comforter had holes in it...feathers flying everywhere. Had to ask that be replaced. Room service not bad...not great food. Pass on the happy hour and breakfast they are comping....so mediocre from the wine..and taste of food...complimentary for a reason. Checking out. I cite that Room Service is not on the bill. Sorry they can't help but I will need to call later and get an accurate bill. Guess what I am traveling on business...they made this hard on me and easy on them. I need an accurate receipt to expense...again...easy on them hard on me. Clock never worked right..not lit...could not see.
Again, people great...bathrooms good. But if you want a tub, be sure to ask. funky contemporary shower.
If you want okay...this is it.

Room Tip: Ask about a bathroom with tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Elwanda E,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. It sure seems like we really did miss with your stay. I assure you all of your feedback will be taken to our team leaders and we will iron out the kinks. Still need a copy of your final bill? If so give me a ring at 646 794 6804 and give me your info please. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the hotel right after Hurricane Sandy. I pre-paid it for the NYC Marathon that didn't take place. The hotel is new and its room spacious with a huge bathroom with marble tub/floor. We stayed at its 1-bedroom suite. It has a pull out sofa - a nice added option. Overall, I liked the hotel and its friendly staff. But the staff and their manager were not empowered to make decisions and they could not authorize me to checkout early with refund even though the marathon was cancelled and lots of people needed a room. Unlike other luxury boutique hotel that I stayed and liked, the staff in Eventi didn't have as much pride and ownership.

Back to the atmosphere. The lobby is small and basic and bar on second floor but both are not as fun and lively compared to the neighbor hotel NoMad. Also, skip the Eventi hotel breakfast and head to Andaz hotel cafe across from the Main Public Library for breakfast i.e. melt in your mouth souffle pancakes and great vibe! And I agreed with the other reviewer that expansive water in the room is unnecessary.

The hotel spa was below average. We went there because it was convenient. But it was super small (2 chairs sitting) and no 'space' to relax. more or less a 'in and out' thing but sadly the massage my friend and I received was not really good. Save your money and skip the spa.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suite is more spacious and has a pullout sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
WorldTravelerBasel,
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I wanted to make sure you knew that all folks that either cancelled late (day of) or left early specifically due to the marathon were awarded a gift certificate for a future stay. Glad you liked the room and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Put a lot of thought into this trip as it was my wife's 'surprise' 50th Birthday treat. In the event I very nearly cancelled due to the awful effect of Hurricane Sandy and the uncertainty of what we would find, but the hotel gave me assurances by telephone that they were almost functioning at 100%. We were so pleased that we went ahead. The staff in the hotel were very pleasant and friendly -- and genuine, not 'have a nice day' whoever you are style. We had some very interesting chats and they had some stories to tell of the impact of the storm on themselves and friends --- but all were very positive and there was also a nice friendly atmosphere among guests who included forlorn marathon runners and some refugees and their dogs. The hotel is tremendously relaxed. We were in an incredible 20th floor room overlooking both 6th Avenue and 29th Street. Just lovely and comfortable. The bed was one of the best ever. It was certainly more spacious than other hotel rooms in big cities that we've been in. We became regulars at the evening Wine Reception and studiously managed three glasses each and also availed of the tea/coffee at reception each morning; though we did miss not having tea or coffee in the room which is after all the norm in UK hotels. Not wanting to deviate from our affection for this hotel, we do want to mention a few other aspects that may be worth consideration by the management: having to pay premium prices for drinking water in the bedroom seemed just a little mean; we didn't really enjoy the breakfast - eggs were quite runny with a strange tang and the sitting area was cold; the hairdryer had a very short cable and there was nowhere in the room really suitable to use it with a mirror; while there were dressing gowns, there were no slippers -- thick socks which served as slippers were hanging in the cupboard and could be purchased, but it's just that any hotel we have been in with robes have also had basic slippers. Oh and by the way we had a brilliant time in New York - we adored the New Yorkers who are for sure among the friendliest, warmest and most genuine people in the world. A strange time to be a tourist and we felt a little guilty to be enjoying our holiday so much when many were struggling with their daily lives!!! .

Room Tip: a higher floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
TravelluverCoDown,
Your review is so impactful to us, thanks so much for your review and the 5 stars! We will be looking at all of your feedback and thank you for braving forward with your plans despite the challenging travel due to the hurricane. Come and celebrate with us more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.